Rudest/Nicest player you've met?

Years ago when the Allies played the Vics up in QLD I went along to the training sessions. Have to say Glen Archer and Gary Hocking were awesome as they stayed back after it and not just signed autographs but talked to all the fans. I reckon they must of spent about 20-30 minutes after training signing autographs and talking with the fans. Darryl White was the same. I think White has to the most polite footballer I have ever seen. This little kid didn't have a pen for white to sign his football so White asks this girl if he could have her pen please, she gives it up and he says thank you...very unexpected. Everitt was okay too as he spent a bit of time posing for fans in photos and signing stuff on his way off.

Have to give a major slops to Stewart Lowe who almost bulldozed over fans on his way off the ground.

Rudest: Danny Nicholls guy is shitful on field and an absolute Wanka off. Who tries to get 14 yo giorls phone numbers then gets pissed when they say no.

Nicest: Toovey (just a good bloke), Harry O'brien (Funny kid), Penders (see harry), Presti (Nice bloke), Steve Alessio (stand up man, talks to anybody about anything)

As a kid Brad Boyd was a great bloke - whenever i used to rock up to Fitzroy things he would always take the time to chat and sign stuff for me and the other kids. One of those guys who wouldn't just sign and move on but would chat to the kids for a good 5 mins or more!

I should also have given a major shout out to Roger Merrett and Dion Scott who back in the day came all the way out to Central QLD where AFL is a big as ice skating. They came out spent some time with the kids, ran some clinics and I'm pretty sure they did it two years in a row. Very impressive given it was a small country town and AFL was pretty much nothing.

Met Peter Daicos on the Gold Coast late last year and ran into him a few times at our hotel...

Fantastic bloke! Had a good chat about his career and footy in general.

Was loving having a kick of the footy with us and still manages a perfect stab barrel... His kid has great skills too, look out for him in about 10 years.

The only footy player I've really talked to was Mark McVeigh. I was delivering food, and I happened to deliver to him up here in Sydney. It was the week before the 06 GF and I was wearing my Swannies hat as I always did. Had a chat to him about the game and I said "Tell Jared I said good luck."

Hahaha.

Nice bloke though.

all the geelong players were great at training in tassie earlier this year. We yelled out to Matthew Scarlett to come for a photo with my mum cos she loves the bloke and he came over and the team were leaving the field but he even helped get the camera to work, top bloke. The ablett brothers were also very friendly.

I met the swans players at an aftermatch function only once. Barry Hall and Paul Williams both had a chat to me and were friendly. Jude Bolton was very friendly to everyone and i thought the best one was Nick Davis he asked more questions than i asked him.

Goodsey was ok but seemed to want to tell everyone how to line up, Paul Chambers was good for a chat too, but i guess he didnt have many autographs to sign.

I remember when i was young queensland played tassie at bellerieve. I was trying to get dunstalls autograph i think but found Adrian Mcadam who was using my pen to sign all the autographs then someone gave him a gilbert mcadam card and he cracked the shits and walked off with my pen.

The only rude sportsman i ever met was booney only cos he almost burnt me with his ciggy.

I met Buddy Franklin, Zac Dawson and Jarryd Roughhead at a club once, all seemed friendly blokes, shook my hand. I had a bit of a yarn with Zac, he was off his guts but was down to earth. Roughie bought one too many beers and asked me if i wanted it, which I did! All really good.

A mate of mine did some painting for Sam Newman and said he was really friendly, they were doing his house or something around Christmas time and Sam bought him and his boss a hamper in appreciation.

Nicest:

Tadgh Kenelly
Was in the change rooms after some random match, asked for an autograph but he was just about to get his strapping taken off, asked if he could do it later on, i agreed, assuming I wouldn't get his autograph. About 15 mins later i had a tap on the should and Tadgh asked if I was the guy who asked for the autograph, top bloke, don't know how many would have gone out of their way to find someone who asked for their autograph.

Biggest:
Barry Hall, ffs, had a pic with him and I'm at most 1/3 his size.

Only players I would classify as rude would be Hird and Reiwoldt whilst from former players Lyon is a w***er

Other than that, never had a problem with any players, sometimes its about how you approach them and when

But I am suprised to see some players mentioned a few times, having known them for many years, they are great people, very friendly but very hated as well it seems

Nicest: Richard Vandenberg - not hesitant to chat at all, has come up to me to make conversation on a few occasions, rather than me going up to speak to him! Makes me happy! :D
Sam Mitchell & Lance Picione too.

Rudest: Gary Ablett & Tony Shaw. Waited at Waverley Park with my brothers one day to get his autograph, and so did a bunch of other people, and he didn't agknowledge anyone or sign anything, just kept walking. Same thing happened with Tony Shaw when I went to Pies training with my cousins.

Although I haven't really been the type to sort of chase down footy players and talk to them, once I did see James Hird at the Coles in Malvern, just down the road from Red Mullet.

He had the baby basket in one hand, a shopping basket in the other hand, and the phone on the shoulder to his ear, clearly being yelled at by the missus about something - One of the funnier things I've seen.

Top Blokes

Jobe Watson - Met heaps of times, always friendly,
Luke Ball - Met at school, he was like an older buddy if you had those at your school for friend of mine.
Ben Cousins - Signed heaps of autographs, laughed alot. I took a photo with him when I was younger, and he said "oops take it again I wasnt looking". Top guy

Pricks

Ashley Sampi - Dont know if he is shy or what, but at a west coast hotel i richmond didnt sign autographs after their dinner just sat in a bus with someone from the coaching staff.

I will only talk Collingwood players so people don't think I am being biased.

Nicest- Nathan Buckley- always has time for kids. I once saw him stay an extra hour after a footy clinic signing autographs and having kick to kick with the kids. A genuinely nice modest champion.

Paul Licuria- a fabulous bloke

Rudest- Tony Shaw by a mile.

Robert Harvey is the nicest guy going around!

My partner who sees him a lot through her work, says Kane Pettifer is a rude little arrogent prick!
If I get the chance, I'll let him know it!

best bloke in the AFL by far is Brad Ottens! just a generally nice guy, i was absolutely ******* outside a Geelong nightclub one night and he came up to me n started talkin to me! if Geelong win the flag i would be happy for him cos guys like him deserve it!

biggest wanka in the AFl is Lance Franklin, gees has it got to his head, just cocky as and a smart ass when hes out, he'll get whats coming to him one day! but he can play footy.....

Ted Whitten was a classic and a very friendky fella. He lived in Altona North for years. He would walk through the shopping centre in Altona and every second person would be yelling out " Gidday Ted". He would stop and talk to plenty of people and would be yelling out across the road to people in his big booming voice. Later on in his life, people would yell out to him "Stick it up em Ted". He was a true legend and gentleman.:thumbsu:

Another player I just remembered was Brad Hardie when he was at Footscray. We approached Footscray to see if a player could come to our club for the junior best and fairest day. They sent Brad down and he was terrific. He did it for free, all we did was keep his glass full. He signed autographs and had his photo taken all afternoon with out complaint and he really seemed to enjoy himself. By the end of the day he was pretty full and made some remarks about Mick Malthouse and not staying at Footscray. I thought it was just piss talk but he left the dogs soon after, top bloke though and the kids loved him.

Rudest/Nicest player you've met?