News 2025 St. Kilda Media Thread

I had hoped that Wheeler would turn Sandy around, but to OUR benefit. I would hate for the alignment to fall apart and THEN for Sandy to get their shit together.

Maybe it's for the best, I think with the people we've got in the big chairs at our club currently, Saints have never been better placed to go it alone in the VFL.

A perhaps stupid question for those who know: how do AFL sides with stand-alone seconds teams in the VFL fill their list? Do these players have the right to get games in our AFL side?
Couldn't care less if Sandringham wins 10 VFL flags in a row. We need to get rid of them and form.our own reserves. Does us no favours.

Talks about having some moments he regrets with carlton coaching, I wonder if that creates some tensions with Brendan Bolton now at the club>?

It sounds more like he wanted clear feedback than having animosity. He's such a loveable player. Plays footy like a warrior and is all heart and soul.

I'm a sucker for a hardworking tough guy with a personality. It reminds me of the golden era of AFL. Stocker grew up a Saints fan, battled his demons, worked his way up off the canvas, mistreated by the enemy and plays like a beast. It's a super appealing narrative.

It sounds more like he wanted clear feedback than having animosity. He's such a loveable player. Plays footy like a warrior and is all heart and soul.

I'm a sucker for a hardworking tough guy with a personality. It reminds me of the golden era of AFL. Stocker grew up a Saints fan, battled his demons, worked his way up off the canvas, mistreated by the enemy and plays like a beast. It's a super appealing narrative.
Sign me up for the pilot of the tv-series
I would watch it

Talks about having some moments he regrets with carlton coaching, I wonder if that creates some tensions with Brendan Bolton now at the club>?

David Teague was coach for Stocker’s first 3 seasons and then Vossy was for his 4th.
Bolton was sacked the season before he started so should be all good.

The way Stocker speaks and plays seems like an obvious leader but not even in the leadership group at the moment. If he keeps playing like this and gets a long term deal seems like a no brainer to go into the leadership group and could even be captain material. Don't want to pile on Steele cause its easy at the moment but to have a captain that presents so well publicly ala Reiwoldt used to would be good for the club.

I agree with this. I always find it strange any media on the saints seems to have a different player put up every time. It’s important for clubs to have a clear spokesman, who embodies the brand you are putting out there.
Wilkie Or Sinclair speak well. Would like to see one of them represent the club in a majority of the player led media appearances.

I agree with this. I always find it strange any media on the saints seems to have a different player put up every time. It’s important for clubs to have a clear spokesman, who embodies the brand you are putting out there.
Wilkie Or Sinclair speak well. Would like to see one of them represent the club in a majority of the player led media appearances.
Don’t necessarily agree.
Train up a lot of them. Acquire a lot of confident young men.

Still believe Grant Thomas’ captains rotation was a master stroke - created more leaders every year.

Don’t necessarily agree.
Train up a lot of them. Acquire a lot of confident young men.

Still believe Grant Thomas’ captains rotation was a master stroke - created more leaders every year.
I wonder what the long term plan is from a leadership perspective. At the moment the leadership group is just all the older senior players. They would have to start identifying the next generation and start integrating them from next year onwards. Wilkie is the obvious next choice but is the same age as Steele.

Pou is the obvious one to earmark and start developing, maybe with a bridge like Stocker for a couple of years. If he can establish himself as a top line mid and signs long term by the end of the year I would tap him up. Seems very similar to Fyfe, who Lyon has plenty of experience with. The only other candidate I can see is maybe Windy.

How's Stocker's praise of RTB. Almost like someone with 15 years of senior coaching experience knows a thing or two...

Stocker said Lyon communicates evenly and consistently with all of his players, regardless of their position or experience.

He said not one player had a problem with his spray at quarter time of the loss to Brisbane Lions or decision to sub Hugo Garcia, who bounced back winning the Rising Star nomination in a commanding win over Fremantle last week.

“He (Lyon) is incredible in terms of his relationship-building, but he is not your best mate either and I have had trouble with that with my coaches in the past,” he said.

“I probably hadn’t got the feedback I needed and that is no one’s fault, really.

“But I have either been too chummy or not chummy enough, whereas Ross is clinical. He is cold with it.

“That also creates an element of equality across the list. ‘Steeley’ (captain Jack Steele) would get the same feedback as (first-year midfielder) ‘Hughy’ Boxshall.

One of the reasons I love GT so much, was how many real genuine leaders he created at St Kilda. Wish we could emulate some of his ideas,I think he was way ahead of his time when he coached.

The 78-gamer said before every match he visualises putting his body on the line and the prospect of being injured in the process.
“I have a deeply innate fear of coming off the ground feeling like I have shirked a contest or something like that,” he said.
“Those moments play an important role on game day because they can change the energy of how we are defending.
“If I’m to become a leader, my one-wood has to be at the forefront and that is my physicality, and while it is not everyone’s bread and butter, it is mine.
“So if it is going back with the flight, I am not worried about my safety because the reality is you are probably not going to get hurt like that anyway, so it is a very low percentage chance.
“But I am willing to take it.”

Before I read the article, I was going to reply in here that I can't see Stocker getting a long term deal because I reckon the way he plays will catch up to him before then. Hopefully it never does, I already love the way he plays footy, but after reading that article, my respect for him has gone through the roof.

To be so open about such an issue like that can only do good things for those who read it. Footy needs more people like Liam Stocker.

Love having him at the club. And honestly, to have him thriving at the club (after his issues) says to me that our off field is finally in a really good place.

One of the reasons I love GT so much, was how many real genuine leaders he created at St Kilda. Wish we could emulate some of his ideas,I think he was way ahead of his time when he coached.
Exactly.
He didn’t get much love for this idea from the rest of the competition but I think it was pretty inspirational.
So many leaders on the field.

TBH I think a rolling 2 year captaincy stint would be great. One season maybe too short for someone to really grow into. Could be great. Think Steele mentoring Windy or Pou (for example) to come in for the next two years while he’s doing it.

How's Stocker's praise of RTB. Almost like someone with 15 years of senior coaching experience knows a thing or two...

Stocker said Lyon communicates evenly and consistently with all of his players, regardless of their position or experience.

He said not one player had a problem with his spray at quarter time of the loss to Brisbane Lions or decision to sub Hugo Garcia, who bounced back winning the Rising Star nomination in a commanding win over Fremantle last week.

“He (Lyon) is incredible in terms of his relationship-building, but he is not your best mate either and I have had trouble with that with my coaches in the past,” he said.

“I probably hadn’t got the feedback I needed and that is no one’s fault, really.

“But I have either been too chummy or not chummy enough, whereas Ross is clinical. He is cold with it.

“That also creates an element of equality across the list. ‘Steeley’ (captain Jack Steele) would get the same feedback as (first-year midfielder) ‘Hughy’ Boxshall.

And seems to be consistent with what his past players have all said.

He was in many ways -I believe he was also the first AFL coach to implement community camps.

Brought in Monash to do sports science studies as well. He was underrated old Thommo.

I've heard a few funny comments about Bolton.
Most recently Billy Gowers ( New Rainbow Warriors Punter ), was asked if Malthouse was his most intimidating coach, and he said "nope, Bolton, he never talks to you, just stares up at you ", or something like that.

Exactly.
He didn’t get much love for this idea from the rest of the competition but I think it was pretty inspirational.
So many leaders on the field.

TBH I think a rolling 2 year captaincy stint would be great. One season maybe too short for someone to really grow into. Could be great. Think Steele mentoring Windy or Pou (for example) to come in for the next two years while he’s doing it.

He had the media hostile from the start because he was seen as the guy who orchestrated the down-fall of Blight and installed himself in the job.

RTB ain't that bad either.

I reckon any coach we can get a decent acronym on just instantly makes them a better coach.

Now for TDK ... definitely not TDL

He had the media hostile from the start because he was seen as the guy who orchestrated the down-fall of Blight and installed himself in the job.

and then woudlnt leave after 3 years as he thought he knew better.

I wonder what the long term plan is from a leadership perspective. At the moment the leadership group is just all the older senior players. They would have to start identifying the next generation and start integrating them from next year onwards. Wilkie is the obvious next choice but is the same age as Steele.

Pou is the obvious one to earmark and start developing, maybe with a bridge like Stocker for a couple of years. If he can establish himself as a top line mid and signs long term by the end of the year I would tap him up. Seems very similar to Fyfe, who Lyon has plenty of experience with. The only other candidate I can see is maybe Windy.
From what I hear Pou is a different cat and is in n way leadership material... Shame but true.