Preview Changes vs North Melbourne (Sunday 11 May 2025 • 4:40 PM)

The other problem is Kiddy and Doedee. Funny how Kiddy needs a few weeks although Ashcroft came straight back.
Ashcroft was coming available at a time in the season when he needed to get back to AFL level in time for finals, plus he’s a pretty special individual! There was also space to bring him into the team.
Kiddy has time to play in the 2’s to really get match fit with a lot of season remaining, and someone needs to be dropped for him to come in. He showed on the weekend how good the ball comes off his boot so i don’t think he’ll be too far off.

Forecast has been updated now to Min 9, Max 19. I'm not sure you could get better conditions for footy.

Late afternoon it'll be low teens. Might be a tad chilly if you're sedentary watching the game from the stands, perfect conditions for playing.

View attachment 2307741

The sun will be down just after the game starts; it will be cold and get much colder. The temp drops fast here and with a wind chill it often feels several degrees below the stated temp.

Ashcroft was coming available at a time in the season when he needed to get back to AFL level in time for finals, plus he’s a pretty special individual! There was also space to bring him into the team.
Kiddy has time to play in the 2’s to really get match fit with a lot of season remaining, and someone needs to be dropped for him to come in. He showed on the weekend how good the ball comes off his boot so i don’t think he’ll be too far off.
Kiddy is special as well. Let's not forget he would have won the norm smith if we had have won the 23 grand final. Talent wise, he's very very close to ashcroft and he's probably our best defender after andrews.

The sun will be down just after the game starts; it will be cold and get much colder. The temp drops fast here and with a wind chill it often feels several degrees below the stated temp.

9 to 19. Sunny. Light Winds. That'll be fine. I'm not sure you could ask for better in Tassie. If you're gonna complain about that then play a summer sport.

I run in conditions where the apparent temp is in the 2 to -2 range, a bit brisk to start out sure, but once you're warm it's nice. I find the conditions great for running. It's not like the old days where the full back & full forward don't move.

9 to 19. Sunny. Light Winds. That'll be fine. I'm not sure you could ask for better in Tassie. If you're gonna complain about that then play a summer sport.

I run in conditions where the apparent temp is in the 2 to -2 range, a bit brisk to start out sure, but once you're warm it's nice. I find the conditions great for running. It's not like the old days where the full back & full forward don't move.

Mate I actually live here, I am talking from experience. Hobart is colder than where I live and I'm at 400m above sea level.

Play a summer sport? Why do you think the AFL demanded a roof on the new stadium?

Hobart is colder than Launceston, it's a small city so no great heat sink like Melbourne.

I lived in Melbourne for decades and you have no idea how much colder it gets here.

Mate I actually live here, I am talking from experience. Hobart is colder than where I live and I'm at 400m above sea level.

Play a summer sport? Why do you think the AFL demanded a roof on the new stadium?

Hobart is colder than Launceston, it's a small city so no great heat sink like Melbourne.

I lived in Melbourne for decades and you have no idea how much colder it gets here.

With a post like that you could have at least referred to me as 'champ'

Edit:
why do I think the AFL demanded a roof? Because the forecasted conditions on Sunday are rare as rocking horse Sh!t in May. And, June, July & August are worse. So no excuses for the cold.

With a post like that you could have at least referred to me as 'champ'

Edit:
why do I think the AFL demanded a roof? Because the forecasted conditions on Sunday are rare as rocking horse Sh!t in May. And, June, July & August are worse. So no excuses for the cold.

I meant mate as a word I use every day here; in my world it isn't disparaging, but Tassie is like living in the 1970's.

And I guess you are right, just because I live here obviously means I don't know as much about my own state as someone from say Melbourne does.

Please don't respond as I won't.

Mates you're all champs Dayne Beams love youse guys.

Isn’t Hobart Australia’s second driest capital city? Dry weather might not be so rare, cold another story.

Regardless of conditions, hoping we don’t get complacent. Call me optimistic, but I see tomorrow as a danger game for the Pies resting so many against what should be a fired up Freo.

I meant mate as a word I use every day here; in my world it isn't disparaging, but Tassie is like living in the 1970's.

And I guess you are right, just because I live here obviously means I don't know as much about my own state as someone from say Melbourne does.

Please don't respond as I won't.

Lololol, free swing yipeeeee.

C'mon, grow up.

Isn’t Hobart Australia’s second driest capital city? Dry weather might not be so rare, cold another story.

Regardless of conditions, hoping we don’t get complacent. Call me optimistic, but I see tomorrow as a danger game for the Pies resting so many against what should be a fired up Freo.
Collingwood will take Freo to the cleaners. Longmuir might get the old "don't come Monday".

As for Hobart, yes 2nd driest capital city but actually the 2nd MOST when it comes to the TIME SPENT raining! Work that one out 🤷

Complacency 3kz, complacency.

We need fages to lead and go short sleeves and shorts in the cold Launceston weather.

View attachment 2308008
I agree with your sentiments about Fages. Shorts and t-shirt sends the right message to the playing group.

Collingwood will take Freo to the cleaners. Longmuir might get the old "don't come Monday".

As for Hobart, yes 2nd driest capital city but actually the 2nd MOST when it comes to the TIME SPENT raining! Work that one out 🤷

Could genuinely see Freo getting the chocolates.

Have a bad feeling about this one.
Our floor in terms of poor performance has lifted a bit this season. We seem to fluctuate in-game but don't normally drop the bundle altogether. It could be due to higher quality in our bottom 4-5 like LAshcroft, as well as players who have gone up a level this season like Fletcher.

More importantly if we turn up really poor, you need a high quality opposition like Collingwood who have stars across all lines to take advantage of it. I don't think North are at that level. So even if we splutter in-game, we should put enough on the board to get home on this one.

Forecast has been updated now to Min 9, Max 19. I'm not sure you could get better conditions for footy.

Late afternoon it'll be low teens. Might be a tad chilly if you're sedentary watching the game from the stands, perfect conditions for playing.

View attachment 2307741
More importantly will the pies be hot and the beer cold?

Our floor in terms of poor performance has lifted a bit this season. We seem to fluctuate in-game but don't normally drop the bundle altogether. It could be due to higher quality in our bottom 4-5 like LAshcroft, as well as players who have gone up a level this season like Fletcher.

More importantly if we turn up really poor, you need a high quality opposition like Collingwood who have stars across all lines to take advantage of it. I don't think North are at that level. So even if we splutter in-game, we should put enough on the board to get home on this one.
Freedom from injuries and confidence has a lot to do with it. Zorks discovered acapuncture and got his old body back. Bailey is well over his foot issue which restricted him last year. Answerth is the most injury free he's ever been in his career and playing with confidence. Instead of being worried about not playing his role and making a mistake the chain is off Ah Chee and he plays with supreme confidence. Washcroft is the best he's been since the ACL. Then as you say we have Fletcher and Levi really making an impact despite their relative inexperience. Plus Hipwood getting his confidence back post the OP.

List/injury wise we're much better off this year than last year at the same stage. Fingers crossed.