Autopsy Round 10, 2025: Suns get it done against plucky Hawks

Pretty good effort against the odds. Felt like a Cats game where everything just goes against you all night. Lucky bounces, arsey goals, crap umpiring… not to mention 5 changes having to travel to the sun to play.

We win this game 8/10 times.

However I acknowledge the suns are now tue greatest team of all time based in tonight’s commentary 🤪

Lost the same way we did to Port. Letting them out the front of contests.

They give a handball or break a tackle and suddenly we have no front on pressure.

Sucks that the side who is going to be our rivals for the next few years aren't there by their own wisdom but in spite of there terrible decisions.

Handout after handout after handout for these flogs.

Excellent effort. We lost this at selection.

Reckon we win if either Gunston (for Dear) or Meek (for Reeves) had played. CJ was horrible, Dear wasn’t ready and should not have played (back to VFL). Newk was awesome. Chol, Morrison, Moore and Ward very good. CMacD still a little out of form but worked his way into the game, Scrim some good moments. Sicily off again.

We are a very good team. We have talent. We have heart. A flag is not far away.

We just need to figure out what is going on in our clearance work - we've been getting spanked around the ground in clearances, and couldn't win centre square clearances tonight either tonight - which has usually been our get out.

Champion Data during the week said it was the one glaring weakness in our profile, being clearances and was again on show. It really hurts our ability to control a game, and gave the Suns so many easy goals out of the middle.

We need a fair rethink on our setup - even despite several outs. Worps was poor tonight, he really butchered it in patches - his form is really frustrating. Up and down a lot this season, whereas last season felt really consistent. Not the only passenger in the middle - but he's the most experienced, I expect better.
Missing Day really hurts us.

Montagna will be getting a please explain from Hawthorn this week, there’s a reason he is disliked by most footballers outside st Kilda

Sorry
Noodle
Morrison
Finn

Ain’t up to it, effort is there, but there are better players

I have no idea what to do with Sicily

I was listening/watching whilst at work so missed a fair bit but sounded that apart from 10 mins in the first we were the better team. I expected a worse loss than this, glad we were competitive. Sucks we couldn’t pinch it.
Not sure we were the better team. But we certainly have a genuine match winner in our side. Just need a couple to come back and a our captain to find some form or have a break from whatever is going on with him.

Umpires...

go fuck yourself middle finger GIF by IFC

Played 1 quarter of footy and nearly pinched it.
Don't think it's players drinking their own bathwater, but rather players being a bit too relaxed. In sports psychology you have the arousal curve, where if you're too switched on or not switched on enough you aren't ready to perform.

Midfielders positioning was not there tonight, which allowed GC to run out of and through the middle with relative ease.

Chol has shaken the cobwebs.

Would love to see Watson given license to go into the middle when we are struggling for pressure. Might rob us slightly up forward of a spark (was the spark tonight), but might also be what we need to stop the easy exits.

Love the Wiz - he has purple patches but would love to see him become a consistent threat rather than just fading in and out of it- forget he’s such a young player- will only improve with time and experience…

Media will now spin that hawks unable to beat a top side and the goals from frees will be highlighted again
Will they highlight they 2 false frees for throwing in the first that the umps were too slow of thinking to see?

We tried so hard and you have to admire our courage.
Just need to hang in for the next few weeks, especially until Day comes back.
We should have played Gunston, half cooked he may be but would have been a better option than Cal.
Our captain is a serious concern, we needed leadership from him, he gave us donuts. Time to pass the baton on at the end of the year to Newk.

Disappointing result, but I think we are building into the season.

Plenty to like, and plenty to improve on.

Wiz first half 🔥
One of Ward’s best games
Newc was just huge
BMac showed a bit in the last quarter and a half.

Wish we could get them back at the G to tear them apart.

I actually don’t feel so bad. Thought we’d be smashed, but brought it for 4 quarters. Proud. Things I took away:
-Scrimshaw is a big plus
-Weddle is a natural CHB (Knights people… Knights)
-we didn’t capitulate, and I love that
-when Watson’s on, he’s on. Future game breaker for hopefully many years to come

I’m so bloody furious. Reeves at 211cm get monstered all game. He has no aggression, no impact, and the bottom line Meek plays that game we win easily. It got embarrassing the further the game went on. We lost by 8 points!!!!!!!! Argggggghhhhh

Not at all worried about the loss, actually think we played better in this game than most of our wins.

I am worried about how much this game will take out of the players with the games to come.

But nothing but pride in the way we played in really really difficult conditions against a team that was fully acclimatised to the conditions.

Watson and Chol were awesome, Dear will be better for the run. We need Nash and ultimately Day to really challenge against teams like this

Autopsy Round 10, 2025: Suns get it done against plucky Hawks