Coach Michael Voss - Stats, history, articles, videos

Agree but we need to remember that McRae walked into a club with better standards and a good culture. They had been around the mark. He was then able to adjust and get a flag. Voss walked into a club that was a rabble and had no standards and a poor culture. He has improved this but no where near enough.

I also believe he has been poorly supported. Our assistants are the worst in the league.

I question Voss as a tactician and a senior coach but he hasn't been helped at all and started from a low base
Agree …we are starting further behind compared to pies when fly took by over but Fly has been instrumental in pies flag and their good form since taking over

Our issues are more footy department as a whole but I can’t see a situation where you have smart/better assistants working under a boss who doesn’t understand/value the modern game.

I haven’t seen anything in Voss to date that suggests with better assistants we’ll head In the right direction.

Agree but we need to remember that McRae walked into a club with better standards and a good culture. They had been around the mark. He was then able to adjust and get a flag. Voss walked into a club that was a rabble and had no standards and a poor culture. He has improved this but no where near enough.

I also believe he has been poorly supported. Our assistants are the worst in the league.

I question Voss as a tactician and a senior coach but he hasn't been helped at all and started from a low base

I thought before Voss was appointed that we had already decided our previous assistants were no good and had sacked all but Luke Power. I would also imagine that the incoming coach would have a very big hand in selecting his assistants.

So maybe the starting base was low but surely the ball was in his court to develop it by appointing, adding and removing his assistants as he wishes. He's now had 3 off seasons to do this but still we apportion a lot of the blame for our form on assistants.

When Tex was screaming in Saad's face, Young didn't get involved until later and then just gave a little shove.

If Jack was there it would have been a different story...
Young is a fringe player who is not even sure of his own spot in the team. Would've been great for him to stand up more there, but ultimately our senior players need to be stepping in there.

But a new coach doesn’t have to play these guys, a new coach can say to Austin or whoever is in charge, I’m not going to play Doc so don’t offer him a new deal, he can say Fog, Motlop aren’t up to it so see if they want to look elsewhere, he can say the same to Gov, he can actually play Cowan in a way that doesn’t kill his natural ability, he can push Binns to move on.

Actually in a properly run Club, you have a match committee that selects players and this is not driven solely by the Head Coach. It is run by the Head of Football, who would be seeking feedback from the coaches, fitness staff and forming his/her own view. You do not vest all power in the head coach. Head of Football should, with a proper structure, be driving these discussions. You effectively have different divisions (coaching, recruiting, fitness and welfare/mindset) reporting into you. Job of HOF is to collate the information from each division and then issue final directions to list management.

Standards?
Culture?
Mentally weak?

Whatever it is until it's addressed we won't win a Flag

Speaking about the top players at Carlton imo - Cripps /Weitering and Hewett are the only reliable week in week out A graders we have. I think Charlie is permanently constrained by bad knees as Walsh is now with bad back and Harry with whatever demons he is fighting mentally. TDK is looking like he isn process of checking/checked out. These are our star players - the rest are a long way behind. It is a an unbalanced list and lacking in some ingredients to work with which are absolutely required in current gme- kicking ability and speed.

I think most players try their best - but too many wouldnt make starting 22 in most other Clubs.

Maybe both?

also Voss’s job to get the players up ?
getting them up? They’re not children ….where is the on field effort, he doesn’t kick the ball drop a mark. I put this one the players

Actually in a properly run Club, you have a match committee that selects players and this is not driven solely by the Head Coach. It is run by the Head of Football, who would be seeking feedback from the coaches, fitness staff and forming his/her own view. You do not vest all power in the head coach. Head of Football should, with a proper structure, be driving these discussions. You effectively have different divisions (coaching, recruiting, fitness and welfare/mindset) reporting into you. Job of HOF is to collate the information from each division and then issue final directions to list management.

This must be the first think on Graeme Wright’s agenda - he should be working on it already.

Speaking about the top players at Carlton imo - Cripps /Weitering and Hewett are the only reliable week in week out A graders we have. I think Charlie is permanently constrained by bad knees as Walsh is now with bad back and Harry with whatever demons he is fighting mentally. TDK is looking like he isn process of checking/checked out. These are our star players - the rest are a long way behind. It is a an unbalanced list and lacking in some ingredients to work with which are absolutely required in current gme- kicking ability and speed.

I think most players try their best - but too many wouldnt make starting 22 in most other Clubs.
l don't agree on Charlie being restricted, it is more the fact that he is such a naturally gifted footballer & athlete he does not work hard enough in some areas when things are not going his way.

Also we fall into the trap of not keeping a front half structure when we are getting beaten, Charlie & Harry become no concern to the opposition.

Like many have said we just do not see consistency with Mckay & Curnow and Walsh certainly not to justify the $ they are earning.

getting them up? They’re not children ….where is the on field effort, he doesn’t kick the ball drop a mark. I put this one the players
Its amazing how little our fans expect of the players.

Wonder if Vossy sets their alarms for them too.
What is the purpose of a coach if not to unite them, rev them up and play as a team based on what they train?

On field leadership is also responsible as they’re supposed to be an extension of the coach on tge field.

Short answer. Yes.

But a new coach doesn’t have to play these guys, a new coach can say to Austin or whoever is in charge, I’m not going to play Doc so don’t offer him a new deal, he can say Fog, Motlop aren’t up to it so see if they want to look elsewhere, he can say the same to Gov, he can actually play Cowan in a way that doesn’t kill his natural ability, he can push Binns to move on.

A new coach with a new style, new assistants, a bit of a clean out, a few new faces and things change straight away.
Your view is a bit hypocritical as it apportions responsibility for List mangement with the senior coach not the List Manager. Secondly, unfortunately with 40 on the list, the senior coach has to "play these guys". As Tom Hafey said..." some teams Jesus Christ could coach'em and it would make no difference". Our Coaching is an issue but it is dwarfed by poor list management

Not all his fault - there's a lot of interrelatedness between list management and coaching team.

Making sure the club is aligned in the way it wants to play + improving the list to play that way is one big synergy.

Big picture - I think both our list strengths and gameplan are flawed, mainly they're about 5 years out of date.

The current game has become about speed and explosiveness + valuing small forwards.

We built a pretty conventional list starting in 2015 with extremely good spine players + strong midfielders. But our lack of speed and small forwards was identified a few years after other teams started valuing and hoarding these types.

It is heartbreaking to say that this list may have run its course because of how many losses the club went through to acquire the draft picks...but I do get the sense the list led by the current crop of stars has peaked.

Sliding doors: How different would we be with a Tom Papley + healthy Jack Martin?

I reckon you could plug any halfway decent coach into a side with Pendles and Sidebottom still fronting up every week, gift them Nick Daicos, and they'd probably be pushing finals at the very least. Cannot understate how valuable it is to have two blokes who have not only climbed the mountain, but who instinctively understand the flow of a game of footy and how to react to it, out on the field directing play.

I reckon Fly can get cute with his set plays cause he has a few leaders who can actually recognise the rare times that those set plays are the right plays.

Which better assistant is knocking the door down to work under Voss?

They have choices and I would highly doubt that they’d wanna work under Voss.
That is the catch 22. An effective assistant would bring a big change up. Is Voss going to allow too much influence?
Next question is around the soft cap, how do we attract the better, more progressive assistants?

Most of the smarter, more intelligent types can set up a better living post game elsewhere. So many potential coaches are lost. Some of the grass roots types with fundamentals focus and commonsense footy ethos are gold, but we need a mix. The biggest thing we need is motivators. No good imparting principles, even skills if you don’t foster the desire, commitment and a genuine sense if TEAM. (Cincotta -“ can’t wait to go to war with you blokes” or words o that effect.)

If we are indeed a wealthy club, we may have to cop a soft cap tax.

My view is get Longmire. Just give him what he wants. 14 years at Sydney he missed the finals twice.That tells me he was able to evolve his coaching year after year to stay in it. He is a tactical coach. If Voss needs all this help then he isn't the coach we need. Head coach makes all the final decisions. If we have a coach who needs babysitting then what's the point? Obviously we going to need some what of a list clean out soon and how is Voss going to go then? Get Longmire let's stop playing around. Just pay the tax for going over the soft cap. I can't stand listening to anymore of Voss press conferences. It's everybody elses fault bar his.

I reckon you could plug any halfway decent coach into a side with Pendles and Sidebottom still fronting up every week, gift them Nick Daicos, and they'd probably be pushing finals at the very least. Cannot understate how valuable it is to have two blokes who have not only climbed the mountain, but who instinctively understand the flow of a game of footy and how to react to it, out on the field directing play.

I reckon Fly can get cute with his set plays cause he has a few leaders who can actually recognise the rare times that those set plays are the right plays.

Maybe he gets the best out of them? We have as talented top 6-10 as anyone

My view is get Longmire. Just give him what he wants. 14 years at Sydney he missed the finals twice.That tells me he was able to evolve his coaching year after year to stay in it. He is a tactical coach. If Voss needs all this help then he isn't the coach we need. Head coach makes all the final decisions. If we have a coach who needs babysitting then what's the point? Obviously we going to need some what of a list clean out soon and how is Voss going to go then? Get Longmire let's stop playing around. Just pay the tax for going over the soft cap. I can't stand listening to anymore of Voss press conferences. It's everybody elses fault bar his.
He’d be perfect for our players…

He demands respect…reckon players might think twice about shirking contests, putting in half arse attempts and going through the motions…

Understands the modern game…

does he want to continue coaching though?

He might be ear marked for Tassie team?

He’d be perfect for our players…

He demands respect…reckon players might think twice about shirking contests, putting in half arse attempts and going through the motions…

Understands the modern game…

does he want to continue coaching though?

He might be ear marked for Tassie team?

Agreed . If it's the case he is meant for Tassie then we need to convince him otherwise.

Coach Michael Voss - Stats, history, articles, videos