List Mgmt. Contracts/Trade/Draft Thread - 2025 Edition

Quick links
Players out of Contract 2025 (12)
  • Oscar Allen (19/3/99) - Signed a 3 year extension (2023-25) on an existing contract due to expire 2022 in May 2021
  • Campbell Chesser (27/4/03) - Signed a 2 year extension (2024-25) on an existing contract due to expire 2023 in May 2022
  • Tom Cole (28/5/97) - Signed a 3 year extension (2023-25) in May 2022
  • Rhett Bazzo (17/10/03) - Signed a 2 year extension (2024-25) on an existing contract due to expire 2023 in September 2022
  • Jayden Hunt (3/4/95) - Signed a 3 year contract (2023-25) in October 2022
  • Callum Jamieson (31/7/00) - Signed a 2 year extension (2024-25) in March 2023
  • Jamie Cripps (23/4/92) - Signed a 2 year extension (2024-25) in August 2023
  • Jack Petruccelle (12/4/99) - Signed a 2 year extension (2024-25) in August 2023
  • (R) Loch Rawlinson (1/6/05) - Signed a 1 year extension (2025) in September 2024
  • (R-B) Coen Livingstone (25/5/05) - Signed a 1 year extension (2025) in September 2024
  • (R-B) Malakai Champion (17/5/06) - Automatic 1 year contract (2025) when added as a Cat B Rookie in November 2024
  • (R) Jacob Newton (20/3/06/) - Automatic 6 month contract (2025) when drafted in May 2025

Provisional 2025 Draft order

Mini is a people person and would know Oliver from his Melbourne days. I'd trust him to get the best out of Oliver.

Could be a real 8-ball recruitment if we can get him for minimal trade cost or better yet as a salary dump if desperate to party and to part ways.
EFA

Isn’t parfitt a short term plug for the midfield? If that’s what we’re looking for why wouldn’t we take dom brew who’s averaging 30 disposals and 8 tackles in the tougher league vs parfitts 31/3.5 in the wafl?

Possibly because Parfitt is already over here so no relocation required for what might only be a few months

I also think we only go down that more experienced path if we decided to put Yeo on the inactive list which I don’t think we’ll do as the preference will be to hope Yeo recovers in time to play late in the year - even if it is only likely to be a handful of games

Our first choice will probably be someone younger in that 19-22 age bracket or thereabouts

Sounds like you’re coming around to my idea.
View attachment 2308106

Only problem is that with the addition of Tassie that leaves a 17 team competition which really isn’t in anyone’s best interests.
I knew I'd heard it somewhere. I bring it up whenever that topic is raised, good idea 👍

Mini is a people person and would know Oliver from his Melbourne days. I'd trust him to get the best out of Oliver.

Could be a real moneyball recruitment if we can get him for minimal trade cost or better yet as a salary dump if parties are desperate to part ways.
That's true. Could be perfect 👌

Can find it with easy and elite kick. Was BOG against the Pies ressies with 17
Listed players.

25yo doesn’t worry me and even fitness levels so much as a full preseason could fix that.

Sounds like speed might be his issue.

Really need a 2x msd pick with the right player doing down for the year. Only 3 weeks to go though.

I think he was joking, but probably still more financially viable than they are atm. 20k attendance is also significantly more than either GCS or GWS have ever averaged and the AFL continues to pump money into them
I read it as sarcasm and was extrapolating on his point.

The AFL pumps money into GWS and GC because they're greenfield. Those 150k fellows in the South West are already following footy. Switching them from Eagles and Dockers to the South West Sharks has no upside. But finding 20k people to attend a GC game every fortnight, with a flow on of non-member and non-attendee supporters that span from interested to mildly interested across 200k people, is a huge upside.

The Swans took 20 years to build a solid base. The general time line is,

onfield success -> pump the membership up -> onfield failure -> drop membership, but still higher than the OG base -> next wave of success -> membership to new heights -> onfield failure -> drop again, but higher that the last drop

The Swans pretty much had their base locked in by the time they won the 2005 flag. The sustained high ladder positions since, have absolutely locked it in. They also had the advantage of being geographically located near the Eastern Suburbs. Rugby League is pretty boges. Fat dudes running into each other.

The GC will take a bit longer. Lots of people on the GC are not huge on sport. I think they can do it in 30 year. The Giants are harder. It's Rugby League heartland. But make no mistake, this is the most important territory for the AFL. As soon as it's cracked they can make a move into Sydney's North Side.

Want to know peoples thoughts. AFL 2025 draft starts tomorrow and as a hypothetical Oscar does leave giving us pick 2 or 3. Who are we drafting with pick 1 and 2 or 3. GO!

Completely guessing as we haven’t even started the state champs. This who I think we take not who I necessarily would.

1) Greeves
2) Duursma

Listed players.

25yo doesn’t worry me and even fitness levels so much as a full preseason could fix that.

Really need a 2x msd pick with the right player doing down for the year. Only 3 weeks to go though.

Problem with slow and skillful is sometimes the skills get neutralised when they’re always under constant physical pressure due to being too slow. No idea if that applies to this bloke though, just a fan

Completely guessing as we haven’t even started the state champs. This who I think we take not who I necessarily would.

1) Greeves
2) Duursma
Agree on Duursma, think he'd be our type we'd be interested in. I don't think we'd have much interest in Greeves though, his kicking is average.

I think CDT would be of high interest to our recruiters.

The Harley situation is one I believe the club needs to learn from in terms of how it deals with promising WA juniors.

The club needs to get on the front foot with these kids and promise that no matter where they get drafted, 12 months later the club is going to secure them a great deal to come back and nominate WC was their preferred club.

The club needs to get into these kids minds that they won't need to worry too much about settling in if they don't feel comfortable.

This needs to be the new norm at the Eagles.

I'd be extremely disappointed right now if the club was not trying to Harley Reid the Dan Curtin contract.

Trade pick 2 for picks 10 and 15
Trade pick 3 for picks 8 and 20
Trade pick 10 for picks 18 and 24
Trade pick 15 for picks 20 and 30
Trade pick 8 for picks 16 and 21
Trade pick 20 for picks 25 and 35
Trade pick 16 for picks 31, 33
Trade pick 18 for picks 28, 37
Trade pick 20 for picks 27, 36
Trade pick 21 for picks 32, 41
Trade pick 24 for picks 38, 42
Trade pick 25 for picks 29, 50
Trade pick 30 for picks 43, 45
Trade pick 35 for picks 46, 48, 54
etc

We basically corner the R3 market, delist half our squad, and draft in half back flankers who have potential to play midfield.

The Harley situation is one I believe the club needs to learn from in terms of how it deals with promising WA juniors.

The club needs to get on the front foot with these kids and promise that no matter where they get drafted, 12 months later the club is going to secure them a great deal to come back and nominate WC was their preferred club.

The club needs to get into these kids minds that they won't need to worry too much about settling in if they don't feel comfortable.

Yep

I'd be extremely disappointed right now if the club was not trying to Harley Reid the Dan Curtin contract.
The issue we have is we have to cough up top 5 draft picks. Other club are in a better ladder position, meaning they don't have access to top 5 draft picks, already have a reasonably strong list, and can offer pick 8, pick 12 etc.

the timing isn't right for us. In 3 year's time, when we're start to climb, and already have top end talent on our list, go after expats.

Listed players.

Can he rove oppostion ruck dominance? . . This would be my priority if we were picking a msd.

Agree on Duursma, think he'd be our type we'd be interested in. I don't think we'd have much interest in Greeves though, his kicking is average.

I think CDT would be of high interest to our recruiters.
I would personally take CDT on what we have seen. It’s a high risk but high reward selection.

Sharp will come back into fashion during the state champs, he’s had a slower than expected start to the season but saw him starting to find some form in the last academy game.

Off topic but it’s going to be really interesting how WA choose there starting midfield and how the rotations look. It’s Vic Metro like in terms of depth.

Fred, Whan, Kelly, Swadling, Evan’s, Hallett and underager Robinson.

Hallett booted 4 and 24 disposals for Aquinas on the weekend and a mate watched the Hale game and said Robinson was a beast. Haven’t heard how Evans went.

Yep

The issue we have is we have to cough up top 5 draft picks. Other club are in a better ladder position, meaning they don't have access to top 5 draft picks, already have a reasonably strong list, and can offer pick 8, pick 12 etc.

the timing isn't right for us. In 3 year's time, when we're start to climb, and already have top end talent on our list, go after expats.

Hawthorn's first rounder is not a Top 5 pick.

Yeah. That thought has gone through my head aswell. Who knows what goes on behind the scenes, but from the outside it looks like the Victorians are a lot more aggressive about staying in the ear of Victorian kids who get drafted interstate than we are. It also looks like a co - ordinated effort to get their kids to tell interstate clubs not to draft them.

Getting Curtin off Adelaide will be very hard. They gave up a top 10 pick and a second round pick for him. Plus the 3 years and 40 or so games they will have invested him by the end of next year. They will want a King's ransom.