Rudest/Nicest player you've met?

It’s good to see the same names keep popping up. Myself or a friend has had great interactions with Ablett, Crawford, Richo.

Dermott and David King are both great. Both just love to talk footy. Dermott in particular would give you his left arm if he could.

Bontempelli is as you’d expect. Very much like Selwood where they’ll do anything to make a kid smile.

Had some bad experiences with players. Taylor Walker, Matthew Jaensh, Brad Crouch. Absolute flogs who don’t know how to handle their drink. Luke Dahlhaus was lovely to me sober, an absolute prick to me when not so sober. Nick Watson, incredibly arrogant and won’t talk to someone unless they’re an AFL player.

A few mates have met Mark Rucitto and say he’s just awesome to be around. One of those guys that you can feel the whole room change for the better as soon as he walks in.

Not sure if anyone would remember him but I’ve had a fair few mates have interactions with Ned Cahill and no one says a good thing. Not surprised Essendon have him the arse very quick.

Met Sheeds as a little tacker at the pub, would have been later days as Essendon coach.

Was wearing a handmade baggy green that my Dad had made at the time. Really well made, and obviously you can't get commercially.

Anyway, was walking around and Sheeds gets up from his table, nearly falls over 3 seperate times, and bellows out "I love your cap little man!! Can you get me one!?".

Awesome moment that I can still piece together in memory, and have ended up meeting him again a couple of times over the years.

Clearly past his used by date to be involved with clubs, but as a spokesperson for the game, particularly to kids, he's a legend.

The only concerning part was the fact that he drove home that day 15 minutes later.

Seriously don't know he made it home unscathed, or without hurting anybody else.

It's the interactions when you're a kid that stick. I still remember Neil Craig taking my BMX for a spin down Trimmer Terrace one day when I was watching Sturt train then taking me into the changerooms and introducing me to Halbert and Davies and Graham who might as well have been gods to me back then. Over forty years on and I still have a tremendous soft spot for him because of it.

This is kind of useless without actual details

I can’t really give away too much more as I don’t want to impact my employer but there was some profanities and do you know who I am type behaviours given when he didn’t get his way.

Joel Smith and Matty Lappin - had a messy session with them both at Thursday night Chevron $1 spirits back in May 1998.
Oh man I hit that up back in the day, fun times. Just about the only times we'd ever cross the Yarra in high school.

60 years ago at a footy clinic in the Mallee, Polly Farmer saw how useless I was and took me aside and gave me a handball lesson - I was still pretty useless but I never forgot how kind and gentle that man was.

Brad Ottens - legend.
Tadhg Kennelly - absolute tool kit.

Nicest - Jack Darling when I looked after his firstborn. Such a stressful time for him and his wife but he was so kind /chatty /as interested in me as I was him

Rudest - Brendon Goddard. Refused to shake my hand , look me in the eye or even acknowledge my greeting at the coin toss.

Nicest - Jack Darling when I looked after his firstborn. Such a stressful time for him and his wife but he was so kind /chatty /as interested in me as I was him

Rudest - Brendon Goddard. Refused to shake my hand , look me in the eye or even acknowledge my greeting at the coin toss.

Your lucky he didn't throw some pretzels at you :moustache:

Andrew Philipps the nicest. Saw him in Essendon having a coffee by himself and popped over to say gday and thank him for his time at the Blues. Talked about the day Cripps and him dismantled the Crows with Cripps having 19 clearances or something insane. Just seemed to love footy and love the fans despite not being a household name to most.

Rudest was Bailey Smith by a mile. Walked in on him doing a 📈 In Electric's bathroom probably 4-5 years ago and the bloke went berserk. Assaulted me and two of my mates and got himself booted out of the joint. Hopefully for his sake he's settled down a bit these days.

A couple of former staff members at Barnbougle say the same about Goddard. Of all the AFL players that go through there, he is least friendly. They speak highly of Isaac Smith though.

The Shane Stremple thing does give the impression he was a prick but having watched so much of him on On The Couch back in the day, he did come across as a very well spoken, thoughtful, decent guy.

My father-in-law sat next to him in local footy a few years and said he was a ripper. No ego at all and happy to talk about anything. Even shouted him a coffee.

As for the Strempel incident - it was a totally different era (if not world). Walls would not have been alone with his attitude, and I wouldn't mind betting stuff like that happened elsewhere, but not as widely known. Ask the Hawthorn players from the '70s or '80s that got smacked and/or stretched by Jeans at training.

Met Wayne Harmes, Jimmy Buckley and Dennis Collins as a kid back in '79. They were playing social tennis where I lived and I fetched balls for them. They were nice guys.

Met Dennis Armfield at an open training day in Southport. He was about to walk up steps after training and we came up behind him. He was holding his boots and hobbling. He stopped and insisted we go first, because he wasn't sure he'd make it. Funny guy and nice.

Saw Marc Murphy with a couple of other players, and I was walking straight towards them. He stared at me, but said nothing. I got a smug vibe as he was captain at the time, but that could have just been an incorrect perception. He comes across shy and quiet I guess.

Saw Zac Smith and another Suns depth ruckman having coffee at a cafe on the ground floor of my office building once. Seemed like laid back guys. Couldn't get over the size of them.

Met Alan Mangels while doing an incident investigation at his workplace once. He had a photo on the wall, of a hanger he took against the Cats. Had a good chat about those days.

As a kid, my footy team was coached for a day by Vin Catoggio. Such a highlight.

Also spoke to Matt Kreuzer and got him to give a shout out to BigFooty on video as we were sponsoring him at the time.

I don't get many chances to speak to players living in Queensland and I seldom approach them anyway. I have a philosophy about sportsmen and celebrities, and giving them their space and privacy.

Met Wayne Harmes,.

As a kid, my footy team was coached for a day by Vin Catoggio. Such a highlight.
Wayne Harmes coached our local footy side for a few years. Claims he is a Richmond supporter these days. He is a different cat.

Vinnie is see a fair bit around my area He is a painter these days running a business out of an old van. The fro is gone. He always says g'day.

Anyone met Willie Rioli?

Rudest/Nicest player you've met?