Bigman’s Training Reports

Milera could well be playing in R1

That alone tells you Smith wont be unless we almost have no other choice.
Never underestimate Nicks. He absolutely could pick all 3 of Laird, Milera and Smith. Because, experience.
It would be insanity, but I don't put it past him.

Never underestimate Nicks. He absolutely could pick all 3 of Laird, Milera and Smith. Because, experience.
It would be insanity, but I don't put it past him.
Theres no chance, not all at one.

Laird's in, though if he plays as he did at the back end of last season on a flank he'll be under pressure.

Milera looks to have done enough to make the coaches happy, IMO its out of he, Nank and Jones. 2 MIGHT get in.

Smith is almost no chance of featuring at all unless the 4 guys ive mentioned are injured. Im very confident with that statement.

Theres no chance, not all at one.

Laird's in, though if he plays as he did at the back end of last season on a flank he'll be under pressure.

Milera looks to have done enough to make the coaches happy, IMO its out of he, Nank and Jones. 2 MIGHT get in.

Smith is almost no chance of featuring at all unless the 4 guys ive mentioned are injured. Im very confident with that statement.
What about Cumming? Obviously he had some hamstring issues earlier in preseason, but assuming he's fit you don't see him in contention for a spot on HBF? You think he'll maybe play midfield? Or not shown enough to be banging on the door at selection? Bit disappointing if we've traded an experienced guy in and he's not fitting into that best 22.

I think if fit Cumming likely plays wing.

Ive got him in already.

I reckon Jones/Nank and Milera are fighting for 1 spot.

The disrespect comes from frustration of supporters who can clearly see that he has passed it but neither he nor the club seem able to see the glaringly obvious. As you say, he shouldn't be anywhere near the team. Similar story with Sloane - one of the greats of the club but just went on a few seasons too long and became a liability, both in terms of what he produced on field and also in the fact that while he was doing it he was also taking a spot that could have been used for trying young players who could have given just as much.

Now with Smith, if we're talking about half back then with the likes of Milera, Hinge, Cumming, Nankervis and Ryan ahead of him, probably Laird as well if he's getting squeezed out of the midfield, plus the option of moving Dawson back there if the midfield is ticking along ok... we would have to be having some kind of epic injury crisis for Smith to even be in consideration, wouldn't we? A guy that age should not be on the list just to be used as depth in the SANFL. The SANFL side should be developing the next generation of players coming through, not being used as a retirement home for those near the end of their careers.
You don't think Smith will be helping with the development of the side while playing in the SANFL?

I don't think he gets near the AFL side, but I think he still has something to offer.

You don't think Smith will be helping with the development of the side while playing in the SANFL?

I don't think he gets near the AFL side, but I think he still has something to offer.
To whom? The opposition??

Lol. Roo has had a major say in all our coaching appointments. He’s head of list management and strategy.

To suggest he’s just a tick and flick is a bit silly and naive.
For what it's worth, when Adam Kelly was asked how much say Roo had at the club in terms of selection and match day his response was "minimal".

The whole list management thing with Smithers has been handled horribly if you ask me. Smithers has been a great player for us for a long time and he doesn't deserve the disrespect he gets from a lot of supporters. In saying that however, he shouldnt be anywhere near the side moving forward.

The games trigger was bad enough but playing him while he was so out of form until the trigger only to basically discard him once he go there is unforgivable and it clearly hampered us at what was a strong draft year.
What sort of disrespect does he get other than what you’ve said?

Have there been any reports on Sholl?

Bone bruising on the knee. Can be very slow-healing. I wonder if he's a lock for Round 1?

We saw with Soligo that it only took a 3 week ankle for him in January for him to lose his spot in the 22, reinstated instantly only because of the most insipid opening three quarters to a season I've ever seen.

When there are 27 guys deserving a starting 22 spot the coaches have to look for justifiable reasons not to pick some players. Injuries, even minor ones, become a convenience and mean coaches don't have to make a hard call.

Bone bruising on the knee. Can be very slow-healing. I wonder if he's a lock for Round 1?

We saw with Soligo that it only took a 3 week ankle for him in January for him to lose his spot in the 22, reinstated instantly only because of the most insipid opening three quarters to a season I've ever seen.

When there are 27 guys deserving a starting 22 spot the coaches have to look for justifiable reasons not to pick some players. Injuries, even minor ones, become a convenience and mean coaches don't have to make a hard call.
Lucky he’s only 15kg so shouldn’t have much weight on the knee.

Canadian Agree GIF by CBC

Don't worry mate, quite clear some don't understand how a corporate board functions, let alone a footy one. Some just like to sit here and complain about every little detail they can for every free moment of the day, no matter how ancient the history is.

It's funny seeing people are throwing the baby out with the bathwater just with the PROSPECT of Smith and Laird being flankers (there has been no indications this is on the cards throughout preseason but go off lads, not good for the blood pressure though).

Fact is this list is in a good spot to compete for finals; we have a good mix now of seasoned players and youth. Yes, that includes the whipping boy Laird. Who will almost certainly help our GB retention and distribution in D50, now he's out of the midfield mix.

Expectations for this list should be between 10th - finals, but competition is so close it's difficult to say if this is a guaranteed finals list. Coaching wise though, finals are the only way in my mind for Nicks to keep his job.
Hey look a "new" apologist. Wonder which former phoenix has arisen from the ashes

Think Murphy can play wing at a pinch

Bigman’s Training Reports