Rumour 2024 Hypothetical trade and FA Thread

I recall he was linked to us from the start of the year. We were commonly included in the “one of a number of other clubs interested” reporting. Then it died down late in the season and then next thing we knew he was wearing brown and gold.
Not saying we're going to land him but eerily similar to what's happening with Baz right now yeah?

The Bailey Smith speculation thread is sounding eerily similar to the threads where we thought we had Cogs, Shiel or Whitfield. By this I mean the Geelong posters sound very very similar to what our posters sounded like where one of them was sure that we were getting one the aforementioned free agents and then the rest then started all talking themselves into believing it too. Is this just me or has anyone else started to get the same feeling from that thread?

Either way if this is the case then maybe the outcome turns in our favour this time. I for one with Cogs and Whitfield will put my hand up in admitting that I was sure we were getting them but I don't have the same feeling with Baz.

If we don’t get him, battle stays and so does Perryman what is the use of having a so called war chest of money, with what we have shown this year so far, unless players want to see if it’s just not a flash in the pan season, and if we back it up next year and even improve again then they will start to come.

Not saying we're going to land him but eerily similar to what's happening with Baz right now yeah?
Definitely. And a similar feeling (at least for me) in that he’d be a great addition but it’s not a big deal if we miss out.

If we miss out on Smith I’d like us to go hard at a young Victorian midfielder from an interstate team with our first like Carlton did with Adam Cerra.

If we get Smith and Battle awesome.

If we don’t get Smith and Battle it is still awesome as our season is still alive and we can fight it out for 8th spot.

Unsure if we get 8 spot, however it is still possible and the list has a lot of potential and has a lot of room to grow.

If we cannot land the players we want, I am still very happy to head to the draft. Especially with Tassie getting closer and closer each day.

I know a premiership is unlikely but it is great to still be in contention for a finals spot at this time of the year again.

Let’s back the young Hawks in and see what we can still achieve in season 2024. The future is bright for our Hawks.

As arrogant as it sounds, at this point I can only laugh at any player who has the genuine opportunity to join us and chooses not to.

Just about every player who has joined us from another club recently has gone on to play career best footy and have important key roles in the game plan.

Amon, Meek, D’Ambrosio, Ginnivan, Chol.

On top of that it’s a fun, free flowing game style with a young, energetic group. A footballing genius (no longer a meme, completely unironic) coach who actually encourages his players to bring their flair and not just another gear in the machine.

There’s no guarantees we continue to rise up, but equally there’s no guarantees those who are already up stay there.

As arrogant as it sounds, at this point I can only laugh at any player who has the genuine opportunity to join us and chooses not to.

Just about every player who has joined us from another club recently has gone on to play career best footy and have important key roles in the game plan.

On top of that it’s a fun, free flowing game style with a young, energetic group. A footballing genius (no longer a meme, completely unironic) coach who actually encourages his players to bring their flair and not just another gear in the machine.

There’s no guarantees we continue to rise up, but equally there’s no guarantees those who are already up stay there.
I think we need to be a little more even with this. Yes we are an exciting young team, yes we play a fun brand of footy and i can definitely see us as an attractive destination.

However i also think it is important to remember it is only fun for as long as we keep winning, the winning stops and the heat comes. Job security, money, location, role are all things that heavily factor in to players decisions. We are in a place where we would appeal to a lot of those areas, but i can see arguments for some players choosing others as well.

The Bailey Smith speculation thread is sounding eerily similar to the threads where we thought we had Cogs, Shiel or Whitfield. By this I mean the Geelong posters sound very very similar to what our posters sounded like where one of them was sure that we were getting one the aforementioned free agents and then the rest then started all talking themselves into believing it too. Is this just me or has anyone else started to get the same feeling from that thread?

Either way if this is the case then maybe the outcome turns in our favour this time. I for one with Cogs and Whitfield will put my hand up in admitting that I was sure we were getting them but I don't have the same feeling with Baz.
I had been told reasonably early in the year from mates that work at AFL office that none of those three were coming so I never really paid much attention in here, when I put in here what I was told it was shot down.

This time however they dont really have a feel on what will happen with Smith, not sure if thats because the AFL have less fingers in it due to it not being Giants but one has gone out of his way to message me saying it is oddly quiet outside of the fact that the Dogs are almost resigned to losing him now

Mass and Ginni, in particular, have both spoken about how they're happier playing for us than their previous clubs. And that was before our run of good form. Speaks volumes to perspective recruits.

From as good a source as there is close to Josh Battle, he met with Hawthorn last week.

We've offered almost 800k a year.

Collingwood also interested, but said no decision was made.

So if Battle has decided to stay must have made that call in the last couple days.

I’m very much in the camp of this time we are the ones playing smoke and mirrors, I’m that confident his coming to us

I had been told reasonably early in the year from mates that work at AFL office that none of those three were coming so I never really paid much attention in here, when I put in here what I was told it was shot down.

This time however they dont really have a feel on what will happen with Smith, not sure if thats because the AFL have less fingers in it due to it not being Giants but one has gone out of his way to message me saying it is oddly quiet outside of the fact that the Dogs are almost resigned to losing him now
You can take it as gospel that we thought that Cogs was coming. Then the AFL happened, and the narrative changed from them not matching to the deal Cogs eventually received.

I am not questioning that at all, more that I was told from someone at the AFL early in the season that he wasnt leaving GWS...make of that what you will...will probably make a few of the rumors about AFL getting involved more reinforced

He'd agreed verbally to join Hawthorn, then GWS said they'd match any offer and wouldn't trade.

Old ground now, but GWS "couldn't" match our Cogs offer as they couldn't fit him under the cap. As it was they were desperately offloading others for cap room, let alone taking on another million dollar contract.

Cogs himself told people he was coming to Hawthorn, he announced it at dinner with friends (including players from both GWS and Hawks along with another club).

Two days later he was making a public announcement of his re-signing with an AFL logo background. I'm sure he works hard for the ambassadorial money.

He'd agreed verbally to join Hawthorn, then GWS said they'd match any offer and wouldn't trade.
This the playing group and the coach were certain he was coming.

So the last couple of years we couldn't attract free agents and high profile recruits because we were a lowly team with minimal prospects of success.
Now we cannot attract them because they would prefer to go to teams on the slide . Just so they can be the main man in that team.
Very confusing.

So the last couple of years we couldn't attract free agents and high profile recruits because we were a lowly team with minimal prospects of success.
Now we cannot attract them because they would prefer to go to teams on the slide . Just so they can be the main man in that team.
Very confusing.
Geelong surf coast property deals

Just for clarity, were you told they weren't coming to Hawthorn or they weren't leaving GWS? If the former, that sounds super sus coming from someone at AFL. Especially in the wake of the Cogs saga.

Shiel did leave and it seemed like he was always going, just a matter of where to. Having spoken to him, he definitely was considering Hawthorn.

No doubt your mate would get some good tidbits of info, but I can't see how he could say with any certainty what players are going to do at the start of a season? The players themselves rarely know that early.