VFL 2025

Freo and Peel have extended their alignment agreement until 2029s end.
Cool. Peel can be their reserves.
Victorian AFL clubs already don't travel as much as the rest, so let's give them another advantage too?
The Northern clubs asked to join the VFL, not the other way around. Port and West Coast were the teams that attempted to join. All Victorian clubs are happy to play in a Victorian only VFL whilst it's the other clubs who want a reserves league.

Cool. Peel can be their reserves.

The Northern clubs asked to join the VFL, not the other way around. Port and West Coast were the teams that attempted to join. All Victorian clubs are happy to play in a Victorian only VFL whilst it's the other clubs who want a reserves league.
Eth doggy dawg my man what are your thoughts now on sandy and st kilda having the best alignment?

I don't see how that addresses my point. This is just another advantage to Victorian clubs.

Eth doggy dawg my man what are your thoughts now on sandy and st kilda having the best alignment?
They're still the only alignment that hasn't essentially been a takeover, and Sandy are the only currently aligned club that would survive without their AFL "partner".
I don't see how that addresses my point. This is just another advantage to Victorian clubs.
Why should Victorian clubs be forced to enter an AFL reserves that they don't want, just because the interstate teams want it?

The VFL was fine the way it was before.

They're still the only alignment that hasn't essentially been a takeover, and Sandy are the only currently aligned club that would survive without their AFL "partner".

Why should Victorian clubs be forced to enter an AFL reserves that they don't want, just because the interstate teams want it?

As was the VFA

Mark Wheeler is a star as a GM, he’ll get the best bayside kids into that club from the Dragons program with the network and connections he has…

Best thing for the Zebras!
Sandringham could become a powerhouse as good as Weribee. Syphon from VAFA, Eastern, Southern and potentially MPNFL and that is 4 really strong leagues before you even look for specific type of players.

As you mentioned, the Dragons factory into the Zebs could make them a powerhouse

Nobody forced anybody to enter anything. Nobody even proposed it. You just want to be a victim.

Nope. I'm proposing the most sensible option for the non-Victorian teams who've indicated they'd prefer an AFL reserves, and the Victorian clubs who would prefer to play in Victoria. You proposed that there should be an AFL reserves.

Talking about me wanting to be a victim? Mate you're whinging about how it's an unfair advantage for the VFL to be, y'know, a Victorian competition. The Queensland and NSW clubs don't care which competition they're in as long as the standard is good enough, which the NEAFL simply wasn't. Port, West Coast and Adelaide all indicated they wanted to be in the VFL and/or an AFL reserves

You want to have your cake and eat it too.

Sandringham could become a powerhouse as good as Weribee. Syphon from VAFA, Eastern, Southern and potentially MPNFL and that is 4 really strong leagues before you even look for specific type of players.

As you mentioned, the Dragons factory into the Zebs could make them a powerhouse
They need pokies to become a powerhouse like Werribee

The VFA was dying. Without the AFL teams it would die again IMO
It's a completely different situation now than it was 30 years ago. There was no AFL Victoria, the NAB League was in its infancy, and the VFA was actively seeking to align with the AFL Reserves as the AFL clubs were very loud about the high operating costs. Alignments were prioritised early on, while now there are none left.

I believe if the AFL puts the effort into creating the VFL as a proper state league competition with just the stand alone sides (plus a revived Box Hill Mustangs and Casey Scorpions) it could do pretty well, at worst as a mid age competition for players aged 19-23 who are too old for NAB League but not developed enough for an AFL list.

It's a completely different situation now than it was 30 years ago. There was no AFL Victoria, the NAB League was in its infancy, and the VFA was actively seeking to align with the AFL Reserves as the AFL clubs were very loud about the high operating costs. Alignments were prioritised early on, while now there are none left.

I believe if the AFL puts the effort into creating the VFL as a proper state league competition with just the stand alone sides (plus a revived Box Hill Mustangs and Casey Scorpions) it could do pretty well, at worst as a mid age competition for players aged 19-23 who are too old for NAB League but not developed enough for an AFL list.
Not sure about Box Hill, but I think you'd have to bring in a new club instead of retaining Casey. They have virtually no local support and haven't from the moment they left Springvale. I don't think there's anything left for Melbourne to split from.

The trouble is in the South clubs like Dingley are paying massive amounts and only train twice a week , whereas the VFL is so much more intense for a 3rd of the match payments and Dingley is only an example

I reckon a lot of people would get around it. If they can get around the new national second tier soccer comp they can get around it.

A lot would have got around the VFL had it went ahead in 2020.

I don't think other than Preston their will be many clubs drawing crowds in the 8 week 2nd divi soccer comp. Most clubs will struggle to get back their big fan base of 20 + years ago who have lost a generation of the market to the A league and who are currently struggling to get crowds. South who was the most successful club pre A league only has a few hundred at the games and won't bring in thousands. Heidelberg and Knights very smart for turning away from the competition.

Nope. I'm proposing the most sensible option for the non-Victorian teams who've indicated they'd prefer an AFL reserves, and the Victorian clubs who would prefer to play in Victoria. You proposed that there should be an AFL reserves.
I said it's a possible eventuality. You seem to be spoiling for an argument and you don't care what straw men you're building up in the process.

Talking about me wanting to be a victim? Mate you're whinging about how it's an unfair advantage for the VFL to be, y'know, a Victorian competition.
No, I didn't. I whinged about your proposal for every non-Vic team to be in a reserves comp where they have to travel and every Vic one to be in a separate one where they don't. You bet I'm talking about you wanting to be a victim if you think that's fair while simultaneously having a sook about Vic clubs being "forced" into anything. You want that victimhood just as much as you want an argument.

You want to have your cake and eat it too.
You seem to have little idea at all about what I want, actually.

Werribee dig deep in the last qtr to get their season back on track. Willy is up against it now.

Attachments

• IMG_20250425_172555.jpg
    IMG_20250425_172555.jpg
    2.5 MB · Views: 7
Werribee will continue to improve as the season goes on. Willi were considered a premiership contender and clearly don't have the depth to cover their injuries
I've seen Willy 4 times, overrun by Essendon, overrun by Werribee, belted by Coburg and they got out of jail against Frankston. Definitely no depth at Willy. Werribee were frustrating in the 2nd and 3rd qtrs, they struggled to get their hands on the footy and when they decided to play they burried the seagulls.

VFL 2025