List Mgmt. 2025 List Management discussion

We paid him a helluva lot of money for that one game.
Money needs to be spent somewhere. Everyone shits on Essendon for not winning a final for however many years, at least we've got one up our sleeves lol.

At the end of the day, did we lose any players because of paying Hannebery? Did we have salary cap issues? I don't think we did.

The Hannebery trade clearly didn't work out, but I don't see it as the disaster others do. It was a decent idea.

Money needs to be spent somewhere. Everyone shits on Essendon for not winning a final for however many years, at least we've got one up our sleeves lol.

At the end of the day, did we lose any players because of paying Hannebery? Did we have salary cap issues? I don't think we did.

The Hannebery trade clearly didn't work out, but I don't see it as the disaster others do. It was a decent idea.
I know. I know. We had to spend the cash.
But seriously Blind Freddy AND his guide dog could see Hannebery’s body was cooked.
Never mind the time he supposedly fell off his sisters back step or something and couldn’t play for a while 🙄
The debate on here was full on and heated.

But seriously Blind Freddy AND his guide dog could see Hannebery’s body was cooked.
Never mind the time he supposedly fell off his sisters back step or something and couldn’t play for a while 🙄
It wouldn't have been heated if I wasn't always arguing with everyone about him :tearsofjoy:

Pittonet was absolutely destroyed by Grundy tonight, who these days is a shadow of his peak. TDK is probably Carlton's most important player and they win that game with him playing, I think tonight is a good example of why he is worth pursuing. If he does leave, Carlton are sleepwalking into a disaster at the ruck position because Pittonet is so far off an AFL quality ruckman.

It's a damn shame. When he did play for us, his composure and ball use was miles ahead of anyone else in the side. It was a bit like "ah so that's what it's like to have a class player playing for us"

In general I'd say that most players can execute skills to a high level without pressure, the difference being composure to do the same under heat. I wonder if Dymples philosophy on good hands is somewhat behind this...
Anyways, apparently Hanners shit all over standards under Richo and that was one of the key reasons to give him the arse. Worth every penny for that alone IMO.

I hope after watching this you’ll see why I want him up forward with King and Sharman.

Remember this was an elimination final aswell.

I’ve counted 7 scoring chances.

He definitely looked heaps better forward than back in that match. He made a lot of skill errors early in defence and plenty of dropped marks. He played his best footy in defence but looks a liability there in that.

I think the point is he can grab the game by the horns from any position. Seriously could have kicked 7 in that game.

Plays like curnow imo.

I think the point is he can grab the game by the horns from any position. Seriously could have kicked 7 in that game.

Plays like curnow imo.

It reminded me of how raw he is. He's absolutely sky high on potential but don't think he's going to be an instant hit the ground running type. Looks like he needs some basics drilled well but has all the natural gifts to be an absolute star.

Also made me want him forward though. He looked much more damaging ahead of the ball and his turn overs in the back half looked pretty terrible.

Curnow is probably a good comparison with his hands really good overhead. We might need to redeploy Owens or Sharman if he plays forward though. Can't really play that many third tall sized marking forwards.

I reckon we will open a spot
Clocks ticking on putting someone on the long term injury list. I sure hope the club pulls their finger out before the deadline. We have had probably more success from our mid season drafts than any other club recently.

It reminded me of how raw he is. He's absolutely sky high on potential but don't think he's going to be an instant hit the ground running type. Looks like he needs some basics drilled well but has all the natural gifts to be an absolute star.

Also made me want him forward though. He looked much more damaging ahead of the ball and his turn overs in the back half looked pretty terrible.

Curnow is probably a good comparison with his hands really good overhead. We might need to redeploy Owens or Sharman if he plays forward though. Can't really play that many third tall sized marking forwards.
Also think that Tauru will benefit from time in the gym putting on muscle mass. The later start to his playing career may well serve to extend it. A bit more weight on his side when he goes for those pack marks will definetly be beneficial.

In general I'd say that most players can execute skills to a high level without pressure, the difference being composure to do the same under heat. I wonder if Dymples philosophy on good hands is somewhat behind this...
Would you please explain this?
Sounds interesting.

Clocks ticking on putting someone on the long term injury list. I sure hope the club pulls their finger out before the deadline. We have had probably more success from our mid season drafts than any other club recently.
Who is most likely? ( And please don’t say King).

Cordy?

yep.
Blind Freddy did know, and Garry Lyon lost a bit of respect for me for saying it was a good idea in a faux-measured voice. At the time.

We know we are part of the franchise and are here for legacy reasons. Poor 'ol Fitzroy got screwed and they know they damaged the brand.

We are like that regional rail line that the authorities want to shut down, but can't for political reasons. In the meantime, we get old rolling stock and swinging gates at the crossings. Perhaps the public will eventually 'get it' that we just had to go.

So Sunday twilight.

After a demonstrably awful couple of Friday nights.

So how do we make the most of it?

Coaches can't say much anymore. Grant Thomas knew how the Barry Hall love punch cascaded into the next season, and onwards. Nothing can be said.

RTB needs life after coaching. Media, maybe? Maybe not.

At least our president punches.

Carlton are going to get a dose of life after TDK over the next few weeks and if last night was anything to go by they are gonna ramp up their efforts to keep him.
What was his issue? Likely to keep him out for long?

They can only have so many players on the list. We should be looking to pick some off. Alex Davies probably one that could be picked off.

Gruzewski at GWS is one I'd chase over Leek Aleer even. Wardius from them too. He's a gun forward, not tall but plays a bit like Membrey.

The midseason guy I really want is Donovan Toohey from Coburg. Good kick and a high production mid type, still young too.
So we get scraps while they continue to get free top 10 picks. No wonder I don't bother going to games any more

100%
You’ll get our scraps, and you’ll be grateful…

Carlton are going to get a dose of life after TDK over the next few weeks and if last night was anything to go by they are gonna ramp up their efforts to keep him.
I don't see what their options are.
Assuming he's not going to forego millions of dollars in guaranteed wages.
They either blow up their list to keep him or downgrade their list to use the compensation pick they'll get for him.