Aug 13, 2018
South Melbourne

Roo channeling his inner cooker.

• Dogs still would have finished 7th that season
  • Adelaide lost at home to West Coast is last H&A round of the season

Considering the controversy regarding umpires at present pretty poor to raise such an issue.
I agree, Roo making those comments is embarrassing.

Nevertheless, 17 frees to 1 paid by 1 Umpire is unusual to say the least.....

comedy fan GIF by CollingwoodFC

Roo channeling his inner cooker.

• Dogs still would have finished 7th that season
  • Adelaide lost at home to West Coast is last H&A round of the season

Considering the controversy regarding umpires at present pretty poor to raise such an issue.

I don't mind it, won't change history but the AFL need to do better than just ticking off performances like this at the time.

I’m happy for umpires to be reviewed after each game. Especially if some decisions are controversial or an explanation may be warranted.

I just don’t think throwing out conspiracy theories, especially in today’s age, is helpful.

If he's on the run and they want to try a sting operation, they should just get one of the Hawks smalls to go out to all his known haunts and start ducking. As an ump, he won't be able to stop himself from jumping out to try and give them a free kick.
Shouldn't be hard to find him in Bogota. Just look for the bloke running backwards

I’m happy for umpires to be reviewed after each game. Especially if some decisions are controversial or an explanation may be warranted.

I just don’t think throwing out conspiracy theories, especially in today’s age, is helpful.

Although I agree with this sentence, and to base a conspiracy theory on a 17-1 count in isolation would have been silly...

In this case, some pretty compelling evidence has come to light which supports a theory that it wasn't just bad umpiring and bad luck to the Crows. Not exactly a smoking gun, but it makes it more plausible.

Roo was stupid to add in the GF crap, just stick to the facts.

The other two umps from the same game (by memory) were pretty even with their free kicks awarded.

Was a statistical impossibility for one umpire to be 'in control' of the game whilst one team gave away 17 frees and only received 1, when the other two umpires controlled the game it was close to 50/50 in frees.

The more the spotlight is focused on the ineptitude (possible corruption) of the umpires/umpiring department the better.

Its interesting with umpires and their off field behaviour in relation to honesty

Darrell Hair , and im not for one moment questioning whether any of his decisions were biased etc , i think it would be fair to say he was high profile and at times a controversial Test Umpire

But when he retired he did get convicted of stealing , nearly 10k , working in the Central West of NSW , Orange i think , in a bottle shop , what he was doing to square away the till with what he stole in cash was enter all these non existent refunds , like a customer returned a bottle of whisky so he he gave the customer back his $100 , but instead he would pocket the $100

Its interesting with umpires and their off field behaviour in relation to honesty

Darrell Hair , and im not for one moment questioning whether any of his decisions were biased etc , i think it would be fair to say he was high profile and at times a controversial Test Umpire

But when he retired he did get convicted of stealing , nearly 10k , working in the Central West of NSW , Orange i think , in a bottle shop , what he was doing to square away the till with what he stole in cash was enter all these non existent refunds , like a customer returned a bottle of whisky so he he gave the customer back his $100 , but instead he would pocket the $100

Genuinely one of the oldest frauds in the book, and unless you are at a very disorganised company, only lasts until the next stocktake.

I bumped into that dude at a pub one arvo a few years ago.

I recognised him and said g'day. He chewed my ear off for the next 15 minutes. I couldn't get rid of the bloke.

He seemed to bask in the glory of some guy recognising him.

Sidebar...I actually think he was there to meet a random Tinder date.

Can someone explain the argument from Roo here? He's saying that had Adelaide won that game they would have finished fourth where they would run into Sydney in the first week of finals. Since Sydney beat them anyway they most likely lose that week and head to a semi. Either way they are winding up in the same position.

I mean the thing about Roo is that he's not very bright. Give him a break.

Scandal Troy Pannell fraud