Willie Rioli "on leave" from Port Adelaide after social media post

To be fair, others have also recounted this story about Willie Rioli Sr being unfit and beaten by Dunstall too. I don't think there's anything racist or nasty in it per se, given that footballers are supposed to be professional athletes.
Did they recount them once the person was deceased and at a nationally broadcast function?

Whilst i think Dunstall was primarily trying to get a laugh at his own expense in hindsight i think if he had his time again he would've told it differently.

Then if this happens there should be zero complaints when the waves of anger come back in return. Outside of people breaking the law by making threats of course.

Rioli opened himself up to this. He gets what he deserves.

Such a moronic take. He has not opened himself up for racial vilification by the masses on social media.

Checks team that poster supports ... ah yes checks out

Yeah - support. Because, largely, he's right.

You know what he doesn't deserve? ****wits DMing him on Instagram, that's not ok regardless.

What do you think he expected to happen after posting what he did?

I mean, bookies would not offer odds because it 100% happened exactly how everyone knows it would happen. So why do it?

More to the point, why do it then delete it. Keep it there. Make that your stand. If it was important enough to post, it was important enough to keep.

Such a moronic take. He has not opened himself up for racial vilification by the masses on social media.

Checks team that poster supports ... ah yes checks out

Of course he did. If he didnt expect it then he has absolutely zero intelligence. He had to know the responses which were coming, because they always do.

What do you think he expected to happen after posting what he did?

I mean, bookies would not offer odds because it 100% happened exactly how everyone knows it would happen. So why do it?

More to the point, why do it then delete it. Keep it there. Make that your stand. If it was important enough to post, it was important enough to keep.

Port Adelaide have come out and said they didn't like him posting to socials. Most likely the club have shoehorned him into taking it down.

PAFC not defending him and trying to subdue and quiet him is part of the problem that exists.

Then if this happens there should be zero complaints when the waves of anger come back in return. Outside of people breaking the law by making threats of course.

Did Hawthorn get what it deserves?

Did anything come out of that so called investigation?

Just read again the statement from I m the Hawks. They basically didn't agree and settled out of court. Apology was not unconditional and worded by a lawyer. A sorry you felt that way apology.....which really isn't an apology.

Just another dirty "lump under the AFL's very lumpy carpet".

Oh fk me..."he gets what he deserves". Really? Really??

Of course he did. If he expect it then he has absolutely zero intelligence. He had to know the responses which were coming, because they always do.

There is NO justification or rationale for racial hate speech. You saying "he gets what he deserves" is pretty piss poor mate. You're part of the problem, just like your club.

Did they recount them once the person was deceased and at a nationally broadcast function?

Whilst i think Dunstall was primarily trying to get a laugh at his own expense in hindsight i think if he had his time again he would've told it differently.
If he knew it was a sensitive point for the son, probably yes he would.

I sincerely hope that both sides of your pillow are hot every night
I hope that you lead an interesting life. Specifically, medically interesting.

That's fine for you. For an indigenous man, where in the culture they don't even MENTION the deceased person's name, to have it not only mentioned, but essentially called a failure who was "one of the only people I have ever beaten", is very very poor taste and judgement. But not a great surprise, coming from Dunstall.
They don't mention the name during the mourning period, after that it is no different to anyone. Jokes, mentions, stories etc much like what Dunstall did.

That's fine for you. For an indigenous man, where in the culture they don't even MENTION the deceased person's name, to have it not only mentioned, but essentially called a failure who was "one of the only people I have ever beaten", is very very poor taste and judgement. But not a great surprise, coming from Dunstall.

But the Dunstall comments were made last year; the criticism should have been made at the time of the comments not the morning after the Port/Hawks game

Unless there's something Dunstall said which I'm not aware of it seems as though he was making a light-hearted joke to his own fitness and Willie Snr just copped a stray.

At the time no one seemed to be offended and the commentators/ footy folk around that night didn't think anything of it but now because his son is apparently offended, it's suddenly a taboo topic?

Willie needs to toughen up a bit and I would say that if the teams were reversed as well.

From what I've heard Dunstall can be arrogant etc etc but there was absolutely no malice in that at all and any whinging surrounding the joke shouldn't even be given the time of day.

Lamest shit ever someone going out of their way to DM a player nasty shit, especially racist and homophobic remarks. No one deserves that.

They don't mention the name during the mourning period, after that it is no different to anyone. Jokes, mentions, stories etc much like what Dunstall did.

Thanks for the lesson. Ever heard the expression "don't speak ill of the dead"? The tenor of Dunstall's comments were in poor taste, a weird choice for a legend speech, and I think the vast majority of people could understand why they wouldn't have sat well with Willie.

Unless there's something Dunstall said which I'm not aware of it seems as though he was making a light-hearted joke to his own fitness and Willie Snr just copped a stray.

At the time no one seemed to be offended and the commentators/ footy folk around that night didn't think anything of it but now because his son is apparently offended, it's suddenly a taboo topic?

Willie needs to toughen up a bit and I would say that if the teams were reversed as well.

From what I've heard Dunstall can be arrogant etc etc but there was absolutely no malice in that at all and any whinging surrounding the joke shouldn't even be given the time of day.
I suspect that the recent racism allegations at Hawthorn and the early retirement of Cyril is probably the bigger issue, as well as perhaps the broader treatment of Willie Sr in 1990, not just the one joke.

It's worth bearing in mind that this is the culture - and not just restricted to Hawthorn - that let to the rampant racial abuse of Chris Lewis.

I suspect that the recent racism allegations at Hawthorn and the early retirement of Cyril is probably the bigger issue, as well as perhaps the broader treatment of Willie Sr in 1990, not just the one joke.

It's worth bearing in mind that this is the culture - and not just restricted to Hawthorn - that let to the rampant racial abuse of Chris Lewis.
Yes do agree there r.e the 90's. Would not have been fun playing in those times if you were different. I believe Dipper even copped it pretty hard back then too for the way he looked.

On Cyril, I still don't know what happened apart from some rogue comment from Jeff about his wife's jeans which it seems he took the wrong way.

Not saying there wasn't more to it but that seemed to be what was reported.

Jeff Kennett is a POS for other reasons but once again that comment there is nothing worthy of sooking over

His old man wasn't much chop he even struggled to get a game in the reserves and played quite a few games in the Under 19's.

Won the Nichol's medal and was a gun in the NT.

Just didn't have the size and Plattin kept him out of the league team.

Remember him playing against visiting VFL clubs like Essendon and he was electric.

Just not the time for him to succeed at the top level at a premiership side in Melbourne.

I actually played on him in a preseason game years later when he played for Waratah's. My mates laughed when I had to stand him. Lucky for me it was his first hit out and he was unfit. Dodged a bullet there and even got two HTB frees tackling him. I wouldn't get close to him at his peak or if he was fit.

Gun player.

Willie Rioli "on leave" from Port Adelaide after social media post