Meaning re-read the last paragraph by Forty3 .Meaning what exactly ….

BigFooty AFLW Notice Img
AFLW 2025 - AFLW Trade and Draft - All the player moves
Due to a number of factors, support for the current BigFooty mobile app has been discontinued. Your BigFooty login will no longer work on the Tapatalk or the BigFooty App - which is based on Tapatalk.
Apologies for any inconvenience. We will try to find a replacement.
Meaning re-read the last paragraph by Forty3 .Meaning what exactly ….
Meaning what exactly ….
It sounds like a 1970's-80's fairy tale to me.Connections are all well and good - but just cause you were a good footy player for Carlton, doesn't mean you're going to walk into a high paying executive gig post-footy. Connections get you a foot in the door, but you've gotta be able to do a job to make a career out of it.
Not sure I read that the same way you did.Meaning re-read the last paragraph by Forty3 .
Jack Riewoldt made mention of TDK’s earning potential post-playing at CFC being worth much more than the difference in his reported offers from St Kilda & Carlton.It sounds like a 1970's-80's fairy tale to me.
'As if' other clubs couldn't find ways to financially support their revered ex-players.
I'd say he's better off being surrounded now by some financially savvy people who will ensure the earnings he receives from the next contract are invested wisely so as to generate more wealth that will last him long past retirement. If Carlton has better avenues to facilitate that, then great.Jack Riewoldt made mention of TDK’s earning potential post-playing at CFC being worth much more than the difference in his reported offers from St Kilda & Carlton.
As a recently retired player, he may have some insight.
If it were to be true that players after their career can make so much more because they played with us, then players from across the country would be clambering to come play for us.Read between the lines.
He'll get Band 1 regardless, the Band 1 threshold is so low. If the contract is 5 plus years and on above average money, which it will be, it's Band 1.Would be the worse possible outcome for us imo....they'll offer him less than the Aints which may or may not secure us band 1 compensation, depending on what they're offering.
And good luck trying to trade with that flog Mackie though....he's fast becoming the new Dodoro. He successfully screwed over Collingwood in the Henry trade, and last year the Dogs in the Smith trade. Don't expect he'll be offering up anything much - and even then, their 1st round pick this year may end up somewhere in the 30's anyway.
Pretty much my pointIf it were to be true that players after their career can make so much more because they played with us, then players from across the country would be clambering to come play for us.
NN not going to make it back hence the 2 x MSD picks?Real holding pattern for two reasons.
1: Waiting on TDK
2: Waiting on the AFL to finalise what the NGA and Father son rules are going to look like going forward.
We have Dean, Ison and Clarke this year and Cody next.
Dean is a top 30, Ison is to if he can stay fit enough for more than 2 quarters. Clarke could be anywhere from 3rd to rookie.
The following year Cody could go anywhere from pick 1 to pick 3. So lots of balls in the air, but until we know more its a of a wait and see.
No matter how many times you read that Cody is a Carlton F/S and a Richmond NGA, he's a Carlton F/S. It's not even in question.
Club is hoping to have a pretty clear idea of TDKs decision before the MSD as we now have 2 picks available. If we know hes gone, a Ruck on an 18 month Rookie contract will allow us a lot more flexibility that having to go through the circus at seasons end.
If TDK leaves, whilst wanting to add mature talent, the club is loathed to chase a FA as it will ofset the compo pick.
I'm not sure where the Walsh stuff has come from, but I haven't heard even a whisper about it.
Will have some more MSD info in a couple of weeks.
Someone needs to whack Mackie!It's the old argument that if we don't accept their offer, then we risk losing him for nothing if he then nominates for the PSD or ND.....similar what ol' mate SOS did when he made us that rubbish offer for Dow. Unlikely, but it's the tactic the old style list managers use to screw over the other club, exactly what Dodoro did in the Caldwell trade, screwing GWS in the process.
Essendon prepared to walk new recruit through pre-season draft
Sam Edmund has the story.archive.sen.com.au
re: the Cameron trade, Stephen Wells was their list manager then, who had a completely different approach to Mackie. His philisophy was to broker a deal where both parties walked away satisfied with the result. Mackie is old school.
Having said all that crap, I doubt whether TDK would leave us in a situation where we're not fairly compensated if he wished to move on.
Getting the vibe that Walsh will stick with us for his whole career..seems like a pretty loyal kid and chasing extra $$ is not even a thing with himI'm not sure where the Walsh stuff has come from, but I haven't heard even a whisper about it.
We've set our price, we aren't changing it. It would make him the highest paid player at the club, but it is $600k a season less than St Kilda's offer. End of the day, loyalty can only stetch so far. His heart wants to stay, his head, his wallet, his management and just about anybody in the world is telling him he can't stay.
I would love for him to stay. It's hard for us normal folk to comprehend considering I'm pretty confident that most of us would be happy with the Carlton offer if one compares it to relative earnings outside of professional sport, which is fair, I can put my hand up and say I work a lot more hours for a lot less. But at the same time, I have (hopefully) more than 12 years in my career, and whilst sometimes I like to put a bit of mayo on how dangerous my mundane job is, I'm not really at a particular high risk of a career ending injury.
So there is a bit more to it than just eye boggling figures, not all AFL players, or should I say, not many AFL players have the.... world acumen... to put it nicely, to transition into another career post football.
He was talking about “big clubs like Carlton”.If it were to be true that players after their career can make so much more because they played with us, then players from across the country would be clambering to come play for us.
On TDK - the $1.7 million amount rumoured by the Saints is just bizarre. What is SOS/Saints up to?
It's not like they desperately need a ruck - Rowan Marshall is excellent and is only 29.
It's not like they're missing a 'TDK' to put them into contention. They just got outclassed by 70+ points by the Bulldogs, who are themselves only mid-table.
It's just really odd list management. We saw combining Gawn and Grundy fail to work for the Dees - both who in their prime are better than Marshall and TDK. Tying up so much money into rucks in their situation just makes so little sense.
Buy him a farm in Brunswick?Just follow the Geeelong model with TDK … they’ll never get pulled up by the AFL on anything …
Our poor start to the season (which granted he is part of) has probably made his decision to leave a whole lot easier hence putting discussions on hold. I think his decision to leave is already made (between him, his family and management). Be interesting to see if it leaks between now and years end (I have this feeling someone will slip up and it will).Expecting TDK to leave, and I wouldn’t begrudge him one bit for doing so. $600k per year is just too much to forego.
Also the extra money we are talking for TDK is guaranteed. Nothing tops that
There's options but Essendon and maybe WCE will be in the queue ahead of us.So does anyone know of good rucks in any of the other leagues that would be worth investing in for the next 18 months?