Club History Completely random Melbourne memories that come to mind for no particular reason

I was thinking back to the last comparable season we had that started this bad

Then randomly i remembered we played the Dockers at Etihad and played actually rather okay until the last quarter

I was thinking back to the last comparable season we had that started this bad

Then randomly i remembered we played the Dockers at Etihad and played actually rather okay until the last quarter
Think we got a six goal head start in that game. Freo woke up after that and by 3qt it was all tied up only to turn into a six goal loss.

There was another game early in the Neeld era where we played the saints and were up halfway through the last but ended up getting done by three goals.

I remember getting super excited by wins back then, never wanted us to lose like I do now. Was pretty obvious we had to move Neeld on, wins were a bonus.

That bloody Western Bulldogs game where they almost pinched it was pure elation to horror then relief with a "fk, that'll do boys"

I remember getting super excited by wins back then, never wanted us to lose like I do now. Was pretty obvious we had to move Neeld on, wins were a bonus.

That bloody Western Bulldogs game where they almost pinched it was pure elation to horror then relief with a "fk, that'll do boys"
After that Essendon win in 2012 I was literally jumping up and down as if we had won the grand final. I don't know if it was because I was a little kid but it gave me more joy than any of the wins we had in 2022 or 2023.

Think we got a six goal head start in that game. Freo woke up after that and by 3qt it was all tied up only to turn into a six goal loss.

There was another game early in the Neeld era where we played the saints and were up halfway through the last but ended up getting done by three goals.
I remember really clinging onto getting that close to the saints before realising that had gone down hill too. I think from memory Jones or someone kicked a ripper near the boundary.

Clint Bartram I think it was.

I suddenly today recalled this random memory of On The Couch.

It’s bending my mind trying to recall what year, but host Gerard Healy, couch occupied by Mike Sheehan and ?

I remember how much my heart went out to TMac. He was starting to get some attention as a really promising defender and so the idea, I guess, was to get him and Travis Cloake on together on the Monday night of the QB match to talk through their game.

We lost, and Travis Cloake kicked 6 or some such, but what stuck in my mind was that TMac was so frustrated and disappointed that he could barely speak. It was really hard watching. You could even see the tone of the interview shifting because they could see he just couldn’t speak for fury and disappointment.

I’ve liked him ever since. He’s a different type, and I doubt we share too many social or political views, but you have to love the strength of a person that competes and burns like that for your club.

Also I’ve met him a couple of times at fans / sponsors type stuff and he treats people like they are an actual person. Listens to daggy fan questions and gives it his best. I still recall some time when I went to say gday and made some remark about “good win yesterday” (a preseason game) and he said thanks - but that if felt like a weird kind of game. Then he asked me “what did you think of it?” which seemed amazing. Still does. He was asking an opinion of some random fan about his expert area, and seemed genuinely interested in what I might say.

I suddenly today recalled this random memory of On The Couch.

It’s bending my mind trying to recall what year, but host Gerard Healy, couch occupied by Mike Sheehan and ?

I remember how much my heart went out to TMac. He was starting to get some attention as a really promising defender and so the idea, I guess, was to get him and Travis Cloake on together on the Monday night of the QB match to talk through their game.

We lost, and Travis Cloake kicked 6 or some such, but what stuck in my mind was that TMac was so frustrated and disappointed that he could barely speak. It was really hard watching. You could even see the tone of the interview shifting because they could see he just couldn’t speak for fury and disappointment.

I’ve liked him ever since. He’s a different type, and I doubt we share too many social or political views, but you have to love the strength of a person that competes and burns like that for your club.

Also I’ve met him a couple of times at fans / sponsors type stuff and he treats people like they are an actual person. Listens to daggy fan questions and gives it his best. I still recall some time when I went to say gday and made some remark about “good win yesterday” (a preseason game) and he said thanks - but that if felt like a weird kind of game. Then he asked me “what did you think of it?” which seemed amazing. Still does. He was asking an opinion of some random fan about his expert area, and seemed genuinely interested in what I might say.
You just reminded me of an absolutely gutted Mark Jamar on that Queens birthday draw

We’ve had some very average QB experiences really. The first time I went to a game of any kind at the MCG was when we unveiled our superstar Jack Watts before he had done his ATARs or whatever the high school entrance thing is in Victoria. It didn’t end well. It’s not all about me though, that day ended worse for Watts then it did for me.

I don't remember watching the Watts debut, i was a stupid year 10 kid to embarrassed to admit i supported the dees so i watched Geelong games that year instead

Honestly if we didn't show any improvement in 2010 they might have lost me, being the go with the crowd kid i was. I do remember sitting down to watch that draw and feeling happy we even got that close

The first Queens birthday game i went to was 2017. 2017 Was amazing because well it was a good game, but it's a game i felt you could feel the past and rivalry that had kind of gone a bit dormant. I did also go to that 2016 Early season game against the pies and remember getting stuck into Jessie White all day to the point where pies fans where agreeing with everything i yelled, it was amazing.

I don't remember watching the Watts debut, i was a stupid year 10 kid to embarrassed to admit i supported the dees so i watched Geelong games that year instead

Honestly if we didn't show any improvement in 2010 they might have lost me, being the go with the crowd kid i was. I do remember sitting down to watch that draw and feeling happy we even got that close

The first Queens birthday game i went to was 2017. 2017 Was amazing because well it was a good game, but it's a game i felt you could feel the past and rivalry that had kind of gone a bit dormant. I did also go to that 2016 Early season game against the pies and remember getting stuck into Jessie White all day to the point where pies fans where agreeing with everything i yelled, it was amazing.
2017 was a great one. I’m going to find it and watch it over the Easter long weekend.

I was somehow there for the draw, I lived in Canberra at the time so must have come down for the event. I just recall leaving the stadium and it was weird. Partner PGs family are fierce Collingwood supporters, he would be too except he was drafted to Melbourne and got stuck with them.

I remember his mum saying “win or lose, it feels strange when they don’t play anyone’s song”.

Okay so she was no mental giant, but she was spot on. It was weird

Was it the 2010 draft where we got Gysberts and Tapscott? Was kinda bummed we reached for Gysberts but glad we picked up the slider in Tapscott later at 18 or so. Felt like a strange result really and ultimately they both had underwhelming careers. Makes me think of the word ambivalence.

Scully/Trengove/Gysberts/Tapscott in the top 20.

EDIT: Gawn at 34 (I wanted Vardy here), Fitzpatrick at 50.

All this talk about Fitzpatrick has reminded me of this photo
jackf.jpg

Wouldn't mind a little Sam Blease running around in our side now. Now that we are shit again it could be nice to kick some arsey running goals

My favourite was his run from the backline through Gold Coast. Probably bombed it after, but I always loved the fast players growing up. Pure chaos when someone starts bolting through lines.
It's what made Frosty and early TMac so fun to watch down back. Even they didn't know what was gonna happen next

I still love watching TMac play at the moment down back, because he's the only one who tries to bullet pass or take the risky kicks out of defence. I also love seeing him (successfully) baulk campaigners

That 2018 season though was something special from him, along with those 5 goals in Perth back in 2017

Club History Completely random Melbourne memories that come to mind for no particular reason