Autopsy 2024 Rd 7 Blues Go Down To Classy Cats In A Belter

Who played well for the Blues in Round 7 vs the Cats?

No need in analysing that game, statistically we should've won, biggest obstacle was goal kicking, had more than enough looks just couldn't seal the deal.
As soon as Durdin, Cowan, Young and (sadly) Ollie are replaced we start winning.
That would mean Cera, McGov, Marchie and Binns in the 23....
We had our chances our goal efficiency was poor & Geelong scored way too easily.
Pretty sure all those players were in the team against a very highly rated side last week.
You need to take your chances against quality opposition, we failed to do that today.

Can't fault effort, Cripps, Walsh, E-Hollands and Pitto were absolutely massive today.

At the other end Williams had an absolute shocker, cost us multiple goals, terrible one on one, constantly falling over and turning it over by foot. Williams deal on 6 years for 800k could cost us a premiership in the end. We need a second tall, imagine if we could have chased Ben Mckay...

O Hollands, Owies and Carroll are not up to it. Ollie may in a couple of years but needs to live in a gym for a while.

Positive is we were right in it missing a fair chunk of the best 22.
  • Pitto fantastic. Best on ground for mine.
  • Cripps, Walsh and Weitering are the leaders and played like it. It's all you can ask of them.
  • E. Hollands is a ripper of a pick up. Will continue to get better.

RFI's:
  • 2.8 in the first quarter then 3 points to start the last is your ball game.
  • Lewie Young would be a hell of a footballer if he added intensity to his game. Unfortunately he just doesn't have it.
  • Durdin/Owies very disappointing. I feel like they have both at times got away with pretty ineffectual games because of a goal or two to wallpaper over it. H/Charlie/TDK bring enough ball to ground for them to feast but they don't. It all compounds when Durdin misses an easy set shot like that in the last.
  • O. Hollands has just been off this season. Second year blues perhaps.

Desperately need to get some of these injured blokes back to put pressure back on spots.
As well as we played there are plenty of positions up for grabs for the guys outside of today's 23!

Agree we were very wasteful. Can't ignore umpiring was a disgrace though... it cost us a lot of goals for and against tonight no doubt.
They were crap, agree totally but our transition game has to improve.
We will always have a bad injury list because of our contested game, so we have to lift the disposal standard across the whole squad.
***** Someone that can run like C. Judd 3 votes, and can kick like Boyd would be a nice inclusion to our midfield too! LOL

I’d like to see us try and use Boyd & Cottrell more often. They are two our best ball users and create.

And extra couple of touches each a game can make a big difference
yeah last week cottrell did some nice things and i was thinking we might use him more in distributing to our forwards but didnt seem to happen.

its certainly where our room for improvement lies - using the ball better

Would be interested to see what level Charlie could take his game to (albeit already high standard) if he played with a similar mindset to Jez Cameron. Certainly has the attributes for it, just needs to get on his bike when things aren’t going his way. Still played a solid game today, but no player is ever winning continuous 2 vs. 1 wrestling matches.

We win 50 entries almost every week. We did last year too. So do Melbourne. Yet both of us have low conversion of goals to entries. Maybe because we get there from stoppage and clearances when teams are set up behind the ball. We kick into congestion. As compared to Geelong today who lost stoppage and clearance but go forward from transition when the field has been spread and they enter to an open forward line.
Being stoppage dominant clearly has benefits, but also might create difficulty up forward.

Difference is we still score over 90 whilst Dee’s struggle to get to 80.

Just got back from the game … first quarter inaccuracy … 3 behinds to start the last when we were coming at them hard … and some of the poorest efforts I’ve seen from those officiating in a long time cost us big time … the deliberate out of bounds that wasn’t paid I felt deflated us from there the game was gone … in addition we are having to carry a few too many depth players who aren’t quite up to it i.e our smalls were poor and a couple down back won’t be there when the better players come back …

They were crap, agree totally but our transition game has to improve.
We will always have a bad injury list because of our contested game, so we have to lift the disposal standard across the whole squad.
***** Someone that can run like C. Judd 3 votes, and can kick like Boyd would be a nice inclusion to our midfield too! LOL
I reckon Walsh was great mate, you’re looking for hail Mary’s here.

Our biggest kinks are another KPD and a classy forward. Durdin, Owies are not the answer. We also miss Fog!

Thought Pitto and Crippa tried there hearts out!

Like I mentioned on the main board. It is chaos (us) versus composure (cats).

Composure won.

We need to learn how to slow down a little more often then just simply play on from a free kick at every opportunity. Sometimes we are even too fast for ourselves. It gets to the point where nearly every entry inside 50 is going to be rubbish because our forwards don't read the play that quick.

Our chaotic gameplay can look exciting with all the bursts of goals in short time like those last minutes. But it is too our downfall with all the significant momentum swings and poor execution.

Find some composure ourselves and we can go a long way into being on the Cats level and a potential flag fancy.

I’d like to see us try and use Boyd & Cottrell more often. They are two our best ball users and create.

And extra couple of touches each a game can make a big difference
Boyd in the middle capping off our clearance game would give opposition defenders a few headaches.
I doubt the mc will take the chance though

I reckon Walsh was great mate, you’re looking for hail Mary’s here.

Our biggest kinks are another KPD and a classy forward. Durdin, Owies are not the answer. We also miss Fog!

Thought Pitto and Crippa tried there hearts out!
I never mentioned Walsh. He wasn't at his best but far from disgraced.

My point was that a super quick player with good disposal would be a game changer if added to the clearances.

Autopsy 2024 Rd 7 Blues Go Down To Classy Cats In A Belter