List Mgmt. 2025 List Management discussion

I’m assuming Carlton will try to match and won’t be happy with compo as they’ll go on their late season piss easy run that will push them towards Finals.
Obviously if they don’t match it won’t matter and can be left out of the conversation.

This is a new era, teams won’t accept compo if they think they can get better.
They’ll be ecstatic with their compensation because they don’t actually have a frdp this season - and they can’t afford to keep him at what we’re offering.

Won’t need to give the Blues anything for him.

They’ll be ecstatic with their composure because they don’t actually have a frdp this season - and they can’t afford to keep him at what we’re offering.

Won’t need to give the Blues anything for him.

In which case I hope you do screw them over. Tom surely has to see Saints long term future is way better for him than Carlton’s

How do cats fans reconcile their salary cap? Marshall wouldn't be cheap, how do you think you would fit him into that team?
$64 million question!
Hmmm 🤔

Hey mate just jumping in for context.
Not sure on Saints NGA’s but I know this for Cats.
If Jesse Mellor goes Round 1 as NGA then Cats have no incentive to keep it.
Here’s something I came up with, not that it will happen so please don’t shoot me Saints fans.

Cats give this year’s 1st for Marshall to Saints, Saints give Cats 1st to Port for Bergman, Saints get Picks for NAS from Crows, Saints send 1st to Carlton for TDK. Saints keep Crows 1st and future 2nd send own first for TDK.

Saints walk away with: TDK, Bergman and keep Crows 1st and Future 2nd Rounder from NAS deal
Cats walk away with: Marshall
Crows walk away with: NAS
Port walk away with: Cats 1st
Carlton walk away with: Saints 1st
NAS will sign a contract (4yrs) to get him to FA.

Thats why we are offering him $1.7mil because Carlton cant match that amount.

Anyway, I doubt anyone would be happy for a late teens pick (which will drift out to mid 20s after all the bids) for a contracted Marshall. He's worth more than that
Marshall's value to the Saints depends a lot on whether we get TDK or not.

Get TDK and we don't really need him and we would be more likely to let him go for a bit less than you'd normally expect.

Marshall's value to the Saints depends a lot on whether we get TDK or not.

Get TDK and we don't really need him and we would be more likely to let him go for a bit less than you'd normally expect.
Whether we get TDK or not, a mid 20s selection should not be considered enough for one of our contracted, best players.

Neither is paying someone $800/900k to play for Sandy. If we sign TDK, Marshall will want to move on and we make it happen.

If we were thinking of playing them together, we'd have used Marshall fwd more this year to test the theory.

Neither is paying someone $800/900k to play for Sandy. If we sign TDK, Marshall will want to move on and we make it happen.

If we were thinking of playing them together, we'd have used Marshall fwd more this year to test the theory.
Your theory that we'd use a proper game to test it out falls down when we have no other real option to ruck an AFL game.

We do - he's listed as the emergency for Sunday.

And currently we don't have a fwd over 193 cm, have lost 4 out of the last 5 so effectively our season is stuffed so why not test two things at once.

Can Heath actually play as a ruck?

Can Marshall actually provide value if he plays fwd?

Maybe the answer will be - get TDK, trade Marshall, keep Heath as back up only.

He's hiding from our absolutely embarrassing form line by blaming the AFL and the northern clubs, complaining about the media now. He needs to take responsibility for his role and get on with making a plan to dig our way out of it.
I find Lyon just always matter of fact to be fair - he’s right we’ve turned list over, played kids but S he said we are inconsistent…thats fact on top of sone shit injuries ..hard to argue with it

Taking away TDKs salary.

If someone said to me would I trade marshall for TDK and late first rounder/ early 2nd, I would absolutely jump at it.

It's a net postive x 2, better ruckman, younger and then have the chance of drafting another good kid.

In regards to the contact, I have been told nearly 400k is outside of the salary cap and is a ASA

Marshall has been one of our few match winners and is a heart and soul type. Very dangerous losing those for a mercenary. Part of the problem for a young side like GC and GWS is that there isn't a culture or a brand to walk in and attach to. Marshall looks like a popular happy bloke. Cut that out at your own peril.

Hey mate just jumping in for context.
Not sure on Saints NGA’s but I know this for Cats.
If Jesse Mellor goes Round 1 as NGA then Cats have no incentive to keep it.
Here’s something I came up with, not that it will happen so please don’t shoot me Saints fans.

Cats give this year’s 1st for Marshall to Saints, Saints give Cats 1st to Port for Bergman, Saints get Picks for NAS from Crows, Saints send 1st to Carlton for TDK. Saints keep Crows 1st and future 2nd send own first for TDK.

Saints walk away with: TDK, Bergman and keep Crows 1st and Future 2nd Rounder from NAS deal
Cats walk away with: Marshall
Crows walk away with: NAS
Port walk away with: Cats 1st
Carlton walk away with: Saints 1st

Yuck. We are the worst list in AFL next year at that point. Got a significantly worse playing list than the one not performing now.

We do - he's listed as the emergency for Sunday.

And currently we don't have a fwd over 193 cm, have lost 4 out of the last 5 so effectively our season is stuffed so why not test two things at once.

Can Heath actually play as a ruck?

Can Marshall actually provide value if he plays fwd?

Maybe the answer will be - get TDK, trade Marshall, keep Heath as back up only.
Dodson is the lad who will develop into a top ruckman. I can’t see Heath making it.

Marshall has been one of our few match winners and is a heart and soul type. Very dangerous losing those for a mercenary. Part of the problem for a young side like GC and GWS is that there isn't a culture or a brand to walk in and attach to. Marshall looks like a popular happy bloke. Cut that out at your own peril.
That’s the dilemma we are in - GC etc have multiple options multiple chances to get it right …we have to take calculated risks to even stay competitive….shit sandwich
I agree Marshall seems popular across the group ….question is: do you get more from the TDK transaction with Marshall as a 70/30 forward first ? Or a trade for an additional player in another area of need ?
I don’t like trading Marshall ….butbif I can turn him into a top pick or another strong mid….very tempting

So pay up big time because of age.
Marshall could play another 4 years and is in a position of greater need. And not just for us. Cats would pay well for him, if we even decode to trade him.
Bergman, a “maybe” mid, hbf who’s not going to move the needle that much for a FRDP?
Not for me thanks.

Bergman can't kick. I'll spew if we chase him for anything but chump change. He's another Port sell while his value is high special. Surely we see them coming this time. We are like a hayseed farmer that gets done by a snake-oil salesman every time

Oh btw Josh Battle bathed tonight against good side ….

I’m assuming Carlton will try to match and won’t be happy with compo as they’ll go on their late season piss easy run that will push them towards Finals.
Obviously if they don’t match it won’t matter and can be left out of the conversation.

This is a new era, teams won’t accept compo if they think they can get better.

With what money? You do realise Carlton can't just give him a $1 million Cotton On sponsorship...o wait, you are from Geelong

Bergman can't kick. I'll spew if we chase him for anything but chump change. He's another Port sell while his value is high special. Surely we see them coming this time. We are like a hayseed farmer that gets done by a snake-oil salesman every time
Watching Pies players who just consistently hit the target I’m absolutely convinced - can you kick has to be our no 1 target criteria
Houston Daicos Pendles Sidebottom Lipinski ….they just hit targets …
Forget the high priced hacks …

Watching Pies players who just consistently hit the target I’m absolutely convinced - can you kick has to be our no 1 target criteria
Houston Daicos Pendles Sidebottom Lipinski ….they just hit targets …
Forget the high priced hacks …

Yep. Pies show how to do it. Heaps of solid experienced soldiers with good skills and footy IQ. A few absolute game breakers.