Autopsy AFL 2025 Round 5 - Port v Hawks Sun April 13th 7:20pm AEST (AO)

Who will win and by how much?

• Port by a goal or less

Votes: 3 4.0%
  • Hawks by a goal or less

Votes: 1 1.3%
  • Port by 7 - 20

Votes: 6 8.0%
  • Hawks by 7 - 20

Votes: 25 33.3%
  • Port by a lot

Votes: 3 4.0%
  • Hawks by a lot

Votes: 37 49.3%
  • Draw

Votes: 0 0.0%

As someone who enjoys watching Hawthorn play, that was, for the most part, some of the best footy I've watched this year played by Port. Sensational 1st half to effectively end the contest.
Yep they were really good in the first half. Had a plan and executed it perfectly

That's because there's no emotional investment in a Saints v Power match. If they brought that intensity over to last night we win comfortably. Chalk and cheese Port compared to last week they hate us.

Hawks better get used to not being liked. And that is all their own doing.

Oppo clubs and supporters dont appreciate the arrogance coming out of that club and its players so teams will lift mentally against them. Who wants to lose to a bunch of smart arses with a smart arse coach?

Must admit the half time score was a sight to behold. :thumbsu:

Port just showed how much the Hawks midfield needs to improve to seriously contend. And Port need to improve a hell of a lot as well.

As someone who enjoys watching Hawthorn play, that was, for the most part, some of the best footy I've watched this year played by Port. Sensational 1st half to effectively end the contest.
It must be frustrating to Port fans that they pick and choose the games that they have a crack in.

I always thought that the field umpire had had to give the all clear signal after Rioli kicked the goal before he can get a second goal.
You are right that the umpire needs to give an all clear after each goal, but given the speed of the game its all about what the umpires see and hear rather than physical actions. Its like if a goal is kicked after the siren but before time is blown, as long as the umpire hears the siren first then the goal doesnt count. Same thing applied here, the field umpire saw the goal kicked first then the push in the back afterwards. The umpire then needs to go through the motions to call all clear for the goal kicked, then pay the free kick for the push in the back. The free kick is always at the point of greatest advantage so in this case its where the infringement occured rather than the centre circle.
Funnily enough if the ball was still inflight in the field of play it would have simply been an advantage call, but given the goal was already kicked it was one of those rare occasions a double goal occured. All by the book, all spot on from an umpiring perspective.

People dont like smart arses.

Hawthorn have become smart arses and arrogant. And the coach is the centre of that encouraging it.

No other club or supporter is jealous of that.
Yeah yeah love the smart arses they are the ones that achieve. There are quite a few in history.

I agree with most of this mate, as port fan, i dont like the look, but you need to aslo add, that he drew the exact result from CJ , that he was trying to, Willie is a lot of things, but he has footy smarts, he knew exactly what was coming, and what the resulting umpiring decision would be.
Like I said, I don't love it, but it worked out exactly how he planned it.
I think it would be minimalistic, to think he was only being a smart arse.
Yep was smart by Rioli, Hawthorn had all night, for some reason, been starting fights after conceding goals (incredibly stupid time to do it IMO, not sure what they were trying to achieve) so he knew he could draw a further reaction. CJ fell for it hook line and sinker.

And the other 12 in a row?
You must admit, even as a Hawks fan, it was pretty rich when moore fell in someone's back, he was outraged at the mere suggestion he gave away free kick.
A bit entitled tonight, you guys are better than that.
A very good side, but at risk of being very unlikeable, which is fine if you back it up, I guess.
Just got a bit ahead of yourselves tonight I reckon. You will be around the mark when the whips are cracking at the end of the year imo, but they just need to make sure they don't drink too much of their own bathwater
Moore was annoyed that it was called when he got a good old shove in the back which resulted in steadier for port

Hawks better get used to not being liked. And that is all their own doing.

Oppo clubs and supporters dont appreciate the arrogance coming out of that club and its players so teams will lift mentally against them. Who wants to lose to a bunch of smart arses with a smart arse coach?

Must admit the half time score was a sight to behold. :thumbsu:

Port just showed how much the Hawks midfield needs to improve to seriously contend. And Port need to improve a hell of a lot as well.
They have tried in 4 of the 5 they have failed lets see how they go for the rest of the year on this smart arse guy hatred

God forbid the team shows a bit of emotion out on the field instead of a bunch of robots. Still scratching my head regarding dish it out but can't take it, where have we dished it out exactly? This narrative is simply false.

Spent the bye practising Tik Toks and hand jives instead of football
Is that because the media said so is it? He's barely showed any emotion on the field all year and you lot are still sledging him. Far out he lives rent free in everybody's head by the looks of it
I personally couldn’t care what those Hawthorn forwards do, just like they shouldn’t care what we do either. But by your definition clearly the world lives rent free in their heads, given how much time and thought they put into doing things purely for attention.

Quote: Hawthorn Coach Sam Mitchell

Suggestions from players during the week that they might emulate Hinkley's plane taunt of last year's semi-final failed to come to fruition, with both Nick Watson and Ginnivan failing to hit the scoreboard.

"They talk all the time about, if the opportunity came up, what celebrations they might do. Obviously, everyone who's done a celebration like that, they've prepped for it at some point so, you can look at that and think that we were talking about it. But it certainly wasn't a collective discussion," Mitchell said.

People dont like smart arses.

Hawthorn have become smart arses and arrogant. And the coach is the centre of that encouraging it.

No other club or supporter is jealous of that.
Its interesting.

Sam always seemed like an individual in his playing days and played the role of a smart arse in a team that oozed arrogance because quite often they just turned up and put opposition to the sword.
Sam's Hawks aren't anywhere near as talented as Clarko's Hawks and the arrogance in them is more a reflection of the individual smart arse Sam than the arrogance Clarko drew from the 21 blokes around Sam.

Its like in Sams mind being a smartarse is the icing on the cake whereas in reality his personality was only tolerated because he could actually play.

Geezus christ there is so much wrong with this post. Should have just left it at mentally fragile which ATM is true. The rest is just gibberish and I think you know that but your stirring the pot and getting a kick out of it. When you team is complete trash like yours you have to get a kick out of something else I guess.
Your team went to water when the heat was applied then the entire 22 got triggered when Port decided to give you a bit of your own medicine (and aside from the Rioli thing there was nothing but a few words said that clearly hit some nerves).

Seems they can all give it when things are going well but can’t take it when someone decides to give it back. Sore losers, exactly the mentality Sam Mitchell had as a player.

Autopsy AFL 2025 Round 5 - Port v Hawks Sun April 13th 7:20pm AEST (AO)