Autopsy Swans beat Dockers by 3 points

So are you saying that McCartin should play fwd, Wicks should play fwd, Lloyd, Cunningham (when he returns) should play wing, Roberts should play as an inside mid, Blakey as a tall fwd etc etc etc,.....
What about Heath Grundy and Nick Smith - Horse played them out of position

This whole thing about playing players out of position is... BS. Ill back a senior AFL coach (and his assistants) to know where a player fits into an AFL team better than his previous U18s coach. Ill back the same AFL coaching panel to recognise and develop players strengths while on an AFL list better than their junior coach from 2,3 or 5 years earlier

This whole agenda that Horse is the devil is... BS. Pull your head in! you clearly dont see the game as well as Horse does, you clearly dont see as much of the players on field, off field, or at training as Horse did.

For every 'good' gamble and that's what it is picking guys out of position, there's 5 awful ones. Campbell has wasted how much being a defender, we won't even talk about Mills spending way too long elsewhere other than a midfielder. I get it coaches like variety, and it's good having 1-2 that can swing elsewhere, but why we need to play every second bloke on our team where he's not comfortable I'll never know. You didn't see Chris Scott playing Selwood as a defender or something he was straight in the midfield. Least Cox is playing Bice who is actually a defender, I know it's a novel concept but I'm celebrating this and Florent out of the backline! It's a miracle.

I'm not seeing that...great goal when we really needed it. And he puts amazing pressure and actually lays effective tackles. I'd love to see him more in the midfield at times.
I'm happy enough with him. His activity is good and he's doing several good things a game. But he has dropped marks in 50 every game. You may not have noticed but he is leaving goals out there.

With a full complement (which in fairness never actually happens) I can't see him retaining a position.

Ladhams was definitely good in his role especially at ground level but I feel like people are being way too harsh on Grundy, if you look at the ruck contests Ladhams only won 7/30 hitouts he attended, we will get killed over a fuil game losing the hitouts at that rate, would like to see us continue with both in the team but Grundy needs to be the #1 still.
Grundy was cooked by the last quarter. It was a great move to bring Pistol Pete into the ruck for the last quarter. He was good on many levels. He seems to learn by his mistakes during games. He was too loose on Jackson and let him slip forward to mark and goal late in the first. He learned by that and didn't let it happen again. In fact Jackson was not that influential in the last quarter around the ground and Ladhams I thought had more influence.

I am really happy with the fight in the players. I am also happy with the ability of a coupls of our newer players to influence the contest late in the game. Bice was incredibly good. Corey Warner took a ball out on the wing and made it his and gave a really good handball in a contest he probably should not have won. Gus stood up in the clinches. Please SOMEONE take him aside and teach him how to kick and he will be a star. Macca? Llloydy? Errol? Heens? Lizard? Please help him as his kicking sometimes reminds me of an under 12's match. Such fight only to be ruined by fixable skill errors.

Speaking of Heens. What the eff is wrong with him? I know he is being tagged but it is not the tag it is double handling, fumbling, missing easy marks, kicks and handball that go nowhere or to the opposition. He is not the same player he has been for years. Maybe he misses the Little Master. Maybe with Errol there it takes the pressure off him.

The game was played on Freo's terms in us allowing them to intercept by bombing long again an again and again.... For effs sake Coxy, I thought you were going to unveil a better game plan. This one is crap. When players did hit up targets we looked good. Same as last year, the year before etc, etc, etc. But we bombed forward 75% of entries. We should have kicked 20 goals with the entries and time in forward half but it was the constant bombing that stopped the scoring.

They talk about Freo's mids and their dangerous forwards. But the reality is they can't score because they have far fewer entries than their opponents. They never spend long in the forward half. The so called experts say they should have won the game if it weren't for Amiss and a coupe of others missing, But the reality was we had more scoring shots, so if we had converted them we would have won by more. We also had far more entries and spent far more time in the forward 50. Yes, Treacy was dangerous all day and McCartin did a great job of intercepting. I thought the backs were good. They kicked 65 points from 20 scoring shots, Treacy kicked 6 of those scoring shots and Voss 4. Ten out of 20 scoring shots from 2 players. Stop them you stop Freo. Their small forwards are supposed to be super but Freidricks had 0.3, Bolton 0.0 and Reid 0.1.

We played three quarters. We won. That is all that counts. It was a horrible match. The so called experts said it without saying it. the quote from most was;

Nothing happened for long periods. Says everything really. An UGLY win is still a win.

I reckon florent when most return might be having run in the 2s or should anyway

Prepared to give him a month as I know the quality is there, but not in defence. Don't want him there again. Let him play what's in front and attacking into 50, he's a very good finish at goal as we've seen on occasions

People saying Grundy had a poor game are just salt s**ts that need a slap in the face. 38 RC for Grundy compared to 30 for Ladhams and Grundy had 16 more HOs and 9 more hit outs to advantage.

Grundy was getting us a HOTA every 3.45 ruck contests whereas Ladhams was around the every 15 ruck contests.

Lets even account for clearance differential between Grundy and Ladhams, its still 3.45 compared to 6 (surprised Grundy didn't have a clearance tbh).

Grundy has shown time and again he is the #1 ruck
I am not sure people were saying Brodie was bad? I didn't read that. Jackson is a master ruck. Probably only second to Gawn. So, Brodie had a hard job and he did well. He wasn't the reason we were getting flogged in the mids in the first, even though he was getting beaten. It was the fact that our mids were a rabble. I don't know who is doing the set ups but leaving a player free at the back of around the ground stoppages is just nuts. It was also bad coaching to let them have an extra at stoppages. They got too much easy ball. The extra in the backs was not influencing that much.

I thought both rucks were very good. Pistol Pete allowed Jackson to get free and run forward and take a mark and goal late in the first. He learned his lesson and wouldn't let that happen in the last. Good on him.

Expectations should be raised then because he should be showing improvement in those areas by now.

Greygoose is spot on saying he looks for the easy marks and kicks, especially kills us when majority of his easy kick decisions are to just slap it long at a contest which poses no advantage for us. It's doing my head in to be honest - it's the type of decision making that lacks creativity, teams with poor ball movement like carlton have an abundance of Corey Warner types. I think creativity is natural, i don't think it's something that cant be gained with experience (its the skill execution that can be improved, but that's not relevant if creativity is non existent), he has played more than enough games by now to actually show a bit of it.
I get what you're saying. I just think it's still a biiiiiit too early to be saying it.

And at least for yesterday, a lot of his possessions seemed to be won in the defensive half. I'm not gonna hang a mid/forward who has worked back to help out the defence but hasn't had the cleanest of exits. I'm just not, no matter who it is.

Lloyd says the Dockers should have won if Amiss didn't miss. but we had three more scoring shots and many more entries. We spent at least 60% of game time forward in the second half, in fact for 3 quarters we were way ahead for forward entries and time in forward half. Which is so frustrating. They run the ball out and kicked scores. We wasted so much ball bombing forward. We should have won this by at least 30 points, but I think much more. If we used the ball well into the forward line we would have kicked a far bigger score. The first quarter was forgettable. What is wrong with Heeney? He fumbles ll the time, as if nervous.

Video care of AFL.com

Certainly being at the ground, my view was the same as Lloyd's - if Amiss kicks that goal, we're not coming back.

But he did bless him - gutsy win, and great to be there.

First qr was horrible, our worst of the year and it felt like the game had been lost at the selection table. But in the end, Ladhams and McLean were important - what did others think about how this played out?

Not sure why Sheldrick's even a talking point. He had 16 minutes of footy, what was anyone expecting him to do, good or bad?

Beyond silly choice as the sub to be honest, if that's the role I have no idea why we didn't pick Mitchell or someone, a slow inside mid as the sub? Least I saw Sheldrick lower his eyes on a pass that's something to keep working on. I'd rather our players miss a short pass than stupidly bomb it in to a forwardline that can't take a contested mark anyway. One way might lead to kicking a winning score, the second way sure as anything won't

Not sure why Sheldrick's even a talking point. He had 16 minutes of footy, what was anyone expecting him to do, good or bad?
55 disposals and 10 goals

Maybe bust his chops as the fresh man. He was jogging after the Freo guy running down the wing.

A slow bloke aint turning into prime Usain Bolt as the sub mate. I don't know what everyone expected. The sub has to be a runner, I've been very consistent on this, unless there's a plan when you have earnt the right to rest players late in the season. Get a few games ahead you may have a key as a sub and sub a Melican, Logan, Grundy whatever. Other than that though quick players as subs please.

Sheldrick's not slow though. He just seems to be one of those players who has pace, but doesn't know how to use it. Chad Warner has pace, but I don't even think he'd crack our top 5 fastest players. He just knows how to put his speed to use and run better than basically anyone at the club bar maybe Blakey.

Alternatively someone like Petracca does not have pace, but is such a good runner that it sorta looks like he does, because he's able to gut run into the clear a lot.

I think if you told Sheldrick to run from point A to point B as fast as he can, he'd sprint it very fast. He just needs to bring that into his play. Be faster to react, and when he has the ball, back himself in to run and carry with the ball.

Maybe bust his chops as the fresh man. He was jogging after the Freo guy running down the wing.
Yeah I've seen a few worrying defensive efforts from his limited game time this year. I had (and still somewhat do) really high hopes for him as I think he has some really unique assets to bring to our midfield.

I'm going on a vibe here but he just didn't look like he was giving full effort. But, yes he could've been giving 110% and is just slow.

Actually, just occurred to me he was in the GF sprint and didn't look too shabby.

I'm happy enough with him. His activity is good and he's doing several good things a game. But he has dropped marks in 50 every game. You may not have noticed but he is leaving goals out there.

With a full complement (which in fairness never actually happens) I can't see him retaining a position.
I had noticed...I put it down to nerves and his mind racing ahead about what to do next before he had the ball ...to be fair he did take the last one. I think it's to be expected coming in with all that energy. I don't think he has a fundamental mark taking problem .

Sheldrick's not slow though. He just seems to be one of those players who has pace, but doesn't know how to use it. Chad Warner has pace, but I don't even think he'd crack our top 5 fastest players. He just knows how to put his speed to use and run better than basically anyone at the club bar maybe Blakey.

Alternatively someone like Petracca does not have pace, but is such a good runner that it sorta looks like he does, because he's able to gut run into the clear a lot.

I think if you told Sheldrick to run from point A to point B as fast as he can, he'd sprint it very fast. He just needs to bring that into his play. Be faster to react, and when he has the ball, back himself in to run and carry with the ball.

Inside mids are just not the right types as subs, it should ideally be an outside player, who may cover a few. If I didn't want Cleary to have a few games in the VFL first he'd be perfect in this role, quick nippy, covers positions. We have been horrendous at choosing subs to be honest, Horse was pretty ordinary at it, Cox slightly better but Sheldrick for me either plays a full game or don't play him, he's not the type.

I'm going on a vibe here but he just didn't look like he was giving full effort. But, yes he could've been giving 110% and is just slow.

Actually, just occurred to me he was in the GF sprint and didn't look too shabby.

Effort was fine and he made a really good short pass I think it was to Warner or it may have been Heeney, that was a great piece of play. His issue is the other stuff, there was 2 or so poor things too, but boy he wasn't alone on that

You’re like the David King of the swans board, I’ve just realised that.

Hey can I at least be someone I don't hate please jeez! And a North bloke to rub it in, just thanks by the way!

Certainly being at the ground, my view was the same as Lloyd's - if Amiss kicks that goal, we're not coming back.

But he did bless him - gutsy win, and great to be there.

First qr was horrible, our worst of the year and it felt like the game had been lost at the selection table. But in the end, Ladhams and McLean were important - what did others think about how this played out?
I actually didn't think our first quarter was that awful - beyond the horrendous kicking for goal. Yes Freo had more of the play, but we could easily have kicked 3 or 4 goals from those behinds.

Effort I couldn't fault pretty much all game actually, Hayward being a complete donkey fluffing chances hurt us

Autopsy Swans beat Dockers by 3 points