Finlayson - 3 marks
MG - 3 marks
Lord - 2 marks

Thilthorpe - 10 marks
Walker - 5 marks
Fogarty - 5 marks
My stats for goal kickers last night

It's not a secret Riley killed us. I hope Kane Cornes gets on his segment and talks about how we exposed the CROM and without Thilthorpe they're ****ed.

POTY (Round 9)Sum of GoalsAverage of Total
1​
Riley Thilthorpe
3​
60.50​
2​
Jeremy Finlayson
3​
48.00​
3​
Darcy Fogarty
3​
43.50​
4​
Josh Rachele
2​
28.00​
5​
Ben Keays
2​
44.50​
6​
Mitch Georgiades
2​
33.00​
7​
Sam Powell-Pepper
2​
27.00​
8​
Darcy Byrne-Jones
2​
44.50​
9​
Izak Rankine
2​
50.50​
10​
Connor Rozee
1​
73.50​
11​
Ryan Burton
1​
39.50​
12​
Jason Horne-Francis
1​
47.50​
13​
Alex Neal-Bullen
1​
35.00​

We're just so bipolar. Actually probably tri polar, we have God mode, absolute tank mode and the usual work hardery for longer mode. The gaps between them all is just phenomenal, from 100 point losses on one end of the scale to 100 point wins, depending on which side of bed we got out of.

I actually think this is a good thing. How many sides actually have a 'God mode'?

It makes sense that our players have motivational and effort issues because of how the club had been structured for a decade (Koch's we will never rebuild, Ken being satisfied, the board and leadership just happy being in the 8) and now being in a coaching handover.

My favourite part of the entire gameday thread was when davo said with complete earnest innocence that "we just need to work harder for longer than them"

Disappointed with the loss but can't fault the effort.

FWIW the most to take out of that game as a whole was how badly we exposed the Crows. Walker might look good some nights, but I reckon he's cooked. We exposed their midfield, but whether it's due to Adelaide's tight defense, or our inability to attack, we couldn't win the game. I thought we had our chances, but they also missed theirs too. What people don't realize is the shots we missed, we got back shortly after. Ultimately Thilthorpe won it for the Crows, and without him they're ****ed. I expect teams with better matchups to shut them down.

Since keeping stats on the team, I've come to realize how much we rely on 4-5 players, and then we have a heap of players who are 50/50 for a good game. Our bottom tier are below average. I refuse to pour all responsibility on coaches. Our list simply isn't up to scratch. Even if we won last night, there are some major issues that are going to expose us throughout the season.

I think in previous seasons we overperformed for various reasons. Yes we could have made the most of our opportunities like the Bulldogs in 16 but we didn't.

I thought Connor's game was everything we ask for last night. Threw everything at it. His speach at the end. Precise. Thank the charity, good game Crows. Walk off.

FWIW, a lot of our supporters here were talking about losing by 10 goals, or not even bothering to watch the game. The same as the Sydney game.
Fair points but our lack of being able to develop players (that aren't superstars) into consistent, ruthless performers during Hinkleys regime has been extremely disappointing.

I've made this point before, but name me a few players from ANY club in the last 20 years that didn't develop well, got delisted or pushed out, and became top level players consistently week in week out?

Development is crucial but at some point, every player needs to walk on their own. They can't be spoon fed forever. I put it down to not drafting the right players tbh. I'll give you an example. Dylan STevens, high draft pick, two clubs now and hasn't come on at all. Jackson Hately.

I did a quick search and could only really see Tyson Stengle, and Tim Membrey of notability.

If he comes back & doesn't compete well as a forward after a few games it has to be the obvious move. Whatever position forces him to be more competitive as he has a good skill set that we cant afford to waste. Move Rat forward again as the gorilla forward until an alternative emerges.
Yeah rat horrible set shot only concern. I just think no point hoping luko gona be the forward we want with the way we deliver inside 50s. Would be stoked if time proves me wrong

Would you not have played Lorenz or Jackson instead of both?
Was surprised Lorenz was dropped. Thought he showed some composure last week. Definitely a better option than McEntee. In hindsight with Rioli missing maybe we should have tried Burgoyne in his role. We needed creativity not dross.

Just wondering what the record is for the highest positive i50 differential in a losing side. Would be prepared to be we hold most of the top ten slots...

Despite this being a cornerstone of Hinkleyball, he's never thought to give our key forwards goal-kicking drills. If only we had a Club goal-kicking legend on the board or something like that...

Oh, and whilst i'm moaning, what about drills to lock down the ball when we have possession 10 seconds from the end of a quarter :rolleyes:? In what turned out to be a one-goal game, that mess right on HT was a disaster.

OK. Rant over. Back to following PowerLil's coundown with relish.

Pretty insane how our team is so player dependant.

No Rozee in the backline no rebound
No Rioli in the forward like no scores and pressure
No Aliir in the backline no intercepts
No Butters in the midfield no groundballs/clearences
No Dixon in the forward line no contested marking

We lose any of those key players and have someone like JHF have an off day the oppo piles on goals. Lord, Mead types just dont cut it let alone make the grade.

I was naive to this at the start of the season. Since running over the stats I've noticed we lack depth massively.

We've got 4 key players week in week out. the next 6-7 are 50/50. The bottom 11 players in the list are below standard. Our fringe players are not up to standard.

All teams have players that are irreplaceable. Collingwood excepted because they have such a strong team structure. They don't rely on Nick Daicos alone. Take Josh AND Nick out and it's interesting. Thilthorpe and Rankine out for Crom and they're ****ed.

I've made this point before, but name me a few players from ANY club in the last 20 years that didn't develop well, got delisted or pushed out, and became top level players consistently week in week out?

Development is crucial but at some point, every player needs to walk on their own. They can't be spoon fed forever. I put it down to not drafting the right players tbh. I'll give you an example. Dylan STevens, high draft pick, two clubs now and hasn't come on at all. Jackson Hately.
I'm not sure what you mean but if youre talking players from any teams - JPK from Hawks to Swans comes to mind straight away. Consistently good performers in their positions would include Crisp from Lions to Pies, Ward from Dogs to GWS, Mumford from Cats to Swans then Giants, Ottens from Tigers to Cats, Mattner from Crows to Swans, Keays from Lions to Crows. There would be heaps more examples.

I mean players who werent playing well and delisted. I remember people complaining about Nick Salter and Adam Cockshell but if we didnt develop them properly AND they were good then they would have been picked up.

Ward was always good. Went for money.

All of those are B to B+ players exception for JPK and Ward

My main point is its rare and to end up an A grader is very rare

Was driving back from the country ,last night.Listening to ABC radio.Despite the closeness of the Showdown.Allways thought we,would find a way to lose.
On a posotive note.A number of key players stepped up for the match.
Dont know what happens for the rest of 2025.No finals,end of a coaches 12 year reign.
Would like to thank Ken for his time rebuilding the club.But think he should walk away and hand over to Josh,this week.If 2025 doesnt improve under,Josh.
We look elsewhere for 2026.
Cmon Ken its time to go.Its the club interests over any one person.
Rebuilt the club? Hinkley? Carn. This false narrative has to stop.

I mean players who werent playing well and delisted. I remember people complaining about Nick Salter and Adam Cockshell but if we didnt develop them properly AND they were good then they would have been picked up.

Ward was always good. Went for money.

All of those are B to B+ players exception for JPK and Ward

My main point is its rare and to end up an A grader is very rare
Ok, but you did also say pushed out. Ward was badly low balled money wise so was totally undervalued as were all the examples I gave.

Another point Ill make is in my workplace we have guys come in with a reasonable base level and they quit after a month because they cant do the job despite all the guidance and support. Then we have guys who have zero experience and they take it upon themselves to take ownership of their own performance. You can give all the support in the world to someone but at some stage they need to walk on their own

Ok, but you did also say pushed out. Ward was badly low balled money wise so was totally undervalued as were all the examples I gave.
Sorry. I really meant players not considered part of best 22. For example Francis Evans. I usually see those guys as fillers.

A very frustrating player. Under McCrae that would have been coached out of him.

It's definitely a characteristic of a Hinkley side, carrying players like this for years and years, allowing them to remain razor-thin just because they have a good leg.

I assume but don't know if Champion Data have a +/- stat, especially for the CBA but also the team overall.

I reckon Butters might have the highest +/- on our team by a country mile. Whenever we have a purple patch, he seems to get amongst it and when the opposition get a couple of goals he is usually resting on the bench.

You can even look to Houston. With us, he is a star with great stats but with the Pies, he's another very good cog in the defence.

It is usually the same names who are in the majority of our scoring involvements.

We are terribly coached.

Highlight reel of Thilthorpe on the sunday footy show at 1:40

With a common theme of undersized defenders on him

In order of clips
  • Lachie Jones
  • No one
  • Aliir
  • Finlyason
  • Ryan Burton

(McEntee) did have a good moment in the 3rd (close to the goal line for us) when he got into Worrells head .. and Worrell complained to the umpires

sarcastic benedict cumberbatch GIF

Just wondering what the record is for the highest positive i50 differential in a losing side. Would be prepared to be we hold most of the top ten slots...

Despite this being a cornerstone of Hinkleyball, he's never thought to give our key forwards goal-kicking drills. If only we had a Club goal-kicking legend on the board or something like that...

Oh, and whilst i'm moaning, what about drills to lock down the ball when we have possession 10 seconds from the end of a quarter :rolleyes:? In what turned out to be a one-goal game, that mess right on HT was a disaster.

OK. Rant over. Back to following PowerLil's coundown with relish.
Our +27 clearance count would be up there higher than the i50 count. Unbelievable we lost a game we dominated that much.

Review Rozee's Port adelaide respond with a loss