Prediction Does Hamish join the Tassie team?

Will Hamish jump ship to the Tassie team?

• Yes

Votes: 6 75.0%
  • No

Votes: 2 25.0%

Cleric

Oct 14, 2011
I have heard it said a few times now that the Tassie Devils are pushing for Hamish to become their list manager.

From a Crows point of view, I think it would be a loss, and with his Tassie heritage, and loyalty to that state, I could see him doing the job.

He is based in Vic, and would stay there with a Tassie team.

I think he will, and its a good time for him to do so.

Our drafting has improved a lot in the last few years but he's been here for 20 years now, time to hand the reigns to someone else.

I'd imagine the AFL/Tassie team will pay through the nose for good administrative pieces to join the ranks in the next 12-24 months. So I suspect he will have a fairly big number in front of him to leave if he's #1 on that list.

I think it would depend on what our list is looking like.

If we're still floundering the Tassie team would be silly to hire him. But if we're doing alright then maybe he'll be in demand.

Right now you'd think they'd be looking at candidates that have built successful lists, so not Hamish

I think it would depend on what our list is looking like.

If we're still floundering the Tassie team would be silly to hire him. But if we're doing alright then maybe he'll be in demand.

Right now you'd think they'd be looking at candidates that have built successful lists, so not Hamish
I dont think he'd necessarily need to fill the same role.

5 years ago the vast majority would have wanted him gone.

The issue since then is TT, Soligo, Rachele, Curtin, Draper plus another handful of good draftees plus freebies like Keane, Hinge, Murray and Keays. And he would have had input into decisions like Rankine (ie whats the relative worth of that pick 5 in 2022 draft vs Rankine)

IMO Crows top quartile list management overall last 5 years and whilst he is on a winning run why get rid of him. Fantasia was very ordinary, Rendell was very good and Hamish has been both extremes

What role would they be looking for?

I don't think a guy who has (right now, based on current performance) built a bottom 4 list would be in demand for any role
Doesnt get any credit for the good times, or are we still thinking that Rendell did all that ??

He's an extremely experienced and well respected footy person who happens to be from Tassie, he'll be looked at.

Doesnt get any credit for the good times, or are we still thinking that Rendell did all that ??

He's an extremely experienced and well respected footy person who happens to be from Tassie, he'll be looked at.
They'd assess everything of course. How he's gone 10 years ago, but also more recently how his list hasn't made finals in 7 years.

This could all change in a few years if our list proves to be good, but right now I think recent history would count against him.

I mean let's imagine we were looking for a new head recruiter and it just so happened the North Melbourne recruiter was available and from Adelaide. Do you think he'd be a serious contender for the job?

They'd assess everything of course. How he's gone 10 years ago, but also more recently how his list hasn't made finals in 7 years.

This could all change in a few years if our list proves to be good, but right now I think recent history would count against him.

I mean let's imagine we were looking for a new head recruiter and it just so happened the North Melbourne recruiter was available and from Adelaide. Do you think he'd be a serious contender for the job?
Well given Will Thursfield has only taken over at the Roos in recent years after scouting for Richmond for 5 years I doubt he's up for the job.

I have heard it said a few times now that the Tassie Devils are pushing for Hamish to become their list manager.

From a Crows point of view, I think it would be a loss, and with his Tassie heritage, and loyalty to that state, I could see him doing the job.

He is based in Vic, and would stay there with a Tassie team.
Is it List Manager or Recruiting Manager they are looking at Hamish for ?
It would be interesting to see how he goes in a list management role

Is it List Manager or Recruiting Manager they are looking at Hamish for ?
It would be interesting to see how he goes in a list management role
It would be list manager you would think.

Hamish is ultra patriotic for Tasmania, even coaching the Tassie Mariners in the TAC cup for awhile.
I think he might even seek out the position himself.

5 years ago the vast majority would have wanted him gone.

The issue since then is TT, Soligo, Rachele, Curtin, Draper plus another handful of good draftees plus freebies like Keane, Hinge, Murray and Keays. And he would have had input into decisions like Rankine (ie whats the relative worth of that pick 5 in 2022 draft vs Rankine)

IMO Crows top quartile list management overall last 5 years and whilst he is on a winning run why get rid of him. Fantasia was very ordinary, Rendell was very good and Hamish has been both extremes
Tassie might want whoever is helping Hamish now?

Hamish Ogilvie's shocking run of first round picks from Dangerfield 2007 till RT 2020 has cost this club dearly.

It is one key reason why we are where we are now.

Hamish Ogilvie's shocking run of first round picks from Dangerfield 2007 till RT 2020 has cost this club dearly.

Hang on mate - getting very confused

IF it was Hamish after 2007, the first rounders for following 3 years became either AA players (Talia and Smith) or an AFL club captain (Davis)

But of course it was Rendell until 2012

Then 2 years of nothing hands with draft sanctions 2012 and 2013 no 1st or 2nd rounders

Still got M Crouch (Vince), CC, Lever and a few others before a real dry spell for 4-5 years until the TT draft

:rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:

Yeah all those high end picks we had in that period...

2007 to 2019 , and he sure as hell had plenty to do with picking up Ben Keays, Mitch Hinge, Sam Jacobs, Paul Seedsman, Josh Jenkins etc

* Still on AFL lists

Patrick Dangerfield 337 AFL games *
Ed Curnow 221 AFL games
Phil Davis 192 AFL games
Rory Sloane 255 AFL games
Ricky Henderson 159 AFL games
Daniel Talia 200 AFL games
Jack Gunston 260 AFL games *
Matthew Wright 159 AFL games
Brodie Smith 262 AFL games *
Jarryd Lyons 194 AFL games
Luke Brown 189 AFL games
Brad Crouch 161 AFL games
Rory Laird 247 AFL games *
Rory Atkins 138 AFL games *
Kyle Hartigan 135 AFL games
Matt Crouch 158 AFL games *
Charlie Cameron 229 AFL games *
Jake Kelly 168 AFL games
Jake Lever 178 AFL games *
Mitch McGovern 128 AFL games *
Reilly O'Brien 121 AFL games *
Wayne Milera 99 AFL games *
Tom Doedee 82 AFL games *
Alex Keath 109 AFL games
Hugh Greenwood 121 AFL games
Darcy Fogarty 102 AFL games *
Lachlan Murphy 115 AFL games *
Chayce Jones 92 AFL games *
Lachlan Sholl 74 AFL games *
Jordan Butts 75 AFL games *
Josh Worrell 30 AFL games*
Harry Schoenberg 64 AFL games*

:rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:

Yeah all those high end picks we had in that period...

2007 to 2019 , and he sure as hell had plenty to do with picking up Ben Keays, Mitch Hinge, Sam Jacobs, Paul Seedsman, Josh Jenkins etc

* Still on AFL lists

Patrick Dangerfield 337 AFL games *
Ed Curnow 221 AFL games
Phil Davis 192 AFL games
Rory Sloane 255 AFL games
Ricky Henderson 159 AFL games
Daniel Talia 200 AFL games
Jack Gunston 260 AFL games *
Matthew Wright 159 AFL games
Brodie Smith 262 AFL games *
Jarryd Lyons 194 AFL games
Luke Brown 189 AFL games
Brad Crouch 161 AFL games
Rory Laird 247 AFL games *
Rory Atkins 138 AFL games *
Kyle Hartigan 135 AFL games
Matt Crouch 158 AFL games *
Charlie Cameron 229 AFL games *
Jake Kelly 168 AFL games
Jake Lever 178 AFL games *
Mitch McGovern 128 AFL games *
Reilly O'Brien 121 AFL games *
Wayne Milera 99 AFL games *
Tom Doedee 82 AFL games *
Alex Keath 109 AFL games
Hugh Greenwood 121 AFL games
Darcy Fogarty 102 AFL games *
Lachlan Murphy 115 AFL games *
Chayce Jones 92 AFL games *
Lachlan Sholl 74 AFL games *
Jordan Butts 75 AFL games *
Josh Worrell 30 AFL games*
Harry Schoenberg 64 AFL games*
Its interesting that its still Hamish's fault when they get injured, or ask for a trade.

Prediction Does Hamish join the Tassie team?