C-section Ammo's 2007

Brain let me tell you that after having beers this afternoon with the whitefriars coach & asst coach they are setting themselves for a massive game next week. I must say they were savage about the performance at Monash, both of them bleed hard for the Friars, so Reds had better expect a huge game next week - I will say right now Reds will be smashed and take their tankin asses to D grade, see you later!

Jack - thanks for the heads up.

I guess the Reds will just hand you boys the 4 points right now and prepare themselves for 2008 in D section. In fact, I was having a beer with the Reds' coaching staff on Saturday after the game and they actually told me they were going to "tank".

Don't bother turning up 'coz we surely won't. :D

What a crap post. Get around the Ammos creed and recruit players who could easily command $1000 a game if not more elsewhere??
There are hundreds of players playing Ammos that could make 1000 elsewhere. Many choose not to. You must not have watched much Ammos. Cant remeber Greig kicking to many bags of 8-10 when he ran around at Trinity.

Here here Monkey!

Keep in mind he is a Rupo man and like KB yesterday, they are trying their hardest to set Camberwell up as "unbeatable". Nice try guys.

Rupo beat Camberwell by over 8 goals earlier in the year. Hilton and tallis both played.
For the record, Carey actually have more players that have played AFL and A grade than Camberwell and it is really no different to a Judd lalich and Chris Groom in recent years who helped the Blacks out of D grade.

I reckon Mobbs should apply the "put up or shut up" rule here.

It was a definite sledge ! (not aimed at you mobbs) Uni reds were a perenial low grade club known more for their social activities than footy talent.

Fitzroy Reds are the biggest spruiked club on this site (not by you mobbs) and thier former, oops current, coach publicly sporuiked they would be in A grade within 5 years.

Doesn't seem that will happen...

Any sledge at them is aimed at me :p and I am also one of their biggest spruikers ;) but they're definitely not the biggest spruiked side on this site. They are the most bagged, definitely. Considering the 2001 Media Award debacle and the opposition from the pseudohippy belt of the region, it seems the recent success of the Reds has been achieved in less than encouraging circumstances.

One five year plan was to get from D3 to C in 5 years, and that was achieved. Not sure what their next plan would have been, it probably would have been to get to A Grade, but you can't achieve everything at once.

I'm sure once the current hiccup is over, the Reds will rise again.

You're welcome to spruik about your club/team whenever you like as well, vafa guru. Considering this place is anonymous, it doesn't take quite as much courage as you seem to think it might.

the reds will be relegated to d grade - will Burgen take the reigns and try and win another low section flag in 08??
Always laugh at this comment. C Grade say it about D Grade flags, B Grade say it about C grade flags and so on. Tell me guru, would you prefer to have a premiership medal in D Grade in your cupboard, or be happy finishing mid table in C Grade every year ?
Ask the Rupo players if they would have been ashamed of a flag last year ? I'm sure the Old Carey players aren't.
Who knows what this week will bring. Who would have tipped Monash to beat Whitefriars last week. All I can say is "go Reds".

Can't agree with Jakas, still think OC1 are beatable, we would have to be at our best and they would have to panic. We can turn it on. We shouldn't be jumping too forward as we have Monash to get over on Saturday. There form at home is very good and will be pumped to finish on a high note. Ben Jordan an ex rupo junior is the perfect example of a top Amateur footballer who finally succumbed to money, now at East Point and going very well still. The VAFA V VCFL was at East Point and that is a ground to behold. To have that as your home ground would be amazing.

Old Camberwell has done what no other club has been able to achieve and that is to get around the so called Amo's creed and recruit players who could easily command $1000 a game if not more. I am sure a side like Vermont or Greenvale would love to talk to Tallis, Hilton and co as they are flushed with funds. Having said that they are a shoe in for the flag as they just have too much talent on and off the ground. Better still why doesnt VAFA just give it to them as it is a mere formality. OC why dont you be fair and give sides a 10 goal start. A bit like sharing the jobs around.
Perhaps Salesian or Ruperstwood or whatever you call yourselves need to work on their job network? You will stagnate in C if you think that everybody being ladee dah and best mates will get you to B or A Section.
The top 2 grades are semi professional, and this includes recruiting players and off field role players. Your hard work is only starting, providing you sneak into B Section.
OC have a coach who did his apprenticeship at De La Salle and SKOB, two major players in A and B over the last decade. All he has done is taken these approaches and applied them to OC, who have a strong and smart President and Vice President, as well as enthusiastic support staff and a very good jobs for the boys network.
Maybe you guys dont get it yet over in the sticks, a 60-80K job and a future in the business world for an ex AFL/VFL player is far more attractive than 18 to 30K a year playing suburban football. And if you get injured round 3 or 4, you make nothing for the that period you are injured and after the footy season you have 30 weeks unemployed or working a low level job...its not what you know in business its who you know.
So can I suggest you guys take up the challenge instead of slinging mud at one of the smart clubs.

Perhaps Salesian or Ruperstwood or whatever you call yourselves need to work on their job network? You will stagnate in C if you think that everybody being ladee dah and best mates will get you to B or A Section.
The top 2 grades are semi professional, and this includes recruiting players and off field role players. Your hard work is only starting, providing you sneak into B Section.
OC have a coach who did his apprenticeship at De La Salle and SKOB, two major players in A and B over the last decade. All he has done is taken these approaches and applied them to OC, who have a strong and smart President and Vice President, as well as enthusiastic support staff and a very good jobs for the boys network.
Maybe you guys dont get it yet over in the sticks, a 60-80K job and a future in the business world for an ex AFL/VFL player is far more attractive than 18 to 30K a year playing suburban football. And if you get injured round 3 or 4, you make nothing for the that period you are injured and after the footy season you have 30 weeks unemployed or working a low level job...its not what you know in business its who you know.
So can I suggest you guys take up the challenge instead of slinging mud at one of the smart clubs.

Couldn't agree more, we are only just developing this. The Amateur ethos with a holistic approach about players welfare i.e jobs far outweighs young blokes trying to play for money and actually going backwards as footballers. That is why we joined the Amateurs and from my own personal point of view it is fantastic clubs can recruit players of the mentioned calibre. Cash payments i would have a problem, networking i have no issue with. That is how we will be keen to develop, but we are along way behind at the minute.

Well said Brian.
The old "they pay players" chesnut is really getting a bit ho hum.

It has been said about any club who recruits well( refer blacks, Xavs) and why should they have to justify to anon posters?
As I have said before. Carey have more than their share of high profile recruits with no questions asked?
Interesting isn't it?

sausage, which high profile recruits are you referring too at old carey? i think you will find that most of them have a connection. Interested to hear who you are referring too?

Oh, and i have been a member of big footy since 2005, so i dont know if that puts me in the newbie stable or not. cheers.

sausage, which high profile recruits are you referring too at old carey? i think you will find that most of them have a connection. Interested to hear who you are referring too?

Anyone you want to name.
The same argument could equally be made about the Camb recruits but they seem to constantly get all things alleged against them.
ie Tallis is Loat's best mate
Berenger( former A grade captain) is a Camberwell boy .
Ditto bayford
etc etc.

So yes, Holland knows Kanga blah blah blah but why aren't the same arguments applied to Camb where most of them have a connection as well?

No need for the newbie smart comment.

As they say, this is a big wek in C grade footy!

Talk about a must win for the Reds! One wonders where it leaves the club and Burgs should the friars get the points on the weekend?
How would Steve Maus be feeling?

Who will he be barracking for on the weekend?

Anyway selections

Reds over the Friars

Camberwell by plenty over Parky

Ormond v Nobs-who cares?

Mazenod over a cocky Carey

Rupo( please!) over Monash

Red roy..we need some wisdom!

Anyone you want to name.
The same argument could equally be made about the Camb recruits but they seem to constantly get all things alleged against them.
Ditto bayford
etc etc.

So yes, Holland knows Kanga blah blah blah but why aren't the same arguments applied to Camb where most of them have a connection as well?

Chard connection please Sausage??

The post comment is obvious, dont bring up c rap re G Grade on the C Grade thread and vice versa...

Gees BS, that's the second time I've supported you in public and been bitten for it. You're so used to people disagreeing violently with your opinions that you don't handle it well if they don't. Where in my post - which repeated exactly what you'd said - is there any ambiguity or implied dissent?

Might not be the brightest sheep around but I don't jump at shadows. Baaaa!

Chard connection please Sausage??

Tutto, Not still smarting over that one are you?

I assume your question is real and not rhetorical as you know the various connections Ryan had better than anyone.
He had played wth several players both senior( hobart), junior and in the state team and had obviously played under the coach before. I understand several of his mates were also training there but playing up the bush.

You already knew all that didn't you?.

I did say most, by the way. Why does a club have to explain itself anyway?
Anyway, as I said, how about Carey explain away all of theirs.

As they say, this is a big wek in C grade footy!

Talk about a must win for the Reds! One wonders where it leaves the club and Burgs should the friars get the points on the weekend?
How would Steve Maus be feeling?

Who will he be barracking for on the weekend?

Anyway selections

Reds over the Friars

Camberwell by plenty over Parky

Ormond v Nobs-who cares?

Mazenod over a cocky Carey

Rupo( please!) over Monash

Red roy..we need some wisdom!

OTL,

your cry for help has been answered by the great one. Some strange goings on of recent times down at BSO, however the Roy believes the moustached master will ensure we prevail over the friars and stay in Crunch Section.

Selections:

Reds by plenty
THE OC to tune up nicely by crunching Parkdale (the roy admits they have it over us though!)
I agree with Ormond v NOBS
Mazenod are flying and will take out oc2
and rupo will do the roys a favour and slaughter Monash

These results will ensure the survival of the Reds and see us continue our march towards ultimate glory in A grade !!!!

the Roy

OTL,

your cry for help has been answered by the great one. Some strange goings on of recent times down at BSO, however the Roy believes the moustached master will ensure we prevail over the friars and stay in Crunch Section.

Selections:

Reds by plenty
THE OC to tune up nicely by crunching Parkdale (the roy admits they have it over us though!)
I agree with Ormond v NOBS
Mazenod are flying and will take out oc2
and rupo will do the roys a favour and slaughter Monash

These results will ensure the survival of the Reds and see us continue our march towards ultimate glory in A grade !!!!

the Roy

Thank god for the great man.

Will see you there Saturday Roy!

Anyone you want to name.
Ditto bayford
etc etc.

Come on Mr Sausage, who are the other High Profile O Carey recruits (plural means more than one) that you are refering to? Buff asks a fair question in response to your claim. Don't avoid it or people will realise that you .... "Put up or shut up" is the advice or just stop bad mouthing clubs in different sections.

No need for the newbie smart comment.[/quote]

PS And you are a veteran now on Big Footy? (7 months Ha Ha!)

Come on Mr Sausage, who are the other High Profile O Carey recruits (plural means more than one) that you are refering to? Buff asks a fair question in response to your claim. Don't avoid it or people will realise that you .... "Put up or shut up" is the advice or just stop bad mouthing clubs in different sections.

No need for the newbie smart comment.[/quote]

PS And you are a veteran now on Big Footy? (7 months Ha Ha!):eek:

Old Camberwell has done what no other club has been able to achieve and that is to get around the so called Amo's creed and recruit players who could easily command $1000 a game if not more. I am sure a side like Vermont or Greenvale would love to talk to Tallis, Hilton and co as they are flushed with funds. Having said that they are a shoe in for the flag as they just have too much talent on and off the ground. Better still why doesnt VAFA just give it to them as it is a mere formality. OC why dont you be fair and give sides a 10 goal start. A bit like sharing the jobs around.

Offensive post IMHO.

1. No players being paid at OC.How often do we have to listen this drivel?

2. No final is a walkover when all the finalists have form against each other.

Jakas ,you have no cred at all

Offensive post IMHO.

1. No players being paid at OC.How often do we have to listen this drivel?

2. No final is a walkover when all the finalists have form against each other.

Jakas ,you have no cred at all

What's offensive about it? Jakas didn't opine that any players are being paid at OC. He has opined that OC have players that could command $ elsewhere. I'm sure Tim Davis was being paid at North Adelaide. I presume John Barker used to get paid ( well, maybe not at Fitzroy :D ). Doesn't mean they're getting paid now.

I'm sure jakas will assist in clarifying the issue by confirming that he didn't mean to allude anything different. In, fact considering the confusion, it might be a little remiss if he does not.