Banter Geelong V Richmond - GO!

Banter threads are not to be taken too seriously. Have fun. Let others have fun.

Who are the GOATS?

• Selwood

Votes: 110 39.1%
  • Dusty

Votes: 177 63.0%
  • Hawkins

Votes: 91 32.4%
  • J. Riewoldt

Votes: 71 25.3%
  • C.Scott

Votes: 78 27.8%
  • Hardwick

Votes: 78 27.8%

In the interests of keeping your back and forth shite fights out of match threads so normal people can talk.

Keep it clean and above the shorts
Off topic rubbish clogging up match threads will be moved here, knock yourselves out.

homero-pelea-simpsons.gif

I still remember that game in 2022 against Adelaide in Adelaide, the AFL were clearly out to sabotage our season which was evidenced by them sending out there little bed wetting umpires to give 20 more free kicks to Adelaide, which resulted in our loss. And of course that season ended with GABBA screwjob, just in case.

State of the game has been at an all time low since 2020, we got all these special needs teams imaging that they're something 🤣🤣🤣🤣

I still remember that game in 2022 against Adelaide in Adelaide, the AFL were clearly out to sabotage our season which was evidenced by them sending out there little bed wetting umpires to give 20 more free kicks to Adelaide, which resulted in our loss. And of course that season ended with GABBA screwjob, just in case.

State of the game has been at an all time low since 2020, we got all these special needs teams imaging that they're something 🤣🤣🤣🤣
2022 - The Emasculation Escapade into Geelong Premiership. Steve Hocking pulled the strings brilliantly that year. :clapping:

Keep on melting Chernobyl Rise

Just quoting this post in case Elm Arouser deletes it in a moment of sanity.

It's a pretty dull post, but the greatest flog on the planet has somehow managed to make light of a horrendous disaster where 90 people tragically lost their lives and many more suffered devastating health effects.

What a disgrace.

Just quoting this post in case Elm Arouser deletes it in a moment of sanity.

It's a pretty dull post, but the greatest flog on the planet has somehow managed to make light of a horrendous disaster where 90 people tragically lost their lives and many more suffered devastating health effects.

What a disgrace.

Lol you remind me so much of Andrew from Buffy The Vampire Slayer

images

Lol you remind me so much of Andrew from Buffy The Vampire Slayer

images

You might have to explain what that has to do with you laughing at the poor victims of the greatest nuclear disaster in history.

Just apologise for the shocking offence you have caused then we can all move on, hopefully with you learning not to laugh at truly tragic events.

Oh please. I make holocaust jokes, you think I care about offending Chernobyl victims.

Grow up sook

I feel for all the many people you must have caused pain to in your life.

Mass genocide is a joke to you but you cry rivers like a big man-baby over Balta giving some joker a gangster slap.

You might want to think about how you view the world. Commencing with a little bit of perspective.

There's a reason that this isn't how polls or rankings of anything works. Why don't I list my 10 favourite films and people say overrated, underrated or about right - then we try and figure out where the hell people think they sit. Rather than people simply submitting a 1-10 list for the films concerned. We could do the same with the census, or for voting in politicians. Or you could get your head out of your arse and admit you're trying to place Martin #2 on the most flimsy pretence possible.

At least your narrative is now forced to become Dusty > Buddy (a laughable concept...but let's play along), and you can give up the idea that he was ever considered above Ablett.

Or you could get yours out of yours and admit you are trying to place Dusty lower than number 2 in that poll based on an even more flimsy pretext.

Pretty sure when I argued that in relation to polling on Jack Riewoldt v Hawkins v Kennedy I was completely shot down by all and sundry as not being able to accept the decision …

Wait so you would just argue for or against it depending on whether it supports a Richmond player? I applaud your transparent confession of hypocrisy, that's a rare slip from you around that topic.

Or you could get yours out of yours and admit you are trying to place Dusty lower than number 2 in that poll based on an even more flimsy pretext.
So you are actually trying to argue that making a "new" 1-10 ranking based on this approach would be more accurate than asking people to rank them 1-10 and determining an average score?

Well at least we know your career, whatever the hell it was, did not require sharp analytical or numerical skills concerning data analysis.

Who were the respondents?

You are leaping on one poll and attacking another poll merely because one elevates Dusty above where the other has him.

The amazing thing is at the same time you are accusing others of doing the same as if it is a hanging offence.
Get a 1-10 ranking of those players, in fact why not run a poll on BigFooty right now. I'll add up the average scores and submit an actual analysis, like I did with the GAJ/Judd/Voss/Martin/Buckley/Hird thread. Then we'll know where at least one subsection of the footy community rank each player. This poll ain't it.

We both know that you won't do it, and we both know why.

So now you have no idea where people rate him, so how would you know whether they rank him higher or lower than you?

You do realise that if we shuffled around the order of those names in the HS poll and got people to answer, we could end up with entirely different conclusions? I.e if Buddy was put in 6, Ablett in 8 and Martin in 1. It isn't a quantitative approach because people aren't actually saying where each player sits in their own ranking. Getting people to vote for either the best, or ranking them 1-10 and getting an average score are the only quantitative ways you could actually order a list.

Just stick to the knowable facts for once & discuss those.

The 2 journos rated them:

1. Franklin
2. Ablett
3. Martin
6 etc

A much larger group of people who are presumably interested in footy said overwhelmingly, Franklin's position is over-rated on the list, Ablett's & Martin's are under-rated.

Those are the facts.

Just stick to the knowable facts for once & discuss those.

The 2 journos rated them:

1. Franklin
2. Ablett
3. Martin
6 etc

A much larger group of people who are presumably interested in footy said overwhelmingly, Franklin's position is over-rated on the list, Ablett's & Martin's are under-rated.

Those are the facts.
Tenuous at best, worthless at worst.

Just get people to vote "best" or submit 1-10 lists. It's actually really simple and there's a reason this is how polls/ranking systems have been used routinely. Not by getting one guy to submit a list and then a bunch of people to say overrated or underrated.

Get a 1-10 ranking of those players, in fact why not run a poll on BigFooty right now. I'll add up the average scores and submit an actual analysis, like I did with the GAJ/Judd/Voss/Martin/Buckley/Hird thread. Then we'll know where at least one subsection of the footy community rank each player. This poll ain't it.

Yep and you won't start a thread asking who is the greatest finals & big game player of all time. And we both know why.

So you're admitting you wouldn't make a thread because you don't in fact believe Martin would come out ranked second?

I don't know whether it's just the heat, but you and Noidy have been much more transparent today. It's a breath of fresh air and I applaud you for it.

Please do this poll : Which supporter group on BF are the most annoying. List 18 teams in alphabetical order. Then we can gauge any inherent bias …

Tenuous at best, worthless at worst.

Just get people to vote "best" or submit 1-10 lists. It's actually really simple and there's a reason this is how polls/ranking systems have been used routinely. Not by getting one guy to submit a list and then a bunch of people to say overrated or underrated.

🤣 Hates the results, wants a different poll.

Just repeat after me...

"Ok, that is a new and interesting angle that appears to show the vast majority of the many respondents to this poll rate Martin higher than I do."

It won't kill you. It isn't some massive pro-Martin conspiracy. It is just the results of a fair enough offseason poll.

🤣 Hates the results, wants a different poll.

Just repeat after me...

"Ok, that is a new and interesting angle that appears to show the vast majority of the many respondents to this poll rate Martin higher than I do."

It won't kill you. It isn't some massive pro-Martin conspiracy. It is just the results of a fair enough offseason poll.
Get the 1-10 list, I'll calculate scores and then you'll have something.

Until then I have already accepted your concession speech and we can move on to your next desperate angle.

Banter Geelong V Richmond - GO!