Autopsy Round 8, 2025: Positives and Negatives vs Melbourne

Pretty sure in the split pick that Ginbey went into the draft as a Def, Hewett as a Fwd and then when the club announced them after drafting they became listed as a Def/Mid and Fwd/Mid respectively.

So Ginbey returning back to a defender (and doing well there) was unsurprising.
Pretty sure you don’t follow the draft if that’s what you reckon
Ginbey was all Australian mid from 18s champs. Hewett had spent time forward in Swans league team but very few 18y/o play league midfield, he was most definitely a midfielder and that’s where he played in 18s champs

The dissent rule seems to be a thing of the past.
This is about 30 secs after he pushes Gov in the marking contest. He has held onto the ball, complained to the ump, with the ball, then had a go at Ryan, still holding the ball, then even doesn't give it back once the ump tells him to.
No 50

Screenshot_20250504-222122.png
Told to Give him the ball

Screenshot_20250504-222301.png
Goes on to argue with Ryan/Allen. Still holding the ball

Pretty sure you don’t follow the draft if that’s what you reckon
Ginbey was all Australian mid from 18s champs. Hewett had spent time forward in Swans league team but very few 18y/o play league midfield, he was most definitely a midfielder and that’s where he played in 18s champs
Correct, played mainly back line as a junior, and some midfield put into the midfield prior to the championships and in his first year playing AFL. Was a bit to reactivate and not proactive to play midfield. Moved back by Schofield as caretaker coach looks great there.

Was at the game.
As much as I like Maric, he is not strong enough in the contest yet. His mistakes will get fewer with time.
OAllen plays down back like he plays up forward....no idea how to use his body to advantage. He needs to learn how to initiate contact to disrupt the run of the opposition forward. Ideally not playing at all. Brock should be there instead.
Hough needs to stay back. He is great down there. Yes he show potential in the midfield but we have other midfielders who should be in there (Gross, Hall etc).
Cole needs to go.
Duggan stay back.
Kelly no more.
Harley either in the guts or forward of centre.
Ginbey...you just keep being the glorious bastard you are.
Hewett... similar. Stay fit son.
Liam Ryan, on the half pack line would be good. But where ever he can go he will be good.
Owies....sorry but cant see a place.
Brockman, suprisingly good in the middle.
Bo Allan. Not quite ready but didnt look too lost. Good pace.
Flynn. We keep saying "but he's up against an elite ruckman". We say that every week. Takes marks around the ground better than BWilliams but is not as good a ruckman per se.

IMHO, Flynn needs better support. I'm not talking about more chop-out time from Archer or Jack Williams... but more team-play to counter the opposition ruck. Gawn is an absolute monster.... he's seven times All Australian and has almost 200 games more experience that Flynn, who is an honest trier at best. Not defending Flynn's under performance... but we need to be doing more team-oriented stuff if we want to counter the best opposition players.

Most times Gawn went up for an intercept mark, he barely had body contact. He should have been getting crunched.

We need to learn how to play unsociable football.

It's hard to win many games of football when the opposition routinely doubles your hitouts, and that's the kind of service you're giving to a young, inexperienced midfield. I'm glad Simpson is now pointing out in commentary that losing clearances three times out of four means the ball lives in your defensive 50, making it nearly impossible to generate scoring chances. Brilliant insight — pity he didn’t come to that realization five years ago and actually had a succession plan for Nic Nat.

IMHO, Flynn needs better support. I'm not talking about more chop-out time from Archer or Jack Williams... but more team-play to counter the opposition ruck. Gawn is an absolute monster.... he's seven times All Australian and has almost 200 games more experience that Flynn, who is an honest trier at best. Not defending Flynn's under performance... but we need to be doing more team-oriented stuff if we want to counter the best opposition players.

Most times Gawn went up for an intercept mark, he barely had body contact. He should have been getting crunched.

Gawn is elite. An all-timer.

BUT

The ease of his work on Saturday was deplorable. Some contests he didn't even appear to have to worry about an opposition.

Flynn was dreadful.

Gawn was pushing Flynn off his line like it was a man vs a boy in the ruck contests, repeatedly. The most annoying thing is other than the one time Flynn led with his knee he did almost nothing to adjust in game.

Went to the game and watched the replay over the weekend, glutton for punishment I know.
After the first quarter I said to the missus that Melbourne weren't really playing that well and if we lifted just a bit we could really be in the game. Then the second quarter happened.
Meanwhile my missus isn't a footy fan or watcher but just liked getting out and doing something. She said who's that big guy for them, he's really good and just seems to be everywhere, Gawn. The guy is a freak and at 33/34 pretty much playing career best footy and along with a little help from Petracca the reason Melbourne is getting what wins they are.
I caught up with a mate at half time and watched the 3rd quarter there, well bits of it anyway he stands at the back drinking with mates. Then the 3rd quarter happened so back to where I was sitting for the 4th.
Anyway,
While watching the replay I payed particular attention to the 3rd quarter to see where it all went wrong considering we got the all important first goal and seem to be matching them if not on top. Then they got that run on with multiple goals and what struck me was the amount of umpire decisions and non decisions.
Petracca walking the ball out of bounds on the wing which was as deliberate as but was thrown in. They kick it down to the 50 where Ginbey is pinged for a very weak 50/50 call on Melksham who kicks it down to the goals where Oscar is clearly pushed out on in a mark contest, play on Goal.
1 minute later Ginbey does a toe poke out of the defensive 50 and it dribbles out just before the players get to it, deliberate free kick, goal.
There were others over the rest of that qtr, some that cost us a couple of shots on goal and a few more that got them shots on goal.

Not saying that the Umpiring cost us the game, once again our poor disposal and the over the shoulder dump kicks took care of that. But what it did do is change the momentum of the game and got Melbourne back into it when we were looking like running away with it.

Harley constantly held, pushed, blocked in contests. It was surprising he was able to get what disposals he did. We desperately need Hall back in there just for his contested ball winning and strength to help Harley out and Gross who just wills himself to get involved. Would also like to see how Grego would go in there as well. What have we got to lose.

Oh and the Sardine train on the way to the ground and back was fun, not. We got on at Edgewater and after the Whitfords stop it was full. But hey keep stopping and squeezing them on. How hard would it be to just stop at every second stop and alternate it with the next train. I gather the other lines on the way in would be the same.

Wow that post was a lot longer than it was meant to be, better stop.

Gawn is elite. An all-timer.

BUT

The ease of his work on Saturday was deplorable. Some contests he didn't even appear to have to worry about an opposition.

Flynn was dreadful.

Was thinking about this. When Naitanui went down in 2018 it killed one of our big points of difference.

We beat Collingwood, Melbourne, Collingwood in the 2018 finals which meant going up against Grundy (twice) and Gawn, the two AA rucks. We had Lycett and Vardy and managed to do enough to win all 3 games.

QF Grundy had 48 hitouts 18 touches, we lost the hitouts 49-28 and clearances 37-36
PF Gawn had 36 hitouts 11 touches, we lost the hitouts 42-33 and won clearances 40-32
GF Grundy had 49 hitouts 10 touches, we lost the hitouts 57-29 and clearances 46-41

I don't remember either having much of an influence in those games.

On Saturday Gawn had 47 hitouts 35 touches, we lost the hitouts 49-27 and won clearances 49-26. Clear BOG. He's phenomenal but our #1 clearance winner was Tyler Brockman. Felt like every centre bounce was Gawn tap to Viney/Petracca/Rivers, two WC players run to the Melbourne player with the ball and don't impact the contest, the Melbourne player handballs to a free teammate in space. WTAF.

Gawn was pushing Flynn off his line like it was a man vs a boy in the ruck contests, repeatedly. The most annoying thing is other than the one time Flynn led with his knee he did almost nothing to adjust in game.
Pimp Daddy Gawn treated Flynn like one of his hookers.

I agree we needed to start doing that on the weekend, because of what Gawn was doing to the game, but I'm so so ****ing done with Flynn. It's not an isolated occurrence or him having a bad day, it happens every time he plays because he's complete trash and a stroll in the park for every other ruck in the competition.

If you ranked every 1st and 2nd choice ruckman for every team in the league, the only uncertainty would be which of he or Bailey Williams would be outright last- they'd definitely occupy the bottom two positions.

They simply should not be on an AFL list, and with Barnett's failure to develop we have an urgent need to recruit a competent ruckman.

Like Bo Allen?

Lycett was a 203 cms 102 kg limited ruckman, who was great value because he was prepared to hunt the body and intimidate better rucks/oppo players.

Flynn is a 202 cm ###kg (obscured in case anyone thinks he is fat - you bullies!) limited ruckman who is far too nice and all up, a powder puff of a gentle giant.

Flynn, if he gets a game this week, needs to learn from Nankervis who's 199cms, 102 kgs and hits hard (watch him throwing Hawks players around when the scuffles began).

Mind you, only Scotty will ever have this career air swing highlight:

1746439851806.png

Autopsy Round 8, 2025: Positives and Negatives vs Melbourne