Review 2025 National Draft Thread | Dovaston #16 / Thredgold #26 / Mikunda #48

Hibbins-Hargreaves looks like a jet. But more that half fwd or wing. Looks classy.
Called it a couple of weeks back. Not really surprising given his top 10-15 ranking, but he was all class

WA boys
Fred Rodriguez - 184cm mid? Key factor in the win, always involved in good things. 65% DE.
Toby Whan (Freo) - Impressive glimpses from him. 78% DE.
Cody Curtin - Monster at 200cm as a forward/ruck. Spent some time down back as well. 89% DE.
Wes Walley (WCE) - Small fwd with speed and composure.
Farrow - Got a bit of Hardemann about him. Played more as a mid than half back.
DE a bit mixed between them all. Some 60's and some 70's.
Good contributions from Kelly (100% DE), Banfield (64% DE), Walker (63% DE), Oscar Willis (69% DE), Sam Swadling (42% DE) and Max Thomas (48% DE), but some of them butchered the ball a little. Work to do but showed good glimpses.

Vic Country boys
Hibbins-Hargreaves - Could play mid/wing/hbf/hfwd. Classy. 88% DE. 4 goals straight.
Lindsay - Mid/Wing/half back with the run and left foot. 62% DE surprising but takes more risky kicks?
Duursma - Played well, a few poor kicks/decisions early, but got better as the game went on. 80% DE. Utility.
Riley Onley - 194cm. Flashes of power and dash. Worked his way into the game. 50% DE needs to improve.
Mitch Stevens - 185cm defender. Lockdown or more hbf? Impressed all day. 74% DE.
Tairon Ah-Mu - 198cm. Mostly ruck but took a few grabs fwd. 2 goals. Bit to work with there I reckon.
Harry Moon - 196cm Tall Defender. Area of need for us, but need to see a bit more of him. 67% DE.
Harry Dean (Blue FS) - Pretty impressive apart from a few bad moments.
Sinnema (Pies NGA) - Left footer that showed some good glimpses. 60% DE.
Cody Walker (2026 draft Tigers NGA/Blues FS) - Looked a real talent for next year potential #1.
Noecleous (2026 draft) - Small fwd that looks to have some class about him
Will Malady (2026 draft) - 190cm fwd, may be still growing? Impressive early

I stopped posting them in here as I assumed you weren't going to be picking in the first round. Is there a chance you'll be getting back in?

Happy to post stuff in here if you guys want it.

We love your work mate! Always appreciate your content in here.

I’d say if we can work it we’ll be looking to trade up using our current draft hand.

Dovaston gets his first after a bit of a shank kick from Ludowyke.

Conditions are obviously pretty tough, but it’s hard to get excited about this draft crop.

One thing that’s standing out to me is there there are no obvious high end half backs (other than Lindsay) or key defenders.
Small forwards in open draft ??

Dovaston gets his first after a bit of a shank kick from Ludowyke.

Conditions are obviously pretty tough, but it’s hard to get excited about this draft crop.

One thing that’s standing out to me is there there are no obvious high end half backs (other than Lindsay) or key defenders.
Agreed.. thought I was losing my mind but this is some of the worst standard of champs footy I’ve seen. No one really standing out to me.

I like Leray he’s a powerful player and moves well for his size. Reminds me of Finn Callaghan (worse prospect but similar style of player).

Agreed.. thought I was losing my mind but this is some of the worst standard of champs footy I’ve seen. No one really standing out to me.

I like Leray he’s a powerful player and moves well for his size. Reminds me of Finn Callaghan (worse prospect but similar style of player).

This is the worst Metro side I can recall.

Outside of Greeves I don’t think there is top tier midfielder in their squad.

He’d be the best key defender by a fair margin imo. Top 10 quite comfortably I would’ve thought.
Hope so - the club is banking on that call. It will genuinely be one of the great draft wins or a disaster for us.

Not sure if this has been posted by wrote up on Sam Harris’s game for Calder a few weeks back - note he was named in Calders best in the next two games after this

#18 Sam Harris
Midfielder/Forward | 179cm | 17/01/2008

Stats:
25 disposals, 7 marks, 6 tackles, 5 clearances, 3 inside 50s, 2 rebound 50s

One that plenty of North Melbourne fans will be tracking over the next 18 months, the son of Daniel played with 100 per cent intensity at every contest he was around, repeatedly applying pressure from stoppage and in the forward 50 to force a few errors from the opposition that teammates capitalised on. Harris showed composure in congestion and some excellent vision with his ball use by hand, releasing teammates forward of the contest or already on the move to keep the ball moving forward with pace.

DRAFT CONCERNS

Club recruiters fear that this year’s national draft – and the Victorian draft pool – is one of the weakest in memory in a year where Richmond and Essendon have multiple first round picks.

Vic Metro was smashed in their first Under 18 championships game by South Australia, while Vic Country was also beaten by WA.

Multiple recruiters told the Herald Sun they were worried by the lack of elite talent in the Victorian pool as they continue to push the AFL to boost funding in the Coates League.

New football performance boss Greg Swann will have control of the talent pathways when he takes over and clubs will urge him to invest in Victorian football.

They have now been shut out of northern markets given academies and while last year’s draft was a blockbuster the open pool of players continues to shrink.

Clubs continue to snap up players who have come through established pathways because one of their parents was born overseas, with former SANFL star Greg Mellor’s son Jesse academy-linked to Geelong.

Victorian clubs have made submissions to the AFL and made urgent requests to former football boss Laura Kane to prioritise investment in the Coates League given the modest talent on show.

Not sure if this has been posted by wrote up on Sam Harris’s game for Calder a few weeks back - note he was named in Calders best in the next two games after this

#18 Sam Harris
Midfielder/Forward | 179cm | 17/01/2008

Stats:
25 disposals, 7 marks, 6 tackles, 5 clearances, 3 inside 50s, 2 rebound 50s

One that plenty of North Melbourne fans will be tracking over the next 18 months, the son of Daniel played with 100 per cent intensity at every contest he was around, repeatedly applying pressure from stoppage and in the forward 50 to force a few errors from the opposition that teammates capitalised on. Harris showed composure in congestion and some excellent vision with his ball use by hand, releasing teammates forward of the contest or already on the move to keep the ball moving forward with pace.
thanks - good numbers for under age

Review 2025 National Draft Thread | Dovaston #16 / Thredgold #26 / Mikunda #48