Autopsy Round 9, 2025: Positives and Negatives vs Richmond

"He's put the dark days at West Coast behind him now, he was just under so much pressure and scrutiny there and it clearly was making him unhappy. He's back at home in Victoria now where he belongs and you can see how much of a weight that's taken off him - he's playing better footy and is much happier in this environment."

100% guarantee it or I'll delete my account*.

*just like Dark Sharks did.
Agree. And then the follow up story “West Coast should not have traded Harley as he is the sort of player that could have helped them climb back up the ladder. Poor list management…”

Two reasons why I don't think our umpiring is going to improve anytime soon:

(1) Bad teams get the worst umpires and for a variety of reasons get nothing from them e.g. no benefit of the doubt, sloppiness, no relationship with umps and inexperience drawing them.

(2) Richmond, famously, got nothing from the umps during their premiership years.

By all means push back on the Harley BS, but generally I think we've just got to cop it for now.
So it's true - I was asking that question before > do lower rung teams/games get paired up with lower rung coaches? That would explain so much...

Brockman cost us that game with his stupid push on a tigers player that was reversed by the umpire and resulted in a Richmond goal. Nothing else he did in the game made up for that act of gross stupidity.
That's just nonsense. He barely shoved him at all. I reckon you'd have a hard time finding a single example of a player giving away a 50 not getting a bit of a shove from the opposition for doing so. It's never reversed for that.

Also it was more of a double reversal, right? As in he not only said that’s now Richmond ball, he also said that’s now no longer 50.

Should have been reversed and marched back beyond the wing.

brocky shouldn't have shoved at the end of the day. Sadly you run the risk with afl umpires.
It "looks" bad to them.

Case in point, nankervis held his face whilst on the ground after Harley gave him a peck massage. Nank was clearly trying to persuade the umpire. Nank (tough bloke btw) knows he was a chance for a free that was never there. He tried to make it look bad

Boils down to the umpires setting an example for grass roots behaviour argument crap, coupled with I'm an umpire in 2025 and I need my feelings to be heard when I get my chance...

But I agree gizza, it's nonsense to think that brocky cost us the game for that.

brocky shouldn't have shoved at the end of the day. Sadly you run the risk with afl umpires.
It "looks" bad to them.

Case in point, nankervis held his face whilst on the ground after Harley gave him a peck massage. Nank was clearly trying to persuade the umpire. Nank (tough bloke btw) knows he was a chance for a free that was never there. He tried to make it look bad

Boils down to the umpires setting an example for grass roots behaviour argument crap, coupled with I'm an umpire in 2025 and I need my feelings to be heard when I get my chance...

But I agree gizza, it's nonsense to think that brocky cost us the game for that.
I have no idea who the umps were but we can guarantee they were not top shelf for such a seller dweller game.

I would say nearly 100% of the time someone has done what Brockman did the Ump says "you've got the 50 don't make me reverse it" NOT THIS TIME.

Yep

Commonsense umpiring would've been to just tell them both to pack it in.
Some of the push and shoving in The Showdown was heaps worse and none got reversed.

Not making a case for Brockman though, he has to be better than that.

Did we give away a free kick for contact with the umpire during a centre bounce?
Just saw Hough got fined $1500 for careless contact and not sure but I recall a free kick and umpire saying contact with umpire.
If so I can't actually recall seeing a free kick for accidental/careless umpire contact before.

Yep

Commonsense umpiring would've been to just tell them both to pack it in.
Some of the push and shoving The Showdown was heaps worse and none got reversed.

Not making a case for Brockman though, he has to be better than that.
It's not rocket science, if he had kept his hands to himself the umpire wouldn't have been able to reverse it.

Two reasons why I don't think our umpiring is going to improve anytime soon:

(1) Bad teams get the worst umpires and for a variety of reasons get nothing from them e.g. no benefit of the doubt, sloppiness, no relationship with umps and inexperience drawing them.

(2) Richmond, famously, got nothing from the umps during their premiership years.

By all means push back on the Harley BS, but generally I think we've just got to cop it for now.
Tigers got nothing from the umps but I haven’t seen any team get away with throwing the ball as much as that tigers side did. It was a genuine piss take and something really Important the AFL really needed to crack down on but they turned a blind eye on.

Did we give away a free kick for contact with the umpire during a centre bounce?
Just saw Hough got fined $1500 for careless contact and not sure but I recall a free kick and umpire saying contact with umpire.
If so I can't actually recall seeing a free kick for accidental/careless umpire contact before.
Yep
Pretty sure it was the last quarter.

Don't think it's paid too often.
Unless you're an Eagle of course.

Yep
Pretty sure it was the last quarter.

Don't think it's paid too often.
Unless you're an Eagle of course.
Right, so eagles player touches umpire it is a free kick against and a fine.
Richmond player makes contact with umpire and its just the fine.
YEP, sounds about right.

It "looks" bad to them.

No. You are wrong

The Richmond player flopped and the umpire got sucked in.

If it was the reverse and an eagles player was pushed and flopped the umpire would've said get up and stop staging.

No. You are wrong

The Richmond player flopped and the umpire got sucked in.

If it was the reverse and an eagles player was pushed and flopped the umpire would've said get up and stop staging.
Trainor clearly did flop.
I might be wrong bro, maybe youre right..
lets keep pushing blokes after the whistle and see how it ends up for us..

just a few minutes before the 100m reversal :rolleyes: Harley got pinged for holding the ball. As he layed on the ground the Richmond player who won the free, pushed Harley's back down as he was trying to get up...reversal ??? nope..pretty sure it was the same umpire as well

Tigers got nothing from the umps but I haven’t seen any team get away with throwing the ball as much as that tigers side did. It was a genuine piss take and something really Important the AFL really needed to crack down on but they turned a blind eye on.
Essendon are better at throwing handballs than Richmond, and they blatantly do it in front of the umpires and get away with it.

8 pts up with 3 minutes left in the 3rd with all the momentum..concede 2 late goals

then we didnt even manage a point in the last 8+ minutes left in the 4th
we dont know how to win (yet)

Autopsy Round 9, 2025: Positives and Negatives vs Richmond