Autopsy Cats lose to GWS by 4 points

I suppose if it's only greater Geelong that's not very big

Then there's probably surf coast, Bellarine and surrounds

Then Melbourne/Victoria, interstate etc

Would be an interesting breakdown because being in Melbourne I bump into random Cats fans everywhere

Yeah that's why I wanted to know if that's just greater Geelong or the surrounding areas.

Cheers for that.
Makes you wonder they didn’t upgrade the wifi when they upgraded the stadium. Surely it was the perfect time to do it.

Reports were that they were meant to upgrade the coverage along with the scoreboard upgrade and I'm not sure if that happened or not

I'm with Optus, sit in the Players Stand and haven't had too many issues this season, but I keep reading about those on Telstra having problems - makes me wonder if it's an issue with Telstra then

Reports were that they were meant to upgrade the coverage along with the scoreboard upgrade and I'm not sure if that happened or not

I'm with Optus, sit in the Players Stand and haven't had too many issues this season, but I keep reading about those on Telstra having problems - makes me wonder if it's an issue with Telstra then
Recon it is.

I wonder if a disproportionately high number of Geelong footy followers are on Telstra? (That would lead to worse localised oversubscription). It's plausible enough when you consider that Telstra retail used to give you the footy on the app for free - so a lot of footy people may have chosen or move to Telstra (I did) and then not bothered changing even after they gave footy the boot.

Issue is a Telstra one. I'm on Voda and have never had issues. Was streaming Kayo on my phone at the game Sunday without any problems.

FWIW getting 28,000 folks rocking up on Mother's Day right in between lunch and dinner time is a great result.
Add to that an interstate pop-up team with very little followers.
Like i said. A Great result.
This hang up some have on crowd numbers seem to miss that times are tuff.
Not for me or my ilk (the 50-60 year olds with the kids gone tribe)
But looking at my daughters who are in their 25-30 marks with good jobs, they even pass it up with free seating.
Food and beverage are way too expensive.
But they are what they are as everyone wants to make a good return on their outlay.
We have a ripping stadium if u ask me. But WITH SHIT MOBILE COVERAGE!!
For me. We don't play enough Vic sides down here for those of us members & our seats to have any real worth like they are at other stadiums here in Oz and especially around the globe.
Imagine a Geel v Coll game followed by a game vs Hawthorn then Carlton followed by Essendon & Richmond in the months of June and July.
The joint would be packed to the rafters!!
Until then... with games vs Freo, West Coast, Giants, Suns & Port aren't gonna cut it to put up a "FULL HOUSE' sign.
Just on another note.
I'd love the club to target Sunday arvo games (1-2pm) as they'd be a perfect time for most people to attend.
Anyways enough of my bantering BS.
Cheers folks and let's hope for a nice interstate bounce back win this weekend.

Question.

How much does the poor internet coverage affect people's decision to go to a game?

It pisses me off a bit sure, when you want to check stats or get in on the WhatsApp banter. But I take an old fashioned transistor radio and in the end, when deciding whether or not to go, it is 0% a factor.

Does it actually stop anyone from going?

Question.

How much does the poor internet coverage affect people's decision to go to a game?

It pisses me off a bit sure, when you want to check stats or get in on the WhatsApp banter. But I take an old fashioned transistor radio and in the end, when deciding whether or not to go, it is 0% a factor.

FWIW It Doesn't help... It's as annoying as hell in this day and age TBH.
I go coz i pay for a couple of yearly memberships with seats.
If i wasn't a paid up member with seats i'd be fifty fifty as i reckon the TV coverage is 10x better these days than being there for a few reasons... comfort of my lounge chair, food aplenty with cold beers that don't cost an arm and a leg, no traffic/parking hassles and lastly no irritating oppo supporters giving me the runs all day.
But But... i will say as youngster i was there week in week out... Princess Park Windy Hill Vic park Moorabbin even that cold Godforsaken place Waverly park.
SHYTE!!! I guess i am one of those old bastards now... BUGGER!!!

Im Vodafone and had no issues at all in the players stand
Could be Telstra?

Well that is part of the question I'm asking. I went to plenty of games before mobile internet was a thing. But now there is a generation where for many, being always connected is a way of life. I honestly don't know, but could the poor internet be a deal breaker for younger people?
I think the issue here is that it's 2025 - people for a variety of reasons have built their lives around being connected and being able to easily access information - and anyone sitting in the ground is within their rights to demand a better experience when they fork out big dollars for membership and seats. We're told it's a world class product (AFL football) so people rightfully demand a world class experience - not a third world experience with internet connectivity.

My biggest issue is that with Telstra it's basically impossible to access match stats or to stream your favourite radio call on any of the apps like Listnr / or via the AFL app (owned and operated by Telstra - how bizarre).

Someone posted a pic of the mobile 5G trailer - it made no difference to my internet experience on Sunday.

Well that is part of the question I'm asking. I went to plenty of games before mobile internet was a thing. But now there is a generation where for many, being always connected is a way of life. I honestly don't know, but could the poor internet be a deal breaker for younger people?
I'd say it is for some... actually there are a few youngsters i come across and know.
Look at this way.
Let's say u lose 2-4% potential members/walk ups. A small percentage i know.
That's 800 folks... up to maybe 1500.
So it all makes a difference. Even though it's small in percentage form. It a thousand seats.
1000 x $55 a ticket = 55,000 per game x 10 = half million bucks not going into the clubs coffers.
I am actually really surprised the Club hasn't gone harder at rectifying the fiasco that it really is in this day and age.
I might be off on a few points.
But i think we have a problem within the stadium and the GFC response 2 years on has been really underwhelming.

So it all makes a difference. Even though it's small in percentage form. It a thousand seats.
1000 x $55 a ticket = 55,000 per game
Not to mention potential food and drink sales, or the increased price they can ask for sponsorship when they have higher average attendances.

There was a time when memberships were not transferable, they soon realised this wasn't smart and do all they can now to get bums on seats.

That was a fun game to watch.
We 'almost' covered all of our holes.

Bews effort was crazy after 11 weeks off.
Although Duncans disposal was average again, he was running everywhere. Kudos.
SDK was a disaster.

But still, it was fun to watch.

I don’t agree with this.

Clearly when he was one on one with Hogan or ‘supposed’ to man him up, he was badly outpointed.

The guy had 21 touches though, had 10 contested, 11 intercepts, laid 4 tackles, got the ball basically all over the ground including the front half of it, and it was a clear strategy to try and use the threadbare defence we DID have, to push up the ground and stop the ball getting forward as much as we could and try and attack when we had it, which worked to some degree as we had 15 more inside 50s than they did and De Koning was a major part of that.

You take gambles in football and our gamble was that instead of playing back and letting the ball come to Hogan and Cadman and Riccardi 18 times or something directly and have them kick a dozen between them, do we push up and sit off them and hope we can intercept the ball before they get that chance and just do the best we can when it does get there. Unfortunately when it did get there, Hogan tore De Koning, and a couple of times O’Sullivan and O’Connor a new one.

It’s hard to have it both ways unless the player is Scarlett or Stewart who are among the all time greats, who can be both attacking and defensive weapons in the same game.

As for Duncan I’m not sure what game you were watching but his disposal efficiency was 84 per cent and his 4 turnovers was the lowest of any player on the field with more than 20 touches aside from Blicavs (1) and Whitfield (3)

I don’t agree with this.

Clearly when he was one on one with Hogan or ‘supposed’ to man him up, he was badly outpointed.

The guy had 21 touches though, had 10 contested, 11 intercepts, laid 4 tackles, got the ball basically all over the ground including the front half of it, and it was a clear strategy to try and use the threadbare defence we DID have, to push up the ground and stop the ball getting forward as much as we could and try and attack when we had it, which worked to some degree as we had 15 more inside 50s than they did and De Koning was a major part of that.

You take gambles in football and our gamble was that instead of playing back and letting the ball come to Hogan and Cadman and Riccardi 18 times or something directly and have them kick a dozen between them, do we push up and sit off them and hope we can intercept the ball before they get that chance and just do the best we can when it does get there. Unfortunately when it did get there, Hogan tore De Koning, and a couple of times O’Sullivan and O’Connor a new one.

It’s hard to have it both ways unless the player is Scarlett or Stewart who are among the all time greats, who can be both attacking and defensive weapons in the same game.

As for Duncan I’m not sure what game you were watching but his disposal efficiency was 84 per cent and his 4 turnovers was the lowest of any player on the field with more than 20 touches aside from Blicavs (1) and Whitfield (3)
Look, when you've had 4 goals kicked on you and the scores are close. Pull your head in and protect the area rather than kick chasing.
GWS were dominating us down the line and SDK had no influence.

It was a shambles.

I dont trust Duncans disposal anymore. I did give him Kudos.

I don’t agree with this.

Watching live without replay and live stats I thought SDK was ok
Far from our worst - but for the terrible effort on Riccardi for the last goal.

Hogan was exceptionally good.

Watching live without replay and live stats I thought SDK was ok
Far from our worst - but for the terrible effort on Riccardi for the last goal.

Hogan was exceptionally good.
I recall SDK putting in a couple of hard aerial contests as well, including coming down with the pill once or twice. So the talk of him still playing a bit 'scared' (for lack of a better word) surprise me.

Any defensive blunders were more about being indecisive about playing to intercept or defend I recon. I think he just got a bit lost trying to play Humphries'/Stewart's role whilst also defending.

There will come a time when the older profile of our fan base will trail off, and maybe the fortunes of the team on the field might too. All things considered, I think we are right to be disappointed with overall crowd sizes. The club need to find a way to keep people attracted to coming to the games.

I won't go into a rant now about it, and this should probably go in the membership thread, but there is an element of fans disillusioned with the way they get treated by the club. I'm not talking about on field performances, but the perception, well mine, and I know quite a few others feel the same, and that we are nothing but cash cows to them.

It might not matter to many, but a lot feel more invested when they feel valued by the club. I was bombarded with texts promoting the club raffle and wanting to buy tickets. I buy a 16 game membership every year, I have a reserved seat at Geelong, I buy a Premiership membership almost every year. Where is the thanks from the club? My membership pack consisted of a sticker, a lanyard and a $20 Cats Shop voucher. You get nothing for the Premiership Membership either, except an increasing cost for something that costs the club basically nothing to provide. Hell, we can't even get plastic membership cards anymore and have to download a different ticket to every game to get in.

I love the club and have been a member for 30+ years, but just once would I like to feel the club value that support.

Look, when you've had 4 goals kicked on you and the scores are close. Pull your head in and protect the area rather than kick chasing.
GWS were dominating us down the line and SDK had no influence.

It was a shambles.

I dont trust Duncans disposal anymore. I did give him Kudos.

Yeah that’s all well and good but when the coach is openly saying ‘we have a pretty mixed up defence at the moment so we made a conscious effort to try and win the game rather than ‘not lose it’’ that’s a pretty clear statement that his first instruction and modus operandi is to play positive football and not be stuck just guarding a man.

Yes I don’t disagree that in moments where he could have stuck closer to Hogan, he was disappointing. But saying he was a disaster would be akin to saying a forward was a disaster after they’ve kicked 3-4 goals because their defensive efforts were sub-par. You can’t just flog a bloke because one aspect of their game was disappointing and completely ignore the fact that another facet of it was actually really good.

Yeah that’s all well and good but when the coach is openly saying ‘we have a pretty mixed up defence at the moment so we made a conscious effort to try and win the game rather than ‘not lose it’’ that’s a pretty clear statement that his first instruction and modus operandi is to play positive football and not be stuck just guarding a man.

Yes I don’t disagree that in moments where he could have stuck closer to Hogan, he was disappointing. But saying he was a disaster would be akin to saying a forward was a disaster after they’ve kicked 3-4 goals because their defensive efforts were sub-par. You can’t just flog a bloke because one aspect of their game was disappointing and completely ignore the fact that another facet of it was actually really good.
Maybe I should have said that not having Humphries, Henry, Kolo, and Stewart created a disaster that made O'sullivan appear exposed (no problem with that), and it put SDK in a very poor situation.

Maybe that's nicer.

That is a very low % for having your own team in your backyard.

Local Geelong means Geelong town and not Ocean Grove/Surf Coast?
When our family went to the Save The Cats Sunday back when the outs were Ayres/Colbert, and the ins were Bomber and Benny Graham taking over as captain, we were told that the local Geelong supporter base was very fickle, and memberships had dropped way off (starved of succes syndrome?). It certainly inspired us to try and pay up as members every year since, no matter what, but what a team to support!! Second to none.

Am i the only one who doesn't actually use his phone during a match? I mean, internet is off? What do I do? I guess I'll just watch this game of football that is in front of me.
Think it probably lines up with the people that have to have thumping music after every goal rather then being able to
get engaged/immersed in the game.

Question.

I would at least want be able to contact my wife. I have young kids.

It’s not so much about the internet as it is about being able to sent a message or make a phone call.

But no, it’s never the sole reason I don’t go.

Autopsy Cats lose to GWS by 4 points