Neil Craig

what move massie after 4 goals just so stevens can have 3 kicked on him ?

or move someone else onto Franklin and then the previous opponent kicks the goals ?

yeah, you can sit back here and bullshit on about any coach in any grade (or you can write a stupid article for a worthless paper) but the fact is we don't know the dynamics of the other match-ups and how a move to Franklin would have effected the teams structure.

Thanks mate!

***** idiots.
When Craig took over how many of you honestly expected to see us make the finals these last 3 years, let alone be a genuine chance of a premiership in all 3 (yes we were a chance this year!)?

Shoulda done this, shoulda done that... pull your *****n heads in.
Ohhh yeah, you know better! That's why you're an AFL coach, right?
Yeah - thought so!

I love the footy club, but we have one of the most fickle bunch of supporters going around. Support the club or get ****ed!

Thanks mate!

***** idiots.
When Craig took over how many of you honestly expected to see us make the finals these last 3 years, let alone be a genuine chance of a premiership in all 3 (yes we were a chance this year!)?

Yeah - thought so!

I love the footy club, but we have one of the most fickle bunch of supporters going around. Support the club or get ****ed!

Awww you're making me cry.

You're right we do have fickle supporters and they're nearly as bad for the club as the multitiude of "YES men" like you who blindly and meekly takes everything the club does and says as gospel.

If a bit of criticism ( and god knows its warranted ) makes you feel all weepy inside then maybe you need to try growing shoulders.

You've got to laugh at "Go and get ****ed" comments directed towards those who dare question anything the club do.

Not really. It's the people that think that just moving one player will correct a problem. For example, the delivery to Franklin was excellent. At least 5 of his marks came from excellent delivery to him; maybe look at the lack of midfield pressure by us yesterday that simply allowed their running players to much time in which to pinpoint virtually unspoilable passes.

I heard Craigy being interviewed today and he said the decision to play Massie on Franklins was his and he would live or die by that decision. Well the problem is this if fine in theory but in reality what are the consequences of his decision? The club loses, our leader bows out in disappointing fashion, the fans are distraught but Neil still keeps his job. So how has he lived or died by his decision? Its not the first time he has used that quote. Im sure it must give him lots of comfort.

Lets face it he is a poor match day coach, closely followed by a poor selector. Lets go through some of the highights:

2005 v St Kilda, lets Harvey and Del Santo run amok unchecked
2006, flogs the team when we are on a huge roll
2007. Plays Massie on Riewoldt and Franklin. Plays Mattner in defence. Wont select McGregor. Selects Griffen ahead of Maric even after his poor game last week.

I bet there is not one other coach in the AFL that would have left Massie on Franklin. But Craig is still trying to justify his decision. Best way to describe that is STUPID, STUBBORN and ARROGANT.

Thanks mate!

***** idiots.

Yeah - thought so!

So we should be happy with this season and his coaching performance yesterday? :eek:

3 weeks ago some of you crybabies wanted to ditch the season...now your bagging a guy for getting him further than you would have as ''coaches''

In all fairness, question marks on Neil Craig's matchday coaching are hardly new.

Who else could be put on Franklin really? Stevens would have been killed for pace. When he's on I doubt any side in the competition has a matchup for him. He's a one of a kind player - size of a ruckman yet faster than Chris Judd? That's terrifying that is.

I think you are right. Craig would have damned if he did and damned if he didn't yesterday because Buddy was in scintillating unstoppable form. I think they will need to generate a counter-plan with Franklin, much as they did with Jonathon Brown, and have that spare man in defence (hopefully Bassett next year) falling in the gap in front to block off the supply. It's going to be the only way to stop him I think.

In all fairness, question marks on Neil Craig's matchday coaching are hardly new.

And I have at times being one of those. Am I happy with what happened? No , not at all. Looking at the match ups, history etc I think NC made a brave call.

Rutten v Franklin still would have produced the last 3 goals of Buddy

Stevens v Franklin would have seen the last 3 goals of Franklin

KMac couldnt go back because Roo was buggered

Bock couldnt cover him as Buddy would have run him around

As a coach I think NC believes in the ''win your spot'' theory ie the more players around the ground that win their spots the more chance you have of winning. In this theory you take the Buddy hit for a win elsewhere. Yes NC didnt pay Buddy a compliment by expecting him to crack, but to Buddys credit he stood up when his club needed him...that stamps him as a superstar. Doesnt excuse the coaching but it explains to me why Massie was left on him.

30 seconds less game time and NC is a brave man

The problem I have with this logic is that there isn't actually a script that the players follow.

How do we know Buddy would've booted those last three goals if a change was made?

Who knows, Bock or Stevens might've absolutely wrapped him up. There are no guarantees in footy, but this was far from an undersized Bassett on Alistair Lynch situation where there was literally no other option.

There were two topline key defenders and another very good one who could've, should've been moved. To leave an undersized, slow flanker on Buddy when it was clear Massie was getting outgunned was tantamount to suicide, however.

There's a dud at Port Adelaide who is a perfect matchup for him. But that's neither here nor there.

And I have at times being one of those. Am I happy with what happened? No , not at all. Looking at the match ups, history etc I think NC made a brave call.

KMac couldnt go back because Roo was buggered

As a coach I think NC believes in the ''win your spot'' theory ie the more players around the ground that win their spots the more chance you have of winning. In this theory you take the Buddy hit for a win elsewhere. Yes NC didnt pay Buddy a compliment by expecting him to crack, but to Buddys credit he stood up when his club needed him...that stamps him as a superstar. Doesnt excuse the coaching but it explains to me why Massie was left on him.

30 seconds less game time and NC is a brave man

Brave for what ???

It would have been a case that he got the matchup very wrong, but it didnt end up biting us on the ass thats about all.

There is no postive slant in today's football when an opposing forward kicks 6-7 goals. It would have still be a stupid not brave move even if we had of won it just wouldnt have been focussed on and just glossed over because of the victory.

The problem I have with this logic is that there isn't actually a script that the players follow.

How do we know Buddy would've booted those last three goals if a change was made?

Who knows, Bock or Stevens might've absolutely wrapped him up. There are no guarantees in footy, but this was far from an undersized Bassett on Alistair Lynch situation where there was literally no other option.

There were two topline key defenders and another very good one who could've, should've been moved. To leave an undersized, slow flanker on Buddy when it was clear Massie was getting outgunned was tantamount to suicide, however.

:thumbsu:

Especially when Craig himself is such a discliple of Jim Collins, where 'autopsies without blame' and '360 evaluations' and the like are such an important factor.

Remember all the stories last year about junior players telling senior players of problems or issues they needed addressing; it should be no different with the coach.

Craig's stubborness and refusal to take risks is his biggest failing - and probably his main failing.

I think he's comfortably one of the best 3-5 coaches in the League, if he could be a bit more flexible he'd probably be the best.

EDIT - Gill to Franklin was a realistic option. He's fast, tall, good leap, and he used to play in the backlines.

Worth a shot.

Especially when Craig himself is such a discliple of Jim Collins, where 'autopsies without blame' and '360 evaluations' and the like are such an important factor.

Remember all the stories last year about junior players telling senior players of problems or issues they needed addressing; it should be no different with the coach.

Craig's stubborness and refusal to take risks is his biggest failing - and probably his main failing.

I think he's comfortably one of the best 3-5 coaches in the League, if he could be a bit more flexible he'd probably be the best.

EDIT - Gill to Franklin was a realistic option. He's fast, tall, good leap, and he used to play in the backlines.

Worth a shot.

I didnt think of that one and its not as silly as it sounds. He used to play in defence and would have been worth a shot. We could have moved Bock or Stevens up forward.

Playing Massie on Franklin is not a match day issue. It was a terrible, terrible match up from the beginning and one that all supposed 600,000 Crows fans would have seen instantly was a chance to cost us the game. I actually agree with Craig to an extent that moving Bock or Stevens onto Franklin once the horse had bolted and he was on fire would have made little difference and perhaps released Boyle who had until then been unsighted. But, for christ's sake, why go with Massie on a dry day when you have a defence loaded with key defenders?

Sorry Carl, this is incorrect.

it is BOTH a matchday issue, and a preparation/game plan issue.

it is totally wrong to suggest that it is only the latter. of course it starts as that, but the recalcitrant digging in then becomes a matchday issue.

indeed. where the less experienced observers are getting it wrong, is noting that buddy took his marks on the lead, therefore he couldn't be stopped.

the problem is Buddy was 2 or 3 steps in front of his opponent because his opponent is not as quick off the mark, nor is a natural defender able to anticipate the leads. Buddy was clear because of his opponent, not unstoppable because he was clear.

Forgive me if im wrong, but didnt Massie play on Franklin in the H&A match and didnt he do a good job? Or am I off track?

He did...but it was wet. ..and maybe NC saw the other match ups and decided stick with them... not sure if Rutten was available that night so may be a reason why Rutten wasnt looked at?

it was very wet, and Buddy stopped working because the conditions were against him. I wrote at the time, Massie's performance was very much overrated in the circumstances. trying to get away with the same thing, in the dry, was, well...

Sorry Carl, this is incorrect.

it is BOTH a matchday issue, and a preparation/game plan issue.

it is totally wrong to suggest that it is only the latter. of course it starts as that, but the recalcitrant digging in then becomes a matchday issue.
For Craig, it is only the latter.

We know he is unlikely to make many positional changes on match days. He has chosen to go down this path. He has demonstrated time and again that he prefers to maintain his faith and our structure rather than to throw things around. This makes it doubly important that he gets the match-ups right in the first place. Our win/loss percentage over the last three season would indicate that NC gets it right more often than most coaches but on Saturday he got it very, very wrong.

If you want a more flexible coach, someone who is quicker to react and is renowned as a skilled match-day tactician that's fine, but essentially it means you are asking for a different coach and a completely different philosophy.

It seems that people want "Neil Craig As He Is + Some Moves" which just does not add up. The way he coaches on match day is consistent with, and the end-product of, his football philosophy and planning.

Neil Craig