List Mgmt. 2025 List Management 📃

If TdK takes the an offer like StKilda’s we are only talking $300k more after tax. $600 dollars a week. In the scheme of things, it’s not that great as he’ll be earning good money with us as well. What he gives up is the Carlton family, network and future business opportunities that I don’t believe he’ll get at the Saints. IMO, Short term gain for long term loss.
$1.7m is more than 10% of the current salary cap $15.8m. Over 10% of the cap is a ridiculous investment in one player.

He’s very good don’t get me wrong, but I don’t think he’s in the Gary Ablett senior, Wayne Carey, Jonathan Brown, Kernahan, Judd win a game off his boot, week in - week out, category.

I suppose it doesn’t really matter whether he is or isn’t worth 10% of the salary cap: if St Kilda’s dumb enough to offer it to him then he would be dumber not to accept it, right?

$1.7m is more than 10% of the current salary cap $15.8m. Over 10% of the cap is a ridiculous investment in one player.

He’s very good don’t get me wrong, but I don’t think he’s in the Gary Ablett senior, Wayne Carey, Jonathan Brown, Kernahan, Judd win a game off his boot, week in - week out, category.

I suppose it doesn’t really matter whether he is or isn’t worth 10% of the salary cap: if St Kilda’s dumb enough to offer it to him then he would be dumber not to accept it, right?

This is the bit for me that sees him take it. If they’re offering that much you’d be stupid not to take it. He’s good don’t get me wrong he’s an athletic ruckman, takes a great grab and follows up unbelievably well for a big guy. But he’s not worth $1.7 million a year.

I think Nick Daicos and Sam Darcy are the two players in this competition who are worth that money for the skill set that they have, what they’ve shown and what they will be over the next 10 years.
Not TDK.

For TDK to be worth that money he needs to be able to go forward and kick goals plus ruck as good as he does and he just doesn’t and never will. He simply is a terrible shot for goal and not a smart forward with the way he positions for forward entries.

I honestly think more than $1 million from Carlton is irresponsible list management for him. If St Kilda are dumb enough to offer him $1.7 million a year he’d be even dumber not to take it. It’s his lucky day.

If TdK takes the an offer like StKilda’s we are only talking $300k more after tax. $600 dollars a week. In the scheme of things, it’s not that great as he’ll be earning good money with us as well. What he gives up is the Carlton family, network and future business opportunities that I don’t believe he’ll get at the Saints. IMO, Short term gain for long term loss.
You didn't look after our salary cap in the late 90's did you? Pretty sure that $300,000 divided into 52 lots is more like $6000 each week.

Need to go back to school Surrey, that would be 6k a week not $600 a week extra 😁

Ask Aaron Hammil how he feels - currently he's working as an Assistant Coach at Carlton - after having went for the money to Shit Kilda over 20 year ago - doesn't look like he was too looked after in life after football at Shit Kilda.
He took a wage as an assistant coach there for about a decade

Just watched the VFL highlights and notice the efforts of #44.
His entries into the F50 were exacting. Directly in front of leading forwards so that they were advantaged.
Similar to what Ozario was doing preseason.

If He can consistently deliver those entries then I can see a role for him. I know that it has been mentioned previously that maybe he could be used as a defender. How effective would his kicking be in that role?

Personally, I would have him and Fogga vying for the same role. We just dont need 2.

Why would a recently retired player like Jack Reiwoldt make such a strong point of it, when asked if TDK will stay/go?

Our opinions aside - he’s a recently retired premiership player from a big club who may know something about it first hand.

Clubs like Carlton, Collingwood, Richmond, Essendon rarely lose players they want to keep , rebuilds & drug saga’s aside!

Plenty of good players are traded, more & more each year.

TDK may well walk - I hope he doesn’t.

But I’d like to know more about what Reiwoldt said about earning capacity of players post career in big clubs.

There may be something to it.
Almost impossible to measure, can we ask chat GPT for a list of net worth’s of players from the big Vic clubs vs Saints or Dogs.

Jack was a successful player at a big club during a really successful period and would have been paid pretty well, he’s got gigs in the media since his retirement, but he would have got a gig like that regardless.

I get the prestige of playing for the big clubs, the history, the crowds, the status, I’m just sceptical of how much extra $$$ that’s worth post football or at all.

If the difference for TDK is $600,000 over 7 years, that’s a hell of a lot of $$$$ extra he’d have to make post footy to end up in front.

For the FA compo itks.

Say TDK gets $1.7M over 7 which equals band 1 (currently 7)

We then sign a FA for say $700,000

Do we still get band 1 as we are $1M ahead?

The AFL compo rules uses the word net loss when determining compo.

Or would it be we get band 1 but bring in a band 2 so we end up with band 2 or 3?

The saints deal is so far bigger than anything else I can see a claim that we could keep band 1 compo and still get a player

In a world as expensive as this. You take all of it because it's still not huge numbers and it's only for limited years. It's security against injury, it's security for your children if something happens to you. It's future opportunity and freedom. It's providing the best for your family. It opens up opportunity to be far more philanthropic in retirement... I'm taking the extra every day of the week not for me but for my family. Why wouldn't you.
Depends I guess if you asked me when I was young and playing with my best mates my loyalty would be honour and the shame of betrayals.
When I’m older with a family it’s longer term and a closer circle.
Are you a greedy money graber or a pragmatist.I hope he isn’t a numbers man like Elon and the w***ers that always want a higher number wheather that be millions or billions.
I still have a feeling he could do something very special at Carlton that would etch him in history.
I really hope he stays hes cousin is a mate I’ve watched him devolope he’s a unicorn as far as rucks go.
Too see him spend all those years supported through injury and devolopment and then leave would dissapoint me.
I guess what I’m sad about is that there is a price to desert your mates.
I reckon you to another club but you lose your soul.
What is enough to sell out your mates $100 $1000 $10000
I’ve got three mates that all the money in the world I would not sell out for just no bloody way

Hey Surrey ... how about you give me $300000 and I'll pay you $600 a week for 2 whole years. I'm generous like that ;)

If TdK takes the an offer like StKilda’s we are only talking $300k more after tax. $6000 dollars a week. In the scheme of things, it’s not that great as he’ll be earning good money with us as well. What he gives up is the Carlton family, network and future business opportunities that I don’t believe he’ll get at the Saints. IMO, Short term gain for long term loss.
You could certainly live the good life, if you weren’t playing AFL footy. Up the snoz & high quality lady friends…

For the FA compo itks.

Say TDK gets $1.7M over 7 which equals band 1 (currently 7)

We then sign a FA for say $700,000

Do we still get band 1 as we are $1M ahead?

The AFL compo rules uses the word net loss when determining compo.

Or would it be we get band 1 but bring in a band 2 so we end up with band 2 or 3?

The saints deal is so far bigger than anything else I can see a claim that we could keep band 1 compo and still get a player
Thats all down the the secret herbs and spices the AFL decide on. I can't see any FA's we'd be overly keen on anyway though so I'm not sure this would come into calculations too much for us. Obviously a player like Richards would be great but he'd cost every bit of a million a year at this stage.

The way I try to look at it from TDK’s perspective, he hasn’t been on the big bucks so far in his career compared to some of the other stars in the team. Curnow, H, Cripps, Weits and Walsh they have all most likely been on close to a $m each year for around 4-6 years (less for Walsh as he is younger), while TDK spent his first few years in the VFL on min wage and maybe he’s been in that $400-600k bracket the last few years, but still some way off the big dogs.
If he can get a crazy pay day like what’s been mentioned,he would be crazy not to take it. And there’s no point looking at the after pay amount, because he will be going to an accountant/financial adviser who’s going to be putting him into assets/investments which he can claim depreciation on to reduce his tax liability.
I half think SOS is throwing that crazy figure to mess with our list management so we have to overpay him, seems a bit petty and vindictive as a person.
The upside of TDK going, we could get an okay draft pick and still have $1.1m to throw at a player or two in positions we need improving in, not all doom and gloom…

I said a while back I believe TDK will take the money and run and firmly believe he still will.

If the Saint have a war chest like has been mentioned, expect TDK to make approx 2.5 million in his first year. Then after that it will fluctuate but probably be around the 1.1 - 1.5 million a year range which is easy for clubs these days, especially with the increases coming.

It will be a very smart offer by the Saints and who wouldn’t like approx 2.5 million in the 1st year of a new job.

Hate the Club but if we had money to spare, I’d be expecting us to play our cards the same way.
l would absolutely not define this offer by the Saints as a smart move.
Firstly they already have a quality ruckman, How many two ruck combo's have actually worked.

TDK is a very good player, the offer from Carlton probably still makes him our highest paid player, if he elects to leave l don't see him flourishing at all being a dual ruck with Marshall.

If Saints have that much spare cash much smarter for them to identify some other quality many other players eg Zac Butters gun player etc.

l can also see the upside for us if he does go eg a high draft pick and chasing a Zak Butters the following with the spare cash.