Media Swans Talk in the Media 2024

Our club in the Media

MOD NOTICE ON COPYWRITTTEN CONTENT
This content is brought to you by Chief and the Mods of Big Footy.
PLEASE READ:

A reminder to all on the rules of copywritten content.

You will be held responsible for the articles you post that infringe copyright.

Mods will issue warnings when posters reproduce full articles on Big Footy.

You will receive something like this and an initial 1-point infraction. Contued posting of articles will incur a Serious Infraction of 5 points.

So please remember, when using material that may be the copyright of another party, you must:
  • Use only that portion you are directly commenting on. A reasonable guide might be a paragraph or two.
  • Always link to the source.

I'm not sure Horse has the time and focus to pay attention to what folks in the media are doing enough to beef with them. That said, as a club we're not above a media feud. Our beef with Brian Taylor was hilarious. We literally boycotted his special segment for a good few years there. We blocked journalists (not just BT) from entering the rooms after a game back in 2017. He chucked a right hissy fit over it and went on radio the next two days badmouthing us. From thereafter for a few years we were the lone club that didn't participate in his Roaming Brian segment. And he let everyone know about it every time. Seems like there's been something of a truce as he's been in our rooms a fair bit over the last few years, but his animosity towards us is still evident in his calling of our games.
With BT, there was a game where he was in the corner of our rooms, but may have been told he couldn't wander around or film a debriefing talk that was going on (or similar). So "Roaming Brian" was just him in a corner, with the wall behind him, sulking and seething about the way he was being treated. Honestly couldn't say what was happening in prior Friday night games with us.

Anyway, he made such a fuss, that next time we won a Friday game, we had Harley down there with a faux nightclub line and ribbon to let him in like he was a VIP, Harley said he didn't know what happened (potentially BT got some minor restrictions and threw a tantrum on the night he sulked). BT was able to walk around freely, some of the players made light of it, said he was always welcome etc (not sure if he's self aware enough to realise they were likely taking the piss).

With BT, there was a game where he was in the corner of our rooms, but may have been told he couldn't wander around or film a debriefing talk that was going on (or similar). So "Roaming Brian" was just him in a corner, with the wall behind him, sulking and seething about the way he was being treated. Honestly couldn't say what was happening in prior Friday night games with us.

Anyway, he made such a fuss, that next time we won a Friday game, we had Harley down there with a faux nightclub line and ribbon to let him in like he was a VIP, Harley said he didn't know what happened (potentially BT got some minor restrictions and threw a tantrum on the night he sulked). BT was able to walk around freely, some of the players made light of it, said he was always welcome etc (not sure if he's self aware enough to realise they were likely taking the piss).
He's a F wit

it surely says something about the inflated opinion the football media has of itself that a fckng buffoon such as taylor is treated as though he (and the rest of them) are as big as the game itself, if not bigger ...
maybe he can be given a (sponsored) top to wear, with "attention-seeking fckwit" in really big letters
i was just horrified to learn (well, be reminded) that a good mate and loyal swans fan actually enjoys taylor's commentary
although we did agree rex hunt was as fitting a rhyming slang name as there could possibly be

The reality is that any media article/show in which Whately controls, the Swans will get minimal coverage. This was the most ridiculous of all but it was similar on Crunchtime on Saturday where Whately runs the show. Brisbane/Carlton got 60% of airtime, Melbourne got 30% and we were granted about 10%. I've said it on many occasions that there is bad blood between he and Horse. The only time you will ever see Horse on a Whately show is the first week of finals when ALL coaches are required to appear on 360. He will never appear on his radio show.
Do you remember the look on Whatelys face when the Swans ended collingwood in the 2022 prelim?
That expression summed it up.. Whately doesn't want the Swans to win.. it seems pretty clear he is a Vic knob and no matter how professional he is, he cant hide it.

ps Twomey, who I liked (as he had me fooled), is in the same boat.. as Im sure many others are as well

Oh well.. I dont reckon the Swans care too much, and neither should we.. Let the footy do the talking - 3-peat coming up!

it surely says something about the inflated opinion the football media has of itself that a fckng buffoon such as taylor is treated as though he (and the rest of them) are as big as the game itself, if not bigger ...
maybe he can be given a (sponsored) top to wear, with "attention-seeking fckwit" in really big letters
BT and Robbo make a wonderful pair, don't they?
Just goes to show that you don't need brains to be successful. In fact, the bigger buffoon you are, the better your chances.

15MAR24: Collingwood vs Swans Match Reports
Oh how sweet victory is! Swans have now set in stone we will never be invited to a Magpie flag unfurling ever again..

Locked articles:

Herald Sun

Oh how sweet victory is! Swans have now set in stone we will never be invited to a Magpie flag unfurling ever again..

Wowee Ticky let the tributes flow