Review Cats drown Hawks by 36 points in Tommas 350

Congrats to Ollie Henry on game #50 - really liked game today

He showed some desperation & defensive pressure that he's not normally known for, and was deservedly rewarded for his tackle on Sicily which he then converted for his first goal

Great involvement across the match to finish with 4 goals & 1 goal assist

Thought Oisin showed a little bit today. You can see him starting to figure it out in real time. Think his teammates are starting to trust him more too.

I was looking for an ice bath after Bruhn’s first quarter, deary me that was good footy.

Conway did some things that Stanley can no longer do. Bloody good signs.

I thought Jez giving the ball twice in a row was notable. If he can continue to avoid disaster when in possession of the ball , he should soon begin to show offensive efforts

It was a good win considering our midfield. Bruhn got a football lesson by Worpel but outside of that I thought the mids held up well. Parfitt in particular was solid

Can’t you automatically correct Clarke so if anyone types it comes out Clark?

Would have to ask Chief

But that may annoy other boards if they actually have a Clarke

Favourite moment : Seeing Ginnivan with a tampon up his nose /s
You know it makes sense!

Dawks board calling for a Royal Commission, felt compelled to point out they won the free kick count.

Be nice if Parf keeps this form up would allow the luxury of Cuthrie/Atkins back in defence at times.

SDK & JHenry iffy at times but they’ll both get back to their best hopefully.

Do we roll the dice on Conway vs English? Love his groundwork and smothers.

Dogs game will test but 5-0 would set us up nicely with a couple to come in.

Umpiring was poor for both sides today, hawks fans screaming they were hard done by, take the glasses off, had more free kicks and got your fair share of some dodgy calls go your way. As for Ginni, not a footballers arseh*le he is, just played for frees all game, has nothing else to offer.

Good win, 3-0, go cats.

I think the biggest difference between last year and this year has been the backline has really tightened up.

We leaked too many goals last year, and we have addressed that.

Jack Henry is playing sensational football and SDK is trending in right direction. Plus Kolo is back to 22 form.

100% Let get right young Jeye Klark ... ;)

Seriously...I thought that one really could see a step up in comfort levels today. Clark and Bruin are still a very young pairing. Add another or two young mids of their talent level and we really will be starting to look like we have progressed the rebuild.
I like how Clark takes a heavy hit and will burrow in
That's not teachable

I am worried about Atkins. The new guys are, and will be, fast tracked through the midfield (understandably) but that may leave him as a ‘stranded asset’
The guy went from nowhere to a premiership, and he’s a future captain too tbh.

Even if he got out of the 22 at Geelong, which to me is unlikely, he’ll stay in the system.

It was a good win considering our midfield. Bruhn got a football lesson by Worpel but outside of that I thought the mids held up well. Parfitt in particular was solid
A lesson? He was our best player. Thought today was a real breakthrough.

Don’t forget he played a lot less game time than Worpel

Noticed a Hawks player gave the "shoosh" symbol in the 2nd quarter - when he'd kicked a goal to get them back within 30 points.

Cracked up laughing though when a Hawks player was getting into Zach Guthrie, and Oisin Mullin wandered over and bumped him and sent him sprawling.
Reckon that was Watson. The littlest bloke out there 🤣

Still hard to gage where we are at this early in the season. But 3 wins from 3 games is an excellent start. I thought Mullin had has best game and looked promising. Conway was very good given his experiance. Bruhn and O Henry were outstanding.

With the 5 day break so Clark and Dempsey get the week off. (Managed) Conway goes out for Rhys. He is dropped but Rhys is certainly on notice that his position is not guaranteed. Bowes, Mannagh come into the 22 and Tuohy is the sub. Hardie probably gets to travel as an emergency.

Not Hawks phone...but a club phone for one of the 10 legal club users .. and "apparently" checking the radar for weather. Now at what point is it acceptable for for an approved used to allow others to use the phone? I guess we find out...but it seems like a possible breach ..depending on the way they interpret the incident.

For all the talk of why was Mullin in the team, he showed a bit today. Got it 15 times and looked confident with ball in hand.
The time in the centre when he blew past 3 or 4, picked it up cleanly, didn't blaze away with an opponent right on his tail and found a teammate on the wing with a good kick, showed there's a lot to work with there.
Still a way to go but the MC seem happy for him to develop in the seniors and I'm confident it will pay off in the end
That kick was elite. On his left foot. Is he left or right handed?

I’ll echo what others have said in that Mullin was really promising, I thought that was comfortably his best game. Was composed with ball in hand and is starting to use his pace instead of looking to pass the ball off immediately. I have complete faith that our coaching and development programs will turn him into a solid player at worst - a star at best.

Firstly.. F**k I hate the Easter Monday game, I hate the opposition, I hate the waiting all weekend for it, I hate the opposition, I hate the late start to the game and most of all.. I hate the opposition
It always feels more tense than it should be, I never can relax and enjoy it...

That said I absolutely love the outcome more often than not

Onto the actual game, hot hot start, poor 2nd, strong response in the 3rd and the last was much of a muchness, battled early and then finished strongly.

We got touched up in the middle in patches, we ripped them to shreds in patches... I actually thought their small forwards would have caused us a heck of a lot more grief if they actually played the ball and stopped throwing themselves forward searching for free kicks.

And on that.. Cry woe is me all you like, Ginni is the boy who cries wolf, every.Single.time he has it his first instinct is to take the ground and draw a free.. He actually does it to the deteiment of his own side... But it's not a shock, you know you are a shit campaigner when you play in a flag as a young kid and the side you won it with can't get rid of you quick enough

On our guys, I see a little more each hit out from Clark, he's brave as brave but moreseo his instinct in the contest and decision making seems fantastic, his disposal is fine, his kicks look no worries now.
Conway looks promising, he's young, raw but geeze he's got some exciting stuff about him, the pack mark and goal, galloping out of the middle with the ball but some of his taps were absolute silver service. He'll only get better as he grows as well.
Mullin showed some serious signs today, his acceleration and clean hands, lack of panic and the way he ran away from a chaser and hit a kick on his opposite foot in the first was a real "oh my" moment for me.
Dempsey building so well... He's such a smart player, his awareness in the contest is fantastic.
Ollie kicking 4 should have been 5 but his inboard ball to Jez in the square late was almost my highlight.
And Stengle looks sharp again, he's running on top of the ground and has zip again, I wonder last year how sore he was after Rd 1 when he rolled his ankle on that shit MCG surface, then broke his hand and never got going...

And most importantly Tomma, what a marvel... He's the heart beat of our club, set the tone early with his goal and is just a joy to have watched, got 4.. The freebie from Jez balanced out the rank miss that he should have sunk in the 3rd

Noticed a Hawks player gave the "shoosh" symbol in the 2nd quarter - when he'd kicked a goal to get them back within 30 points.

Cracked up laughing though when a Hawks player was getting into Zach Guthrie, and Oisin Mullin wandered over and bumped him and sent him sprawling.

Reckon that was Watson. The littlest bloke out there 🤣
McDonald did the shoosh, Mullin took out Ginnivan

Review Cats drown Hawks by 36 points in Tommas 350