Autopsy Swans beat Dockers by 3 points

One thing that was evident at the game was that our forward line movement was non existent .

Virtually no leads, everyone just asking for it long and high. That’s not going to work against good teams

The only bloke who led all day was Ladhams...I don't even know whether to laugh or cry at that statement. Lead at the ball, give the blokes kicking it options i don't know how hard that is to understand. Kicking it on the heads of blokes when we are hardly the best contested mark team is asking to be beaten, do it against North who have Corr and the young bloke whose name is escaping me back there zoning off...
It’s been an ongoing problem for years. You watch other teams and the forward line constantly moves and creates space , and our entries look like country footy. It really doesn’t help we don’t have any “natural” forwards besides Logan

I mean I look at Brisbane and look at how they lead, arms up ready to lead and then they go again, whether it be Kai Lohmann, Logan Morris, or Callum AhChee...

Why on earth are our blokes standing in a 2 foot circle jumping upwards...it drives me utterly insane, just lead at the ball not towards the sky and mids kids it to space. That literally should be forward craft 101. Now either our forwards as a collective are dumb or we aren't picking the right players whether that be at the draft or selections for games. I mean how many times do I need to see Tom 4 foot Papley trying to take overhead marks in a pack of 4?

For every 'good' gamble and that's what it is picking guys out of position, there's 5 awful ones. Campbell has wasted how much being a defender, we won't even talk about Mills spending way too long elsewhere other than a midfielder. I get it coaches like variety, and it's good having 1-2 that can swing elsewhere, but why we need to play every second bloke on our team where he's not comfortable I'll never know. You didn't see Chris Scott playing Selwood as a defender or something he was straight in the midfield. Least Cox is playing Bice who is actually a defender, I know it's a novel concept but I'm celebrating this and Florent out of the backline! It's a miracle.
You've used Bice a few times now to counter trying players in different positions.

Bice who is 24, was only moved to half back in the last year or so, previously had been forward and outside mid. This move got him into draft contention and drafted.

Obviously if a change isn't working there's a limit to how long you should persist, and if there's no good reason to experiment in the first place, it's fairly dumb, but that doesn't mean you don't try it if a player isn't working out elsewhere or there's a team need in a different role.

He's dropped a mark inside 50 every game so far.

There's not nothing to work with there but he's one of the first to go out.
For who though? The small forward position has to be a lock especially in todays game. Dattoli is the only other specialised small and we probably won't get a look at him this season.

Everyone throws up Cleary like he's the next coming. His only 3 games were no more or less inspirational than Hanily's. At least long term Hanily is actually a forward so imo we have to persist. Having a midfielder in Cleary come in to play a temporary forward role is just kicking the can down the road.

Hanily is 19 with 3 games experience coming off 1 pre season. He's got some impressive athletic attributes and looks to be a well balanced clean player and doesn't look out of place at ground level against grown men. His confidence in throwing himself at a mark will naturally improve. We need to stick with him until Dattoli is ready enough to earn a crack.

Will be interesting, Amartey does some lazy shit not sold he should play ahead of mclean

The question isn't whether Amartey should play ahead of McLean, it's whether he should play ahead of Ladhams. And for mine, McLean and Amartey are ahead of Ladhams.

I actually liked the two rucks

What about it did you like? It meant they didn't work as hard and get as tired and beaten down. Apart from that, what are the benefits? If they both play roughly 75% TOG then you've got both of them on the ground half the time. They are both pretty good midfielders but what do you do with the one who isn't rucking?

Yeah thought he did some good things but then comically turned it over (wasn’t alone there). Was a sort of half okay performance from Rowy who did tackle all day long but needs to clean up the disposals or lower the eyes and find a runner who uses it well

Rowy's poor disposal were often when he was under intense pressure (either in defence or near centre bounce) and he made a perfectly reasonable decision that clearing the area and gaining metreage was worth it even at the risk of turning it over. He also made some class disposals.

Thought he was significantly better after halftime that's the positive. I blame Horse massively for this, he's never been a defender can we stop drafting attacking players only to play them as defenders. It isn't some surprise that Bice looked great...he's actually a defender!

Bice wasn't a defender until last year. It was only when he went to Werribee that they had the idea of playing him out of position (!!) as a defender and it turned up trumps.

For who though? The small forward position has to be a lock especially in todays game. Dattoli is the only other specialised small and we probably won't get a look at him this season.

Everyone throws up Cleary like he's the next coming. His only 3 games were no more or less inspirational than Hanily's. At least long term Hanily is actually a forward so imo we have to persist. Having a midfielder in Cleary come in to play a temporary forward role is just kicking the can down the road.

Hanily is 19 with 3 games experience coming off 1 pre season. He's got some impressive athletic attributes and looks to be a well balanced clean player and doesn't look out of place at ground level against grown men. His confidence in throwing himself at a mark will naturally improve. We need to stick with him until Dattoli is ready enough to earn a crack.
I agree with basically all of that except for clean. He's dropped uncontested marks every game.

I'm genuinely not knocking him, reckon he'll be in and out over the next few years and wouldn't be stunned if he locks down a spot and plays 200 off games.

But in terms of small forwards we've got papley Hayward and Campbell, the resting mids, Taylor Adams and Cleary. And we look better with McLean Amartey and another of McDonald mccartin or ladhams in.

I just don't think he holds a spot in that forward line as yet, it's fine. He's a mid season draft pick up in his first full year at the club, he's just going to be one of the first players dropped.

I agree with basically all of that except for clean. He's dropped uncontested marks every game.

I'm genuinely not knocking him, reckon he'll be in and out over the next few years and wouldn't be stunned if he locks down a spot and plays 200 off games.

But in terms of small forwards we've got papley Hayward and Campbell, the resting mids, Taylor Adams and Cleary. And we look better with McLean Amartey and another of McDonald mccartin or ladhams in.

I just don't think he holds a spot in that forward line as yet, it's fine. He's a mid season draft pick up in his first full year at the club, he's just going to be one of the first players dropped.

He’s been better than whatever you call Hayward this season. Least he’s not missing sitters from 20 in front. No reason to drop him anyway more smalls up there the better

By clean I meant by hand and foot. There isnt enough sample size to conclude he's a poor mark just yet.

I just don't like the idea of bringing in another resting mid into a mostly full time small forward role. Theyre just not as good at the craft and it delays progression of the latter. We've been lacking enough impact in that role as it is.

Thought he had a few glaring errors.
coming out of the back line he panics and just bombs away. He kicks high, horrible kicks to nobody. But he's not the only one Sir Dane too. In fact most of our backs just kick indiscriminately out of the back in panic. I noticed three players not doing this; Bice, McCartin and Hamling, who all tried to get something going and only if nothing was available were they forced to kick down the line and not to field. This is something that bugs me. The paic kick to field and not to a position near the boundary. If you stick boundary side you can get a stoppage

Trust me I agree our so called skilled players think they are way better than they are with their skills. Quite a few need to get it through their thick heads to play the game within their capabilities. Use the short kicks and for goodness sakes forwards lead at the ball. Why did it take Ladhams who is a ruck to lead at the ball!
Amartey and Ladhams were leading all day but were being ignored. McLean did get a few kicks aimed at him but far too high which invited the contest. He got a couple of nice ones about 70 out. But mostly if it went in over the 50 it was high and long and to Freo advantage or if it wasn't, their smalls cleaned up. I thought our players did not lower the eyes most of the day. They had a game Plan and they were using it and only it. At one stage a player had the ball on between 50 and centre and was looking for options. Campbell and Corey Warner were about 20 metres from each other, Warner closer to goal on the outer side and free. The player bombed it long and Ryan cleaned it up. What a wasted ball. Go left and it would have been a sure goal.

I wanted us to go more defensive down back and didn't like us drafting a half back, but Bice looks like a good pickup (didn't doubt the talent), especially with Cunningham and Fox down anyway, and other half back options underwhelming and/or getting suspended.

Maybe others will need to unseat him instead, even if he has to move up to the wing. Plus some good defensive efforts at times too.
When Fox comes back he goes into another defensive back role and Ollie moves to the wing. We still have Bice and Blakey to move the ball.

It was definitely not “perfect conditions”.

It was (very) hot and sweaty. The players were incredibly fatigued.

It was a scrappy game, but I thought that was due to a combination of the hot weather and the desperation of both sides.
Freo is always a scrappy game no matter the conditions. It could be SCG on an 18 degree, fine day and Freo will scrap

coming out of the back line he panics and just bombs away. He kicks high, horrible kicks to nobody. But he's not the only one Sir Dane too. In fact most of our backs just kick indiscriminately out of the back in panic. I noticed three players not doing this; Bice, McCartin and Hamling, who all tried to get something going and only if nothing was available were they forced to kick down the line and not to field. This is something that bugs me. The paic kick to field and not to a position near the boundary. If you stick boundary side you can get a stoppage

You've quoted a post talking about Rowbottom!

Hello, first time poster here. Anyone willing to shed some light on something that’s been bothering me for a while?

Campbell is an elite kick. But he’s always seemed to be a player that is lacking in confidence. As a result, I’ve often wondered why his coaches/teammates don’t instruct/look to get the ball in his hands as often as possible. Surely they know from training with the guy that his left foot is lethal.

Yes, he’s going to make mistakes as he’s building his self-belief. But I’m constantly perplexed as to why he is ignored so often. In today’s game Amartey had the opportunity to pass to a free Campbell on the run. He would have had a shot from 50m on the run. He has the talent to nail that 9 times out of 10.

He had a similar opportunity on the run from approx 50m which he blundered/turned over because he seemed to be in two minds about taking a shot or passing the ball off. In that situation, surely he should take the responsibility of having the shot. And surely his coaches and teammates should encourage him to do so. Instead, Hayward turned around and gave him a spray for not pinpointing him on a short lead. The directive should be to take the god damn shot! We believe in you!

In summary, his game today was pleasing, and he seems to be building in confidence. But I still can’t help but feel they are wasting so much of his talent.
Yes and he was ignored out on the left side of the broadcast between wing and the 50, he also had Corey about 20 metres away forward and could have drawn the man if he got the ball or kicked one of his special goals. But the player with the ball ignored him and bombed long. This happened all day. They kept to a game plan of down the guts all day and that is why we nearly lost. We turned the ball over so much bombing down the guts to a packed forward line. If we opened up the forward line by taking the ball wide and bringing it back we would have kicked up to 10 more goals. Ryan had so much ball he had leather poisoning. By the way, where the **** did Wilbur go while Ryan was having so much impact? I think he needs a reminder why he is in the team, to kick goals and keep that intercept defender quiet. Wilbur to the Twos next week.

I think there is a risk of Rampe finding himself out of the the side, but surely it won’t be based on that game. He did a pretty good job of ensuring Amiss was largely missing.

I hope the team spends large chunks of their bye week practising how to play the last two minutes of a game when they’re a few points ahead. That effort yesterday was awful (the last two mins). We were, quite literally, saved by the bell.
You might say Amiss went a miss

100% mate I swear our side loves to complicate what is a simple game most of the time, just play to your limitations and get the ball forward, If I don't see forwards leading at the ball next week my TV is in danger. How hard is it to run at where the ball is, we are making it a million times easier for opposition defenders.
I saw lots of leading at the ball that was ignored. Especially if they led to the flanks. The player with the ball who had it between wing and 50 just ignored anything that was not down the guts. They then proceeded to bomb long. GGGGGRRRRR

Would also help if our mids were actually half not brain dead too, bombing the living daylights out of the ball over the heads of our HFF's is beyond dumb and it's so easy for good sides to pick off the long bomb, not as if we have Curnow down there for goodness sakes guys.
I so agree and am sick and tired of this. Ryan had leather poisoning. Mind you where is Willy?

Autopsy Swans beat Dockers by 3 points