Rudest/Nicest player you've met?

Joel Smith and Matty Lappin - had a messy session with them both at Thursday night Chevron $1 spirits back in May 1998.

Actually had this pair stay at my house over New Years in the early 2000’s - they knew my flat mate at the time. We had a great time for the few days they stayed with us and they filled my beer fridge when they left. Definitely top blokes in my book!

Lets get this thread going again!

I'll go left-field with a news reporter. I met Tony Jones and he's a great guy!

I asked him about the Sunday Footy Show and he was more than happy to chat!
Tony Jones is a ripper. I do a bit of work for him now and again and he and his wife are fantastic.

A lot of times the people you think will be pricks are the best people you will meet. Both Cornes and Tony Jones were fantastic people when I have met them.

Andrew Mackie is a good one. Thought he was great but could understand why some wouldn't like him - has an absolute strut and confidence but is also very friendly

Jimmy Bartel is apparently plain dumb so he can sometimes be quite positive and kind hearted and other times he’s a total self obsessed prick. one of those people who just acts like the people around who are around him.

Lots of those sorts always end up with wives who rinse them. Ryan Crowley very similar on all fronts to young James.

Does enough media work to form your own opinion. Seems like a ripping bloke to me.

Wayne Carey came into a cafe in Darwin years ago (just after he had retired). I was having lunch with my missus who was on break and worked at the cafe. Had a huge FIGJAM vibe going, later left a note for her with his number on it.

Seems like a decent bloke listening to him now days on podcast etc, but can imagine at the peak of his North days was a complete flog.

Wayne Carey came into a cafe in Darwin years ago (just after he had retired). I was having lunch with my missus who was on break and worked at the cafe. Had a huge FIGJAM vibe going, later left a note for her with his number on it.

Seems like a decent bloke listening to him now days on podcast etc, but can imagine at the peak of his North days was a complete flog.
On brand for the duck. A true pig

similar thing happened to my mom in 2000 (i think). very flattering (post 2 childbirths), very weird

Did you call him Chompers?
counting crows 90s GIF

Sounds right. My gf at the time (now wife) were at a restaurant launch years back in Melbourne and briefly chatted to him. Later that night he tried to slide into her DM's, we don't even recall saying our names so no idea how he found her. Just scum bloke.

Hate to speak ill of the dead but rudest was Cowboy Neale. Sat opposite him at a corporate lunch and he did not say a word to anyone other than a grunt or two. On same table I was sitting next to Joey Montagna who is a great bloke. Dipper - not much of a bloke. Neil Roberts was a great guy but never stopped talking. Peter Hudson one of the nicest blokes you'd ever meet, I spent a fair bit of time with him over the years. Trevor Barker was the same. Nick Dal Santo really good guy. The one who surprised me was Alan Didak - really humble nice guy. Darren Flannigan a real "Aussie" and a good guy.

Kevin Sheedy truly is a nutter but will talk to anyone as an equal. Rob Harvey, only met him once but he was pretty good.

The guy I would give award to for "greatest bloke" is Tony Hall (Hawks). For a while I spent a lot of time with him and he was just a cracker.

Nick Stevens, Ang Christou and Kouta came into my workplace once (early 2000s) and were the nicest guys. Talked to them for ages, really friendly.

Aaron Davey also came in, but he was quite rude and seemed like a shit bloke.

He does/did this all the time. Amazing to think how many times it worked.

Haha a bloke I know met him at a pub a few years ago and they may have even been dabbling, anyway he goes something along the lines of 'mate I'm only addicted to one thing, it's not coke, it's not piss.. it's sex'

You'll struggle to meet a better bloke than Luke Beveridge. Genuinely a 10/10 human being.

Tim Clarke, Shane Crawford, Luke Breust and Darren Glass are the standouts I've encountered in my years following footy. All top-shelf humans.

Buddy was a mixed bag on the surface for most of his Hawthorn days, but he was just a kid at the time.

Brad Hill is a good dude who makes an arse of himself on the piss.

I've had poor experiences with Brad Johnson and Garry Lyon, but it's not right to judge someone's character off a singular instance (at least not the former).

Nicky Winmar is a super human being.
My brother in law ran into him during the week before the Saints Adelade grand final, 97? He was drunk and surly and IIRC wouldn't give up the pool table at the pub, basically looking for a fight.

Turned out a family member had died, his father or uncle, and he couldn't fly back to WA and was in a terrible state. His mates were around him I think stopping him from getting hurt or hurting others.

Otherwise the stories are he's a nice man.

So the point made earlier about "one bad day" are relevant, you meet anyone on their worst day and they can seem horrible.

I heard that about Winmar and I thought "typical Saints party boy, on the turps when he should be resting".

My brother in law ran into him during the week before the Saints Adelade grand final, 97? He was drunk and surly and IIRC wouldn't give up the pool table at the pub, basically looking for a fight.

Turned out a family member had died, his father or uncle, and he couldn't fly back to WA and was in a terrible state. His mates were around him I think stopping him from getting hurt or hurting others.

Otherwise the stories are he's a nice man.

So the point made earlier about "one bad day" are relevant, you meet anyone on their worst day and they can seem horrible.

I heard that about Winmar and I thought "typical Saints party boy, on the turps when he should be resting".
I see him on occasion in Ivanhoe and he is always up for a chat, and remembers my name when we run into each other. Fair to say he has become a lot wiser with age.
Keith stackpole was another . Would walk past my house every 2nd or 3rd day and stop for a chat about cricket. Shame he left us last week. Saw him walking around only a few weeks back. Will be missed

Wayne Carey - was out with a bunch a friends in the middle 2000s .
He was nearby and we were talking about how we were helping one of the girls move the next day .

Later we noticed he left his number on a napkin next to her - clearly heard the convo and was offering a hand with the move .

Decent fella to say the least

Wayne Carey - was out with a bunch a friends in the middle 2000s .
He was nearby and we were talking about how we were helping one of the girls move the next day .

Later we noticed he left his number on a napkin next to her - clearly heard the convo and was offering a hand with the move .

Decent fella to say the least
You’ve got to give the man the benefit of the doubt.

Many years ago Matthew Primus and Shaun Rehn came to a sports store promotion for some brand they were both promoting.

Shaun Rehn was an arrogant pr*&^K t everyone.
Matthew Primus was fantastic, super friendly to all the kids and stayed overtime to sign things.

Rudest/Nicest player you've met?