Willie Rioli "on leave" from Port Adelaide after social media post

This is all the fault of the bootlickers in the AFL media for bringing up those two empty threats from the past, there is only one reason I can think of why they did that.

The stupid AFL should've just fined Willie and forced him to stay off social media, and he could've played this week in the Showdown, now we miss one of the good players playing in a big game for no reason, and that pisses me off.

Is he even that good? Has kicked 30 goals in a season a couple of times but looks unfit and is obviously a destabilising unit

I'd put money on Willie will asking for a trade at the end of this year.
I wonder if one reason, port and the afl, might treat him so softly, is they worry he might just crack it and take off back to Tiwi, cause it’s all to hard……kinda like the first time he got in strife.

Imagine being so naivete to think this wasn't already the case...
The kool-aid crew has arrived.

Yes. Players sending death/violence threats to other players over social media is definitely a regular occurence..

Imagine being dumb enough to think that solely because it's your player who has acted like the ****head.

Booing players is not an inherently racist act. People booing Goodes was racist. But not because they performed the act - it was racist because of why they performed the act.
I feel like we're more or less agreeing here? My point was that it's telling that people feel the need to express their excitement to boo Rioli whereas Balta has been booed but there wasn't the same rhetoric surrounding how people 'can't wait' to boo him as we've seen in this thread.

With the added context of the treatment of Goodes, there's an obvious and inherent racial element to even talking about it when it's not spoken about for white players that have done shitty things, and the preemptive justification and celebration of the prospect of booing Rioli makes the action itself look a lot worse than it otherwise would be IMO.

Effectively, it seems that the same people that are decrying inclusivity measures that the league has undertaken are creating a link between the repercussions Rioli will face from the football public and his race.

I wonder if one reason, port and the afl, might treat him so softly, is they worry he might just crack it and take off back to Tiwi, cause it’s all to hard……kinda like the first time he got in strife.
Maybe. That he made it back last time was a surprise to me.

Then he pissed off from your mob because he reckons you let him down. Which is absolute bulldust. He let your mob down more than once yet still sees himself as the victim. Reckon he'll do the same to Port.

The media scream about mental health, player welfare etc. and then they do this.

Both Essendon and Geelong considered the issues resolved - no complaints and do not wish to lodge a complaint.
But now the media are bringing this up, creating a whirlwind of abuse (much of it racist) towards a player.

Nobody knows what was said to the Essendon or Geelong players, and the fact that there is no complaint suggests it was regulation crap that players talk to each other on the field.

Clearly the example on the weekend with the Dogs crossed that line, but to unnecessarily bring up other incidents and play this out publicly is exactly what the media should not be doing. I've said this time and time again, leave the players alone and stop pouring fuel on these issues.

I'm not at all defending what Rioli did, just wish the media would stop their bs.

The media scream about mental health, player welfare etc. and then they do this.

Both Essendon and Geelong considered the issues resolved - no complaints and do not wish to lodge a complaint.
But now the media are bringing this up, creating a whirlwind of abuse (much of it racist) towards a player.

Nobody knows what was said to the Essendon or Geelong players, and the fact that there is no complaint suggests it was regulation crap that players talk to each other on the field.

Clearly the example on the weekend with the Dogs crossed that line, but to unnecessarily bring up other incidents and play this out publicly is exactly what the media should not be doing. I've said this time and time again, leave the players alone and stop pouring fuel on these issues.

I'm not at all defending what Rioli did, just wish the media would stop their bs.
In he old days , stories like this sold papers now it clicks on the internet and 2min videos sent as dm and insta etc

Something tells me old mate didn't write this apology.

I say things from time to time on the footy field in the heat of the moment that I wish I didn’t and I’m continuing to work with the club on managing this moving forward.

Left out the part where he also said those things over a carriage service many hours after getting off the footy field.....

How do you think the media found out about this? Did the clubs via staff or players let them know or where they always aware and decided not to bring it to attention because AFL media is after all, quid pro quo.
Do you think maybe they considered it resolved because they thought it was just a one off and wasn't indicative of Willie as a person? That the club would pull him into line and there was no use to bring the AFL into it when they could sort it out between themselves ?
Clearly there was a complaint from the player. That is why both clubs at the time were made aware of it. The player (victim) probably did not want to push it further to the AFL for their own privacy and protection. The media has gone to great lengths to make sure no one has leaked the name of the other players involved. That could change but clearly the media believes that leaking the players names to the public will have a negative impact.

Rioli does not deserve racist abuse. Unfortunately, a story like this gives racists a reason to be pricks. But not punishing a player because they might (likely will) get abused from a bunch of dickhead bogans is not OK either nor does it solve anything.

The kool-aid crew has arrived.

Yes. Players sending death/violence threats to other players over social media is definitely a regular occurence..

Imagine being dumb enough to think that solely because it's your player who has acted like the ****head.

Imagine being dumb enough to not be able to read and comprehend the whole post.

I feel like we're more or less agreeing here? My point was that it's telling that people feel the need to express their excitement to boo Rioli whereas Balta has been booed but there wasn't the same rhetoric surrounding how people 'can't wait' to boo him as we've seen in this thread.

With the added context of the treatment of Goodes, there's an obvious and inherent racial element to even talking about it when it's not spoken about for white players that have done shitty things, and the preemptive justification and celebration of the prospect of booing Rioli makes the action itself look a lot worse than it otherwise would be IMO.

Effectively, it seems that the same people that are decrying inclusivity measures that the league has undertaken are creating a link between the repercussions Rioli will face from the football public and his race.
People booed because he pointed at a child and shamed her on tv, not because of anything indigenous

How do you think the media found out about this? Did the clubs via staff or players let them know or where they always aware and decided not to bring it to attention because AFL media is after all, quid pro quo.
Do you think maybe they considered it resolved because they thought it was just a one off and wasn't indicative of Willie as a person? That the club would pull him into line and there was no use to bring the AFL into it when they could sort it out between themselves ?
Clearly there was a complaint from the player. That is why both clubs at the time were made aware of it. The player (victim) probably did not want to push it further to the AFL for their own privacy and protection. The media has gone to great lengths to make sure no one has leaked the name of the other players involved. That could change but clearly the media believes that leaking the players names to the public will have a negative impact.

Rioli does not deserve racist abuse. Unfortunately, a story like this gives racists a reason to be pricks. But not punishing a player because they might (likely will) get abused from a bunch of dickhead bogans is not OK either nor does it solve anything.
Or using said abuse (which I'm sure happens and is abhorrent and needs to be stamped out) as a justification for his actions. David Koch needs to know when to keep his mouth shut sometimes.

He made a death/violent threat towards someone. He’s extremely lucky he wasn’t sacked on the spot/suspended for a very long time as most people in most professions would be.

And you are defending what he did.

In no way was the initial ‘punishment’ appropriate, even without considering the priors. The other incidents are absolutely relevant as he’s clearly a repeat offender. He should be suspended for a while as most believe he should but he won’t be.. so stop playing the victim. Your club has got off very easy here, as they did with the medical thing a few years back.

Imagine being dumb enough to not be able to read and comprehend the whole post.
Nice try. You’re the one deflecting and excusing death threats as trivial and a common occurrence on social media between colleagues. Try doing it to someone you work with, see how that works out for you.

Quit complaining. Port Adelaide and Rioli are extremely lucky here.

Willie Rioli "on leave" from Port Adelaide after social media post