Preview Round 6 v Gold Coast Suns Marvel Saturday April 19th 7.35pm - He's Back Bitches

A huge thanks to Mr Michael's Tigercast and crew-your regular tiger reports are extremely appreciated 👏 and it's never to be forgotten how u guys during the horrible COVID LOCKDOWN TIMES
Gave us all hope-it felt like a gathering of mates talking about our common love of RFC-u played a huge roll in getting us through.
Thank u.View attachment 2286158
Look, i was fantastic. Michaels and Elton Johns Wig no so much…….(thanks for the kind words. We appreciate it).

We have named our best vfl team for the year with more blokes to return. We have had a tough draw to start with. Here’s hoping we start to get more competitive at all levels.

As crazy as it sounds, I believe it's a game we could win but we won't because we will believe that's a game we have already lost.

but if we bring the effort & intensity, I reckon it's a game the Suns could drop they will be expecting an easy win.
Sort of agree. We just haven't seen the same intensity and fluidity as round 1 yet, which is a shame.

Unrelated, but do we think Lalor might be the sub? I hope not, but he isn't named on field and it is a 5 day break after this match. Otherwise I think it'll be McIntosh or Banks

Sort of agree. We just haven't seen the same intensity and fluidity as round 1 yet, which is a shame.

Unrelated, but do we think Lalor might be the sub? I hope not, but he isn't named on field and it is a 5 day break after this match. Otherwise I think it'll be McIntosh or Banks
Lalor zero hope

I’m pretty sure it’ll be banks

Nice for a change to have 3 outs as omissions and not injuries…
Spots to be earned.
Proud The Karate Kid GIF

Fans cry out that we need to strengthen the side, we do that and people still not happy.

If fans want us picking our 2 best key defenders when fit then Balta & Miller should be picked every time. Playing all 3 of Balta Miller & Blight down back doesn't work and would mean Trainor gets impacted more than anyone else.

As much as Blight gives his all when he plays, he is a KPD, that's where he plays his best footy and the experiment of playing him as a ruck/forward hasn't worked. He has had a limited impact inside F50 and doesn't really have the understanding of the ruck role to be truly effective in that role either. So send him back to the VFL allow him to play back in D50 and get back to developing his craft down there.
I feel Blight is a better player and defender than Miller, i also believe that Blight has a higher ceiling and is more likely to be in our team when we’re back contending for Premierships so i’d be playing Blight.

I also feel Blight has had it quite tough consistently moving around, i know Miller had to do the exact same when he was making his way into our team but it’s currently easier for Miller to perform when he’s given a consistent run in the same role.

Who is actually the better KPD as a stopper: Blight or Miller? I’m not sure.

Miller has never really been good one-on-one. Blight, on the other hand, is strong one-on-one and better in the air.
Miller does provide more run and is a better ball user.
With Balta back, Miller can go on the 2nd or 3rd tall.

I think it's going to be horses for courses for those two on who plays.

MRJ kicked 2 out of our massive 6 goals

We going for the Misere?
Can someone please explain to me how MRJ gets a game? An absolute spud who gets a game even though he has displayed zero form in the 1s or 2s. How this headless chook gets a game is beyond me. A mate and I sit and watch this comedian of a footballer and laugh at his pathetic attempts. It would be funny if it wasn't for the fact that we have a match committee that overlooks performance. I must admit I was totally surprised with his two goals. Didn't take long for him to return to pathetic.

It was gameplan thing and it was caused by ground size. The bigger and wider the ground, the more time we had to create a turnover.
Wider grounds also make it easier to push teams wide by giving them an easy option near the boundary near the half back flank. Our defenders could then easily set up and win the next kick back. It also gave our smaller, faster players so much more room to run on the rebound.

Much trickier playing at Scat park where there's no wing space and every ball comes through the middle.

Strongest team we have fielded this year. As it’s a Dimma team we can be certain we will at least win the free kick count
Suns lead the free kick count.
Same game plan at Richmond?
Bottom of the free kick count.

I actually thought that blight helped provide a more robust structure in f50 that avoided oppo talking a shit tone of intercepts , helped us v lions and for a while v freo
Disagree, the opposition seemed to pay him no attention and just sagged off him & Faull/Armstrong to double team Lynch or intercept.

While I understand the want to trial players in different roles while we're rebuilding I believe in keeping it simple. Rank your players in a depth chart in their best position and play them in those positions at either VFL or AFL level and allow them to develop with consistency & continuity in the role. When you start taking a KPD/KPF and throwing them around in different roles it hinders their development rather than aiding it.

For me as a starting point I'd be picking the best 2 KPF & KPD, best ruck, ruck/forward & 3rd tall defender (when fit and form dictates) and then filling in the side from there.

KPF: Lynch Armstrong Fawcett Faull Lefau

KPD: Balta Miller Blight Gray Gibcus Young Koschitzke

Ruck: Nankervis Hayes-Brown Colina

Ruck/Forward: Ryan* Sims

3rd Tall Defender: Trainor Brown

* - Ryan can play as a number 1 ruck if Nankervis is injured/suspended

If we use the above as the foundation for the team each week and then fill in around it I believe we'll get much quicker and consistent development