Autopsy Round 7 - St Kilda v Brisbane

I reckon we need to go after that top rated forward in the game going around for the Suns. I think his name is Ben Long...Anyone know where he came from? We could really do with him as a target up front. Of course, the Suns would not be so stupid as to let him go...
And of course you advocated strongly for his cause at the time, not wanking on in hindsight.

Unless…

Ben Long wasn't setting the world on fire when he left. We offered him a contract but Gold Coast offered him stupid money at the time $500k per year.

I'm sure North would want more than nothing when they delisted Mason Wood.

You win some, you lose some. No one has a crystal ball.

Ben Long wasn't setting the world on fire when he left. We offered him a contract but Gold Coast offered him stupid money at the time $500k per year.

I'm sure North would want more than nothing when they delisted Mason Wood.

You win some, you lose some. No one has a crystal ball.
Membrey was another piece of luck who came our way for practically nothing iirc.

Hill did a lot of good linking up work, and he showed poise too, running with the ball. yeah, we was knocked off the ball like a mosquito is swatted and it wasn’t easy to watch, but he did plenty right, and we would have been worse off without him. Him and Brisbane’s atrocious kicking.
Some of Hill’s stats from the game are fairly impressive for an outside player, so I don’t get the pile on at all:

• 33 disposals at 75.8%
  • 501 metres gained
  • 10 contested possessions
  • 8 ground ball gets
  • 9 post clearance contested possessions (highest for the match from both sides)
  • 7 post clearance ground ball gets (second highest for the match from both sides)
  • 22 pressure acts
Doesn’t sound like someone who can’t half a contest or played bruise free footy.

Hugo had 23 mins of game time, got hands on the ball. A coach needs to just bench him, have a stern word in his ear about what he is doing wrong and put him back on.

Been a while since a young inexperienced player has to wear the brunt of a cr^p team performance after one and a half quarters of a game. Might be worth looking at Steele's poor defensive game against his opponent in Neale if the coach needed to blast someone.

Just a poor look from Lyon, considering our senior players have been letting us down recently.
Jeez mate you make a lot of assumptions without knowing very much.

Honestly.

It doesn't take 4 years to turn this ship around given we had one finals series and been rebuilding since 2011 prior to Ross.

We need to stop thinking these things take the better part of a decade.

We botched a few rebuilds mostly through terrible recruiting and development. This one really started with Nas, Windhager and Owens. All have stepped up in their 4th season. Realistically that's the point that consistency and performance start to amp up.

While there are plenty of concerns, the Nasiah signs as a midfielder are really promising. I really didn't see him becoming one, but he looked great in the second half.

In the second half: 13 disposals (12 kicks), six contested possessions, four tackles, four clearances, six score involvements, two goal assists and the goal.
Hundred per cent it takes his cieling , from top 20 player to top 5 player Brownlow contender

While there are plenty of concerns, the Nasiah signs as a midfielder are really promising. I really didn't see him becoming one, but he looked great in the second half.

In the second half: 13 disposals (12 kicks), six contested possessions, four tackles, four clearances, six score involvements, two goal assists and the goal.
I think its getting to the point where he should take Steele's spot in the starting midfield. Hastie should come in and take NWM's spot on half back.

Steele's POD was his power and tackling ability, he seems to have lost that this year. I think if he wasn't the captain, he would be out of the starting 23.

Exactly. Things will pick up a lot if he keeps that up and Macrae can get back closer to what he was doing and we get Pou and possibly Clark back in there in the next couple of weeks.

For those thinking Boxshall is any kind of answer, I invite you to look at the sort of games that Owens, Garcia and Pou had in the midfield when they were thrown in there when they were really young.

They’d all shown plenty in the VFL like Boxshall is, but then they came in and had 4 disposal type games and it was like playing a man down in the midfield and it was a disastrous result.

As much as our midfield is struggling at the moment, it would be pretty miraculous if it wasn’t even worse if Hugh was thrown in there at the moment.

Garcia is much much better this year at AFL level than he was last, yet last year he was playing at a similar level in the VFL to what Boxshall is this year. So the likelihood is that Boxshall will be less effective at AFL level than Garcia is now.

Yet some are suggesting him as if he’s going to come in and make us immediately better.

The likelihood of that seems extremely low.
Heavily agree. Sometimes you can’t beat the mean of most young players following the same stat line. Need to be those genuine freaks to meaningfully impact a team in your first year.

Yeah Lyon hates Garcia. It’s well known around the club. Even to the extent he will waste a sub on him when there are others doing worse. One of those open secrets where everybody is too scared to talk to Lyon about it in case he gets too grumpy with him and leaves them off his next coffee run. Hope it doesn’t cost us a premiership.

I heard he may even quit as coach unless Garcia is traded. Apparently that is what Steele isn’t playing well either. He has sided with Garcia and said “if he goes I do too”. Not sure if that is public knowledge or not yet so don’t tell anybody. Keller was on a silent strike in solidarity with Garcia as well, which explains why he limited his involvement to no more than one possession a quarter.

Apparently it’s affecting the entire club except Higgo who is unaware and too busy kicking goals. Lindsay Fox about to get involved as well. Watch this space.
Said in jest - but hey- might be time - 2 1/2 years of Lyon and we're not going anywhere.

Lyon said he subbed Garcia because apparently he wasn't hard enough over the contest against the big strong bodies of the Brisbane midfield.

Well unless they magically muscled up through the first qtr, if that's what he was expecting why weren't Stocker and Owens given more midfield minutes? Why did he start Jones on the bench?

And don't get me started about selecting Keeler again.

He and selection panel have made some howlers over the past few weeks - if they are gonna whack Garcia for not playing his role perhaps they should man up take some of the blame as well.

Said in jest - but hey- might be time - 2 1/2 years of Lyon and we're not going anywhere.

Lyon said he subbed Garcia because apparently he wasn't hard enough over the contest against the big strong bodies of the Brisbane midfield.

Well unless they magically muscled up through the first qtr, if that's what he was expecting why weren't Stocker and Owens given more midfield minutes? Why did he start Jones on the bench?

And don't get me started about selecting Keeler again.

He and selection panel have made some howlers over the past few weeks - if they are gonna whack Garcia for not playing his role perhaps they should man up take some of the blame as well.
If only head coaches were ever held to scrutiny.

You don’t know what he asked Garcia to do. It’s the first time he has given anybody a “bake” since he got here, not that it was even really a bake and not done publicly, with the obvious and unavoidable exception of the sub being known to all.

So it must have been a pretty fundamental instruction he was not performing to.

Either that or the does truly simply hate him for no reason and somebody else is forcing him to select him.

Has anyone actually called him a "top rated " forward?

You don’t know what he asked Garcia to do. It’s the first time he has given anybody a “bake” since he got here, not that it was even really a bake and not done publicly, with the obvious and unavoidable exception of the sub being known to all.

Either that or the does truly simply hate him for no reason and somebody else is forcing him to select him.

Or he literally just brought in a mature body with a different skill set to change shit up.

I think its getting to the point where he should take Steele's spot in the starting midfield. Hastie should come in and take NWM's spot on half back.

Steele's POD was his power and tackling ability, he seems to have lost that this year. I think if he wasn't the captain, he would be out of the starting 23.

Steele had 19 contested possessions yesterday, so yeah, i guess that was his point of difference.
I suppose the narrative is that none of them were damaging.

If part of his role is to get the ball to Nas, then Nas will struggle with that role.

Windhager and Steele both had the highest tackles for the Saints, i'm sure Jack won't mind if someone else tries to rob him of the honor.

Wang is no slouch at winning the ball, but he's not going to get Patty Cripps sort of numbers.

I heard the whole thing. It was very loud.

RL "HUGO "
Hugo " Yo "
RL " You go "
Hugo " YO , not deaf you know "
RL " NO NO HUGO, YOU GO!!!! " " ffs BJ point to he door will you ".
Hugo " Oh No"

Ok l just finished watching the replay to catch up on all this drama.....

I'm not really seeing any tbh.
Did people expect us to win or something??

Terrific endeavour for the whole game. A good helping of structural and tactical deficiencies for Ross and his group to sort out, a lot of which is to blame for some of our other issues. A smattering of poor execution, but not over the top. Some shit umpiring at exactly the wrong time as normal for us. Beaten soundly by the reigning premiers who were better all game surprise, surprise. The end.

I thought Keeler was good in the ruck late. He's worth persisting with but the need to lock him in the gym for a long while.

It's really sunk in lately just how ****ed this game has become. It's basically now just playing to the umpires instructions rather than a sport governed by rules that the players all know.

He's worth persisting with but the need to lick him in the gym for a long while.
Really, I think that is uncalled for. I'm a live and let live kind of guy, but I really don't think there is any place for that sort of thing here....

Autopsy Round 7 - St Kilda v Brisbane