Autopsy Autopsy vs Freo - ****

So frustrating. After Good Friday - almost the worst performance of this awful era - we were screaming out for a level of competitiveness and defensive accountability that was absent that day. And in the 7 games since then only the top side has scored 100 against us, and only one other (Port) got past 75. And only Collingwood beat us by more than 9 points. So... ✅

But these lapses are infuriating!! Port, Essendon, Freo and Brisbane all had runs of quick goals against us that had us playing catch up. After good starts against very beatable Eagles and Tigers sides we had a long stretch of nothing that had us clinging on to wins smaller than they ought to have been. Even the Collingwood game got away after a good three quarters.

The improvement is there, but it just isn't gelling for long enough yet. A reasonably productive couple of months has just wielded two wins which were also frustrating as they weren't as good as they should have been. It's kind of there...but it really isn't! So annoyed!! Must beat a better team soon. I doubt it'll be the Hawks or Dogs, so it's would be a nice if it were next week against the team that shat all over us on Good Friday.
I think we’re at the stage now where we’re back in the game. The team know they can match it with anyone right now. We just need to improve our consistency. As regards us BF minions, for our own mental health, if nothing else, we should bury the axe for the moment. Let’s get behind the team again and ease off on the constant frustrated potshots at the club, players, ourselves, everything really. The team is worth backing in again. 👍

On reflection the biggest positive for mine was our tackling pressure. We actually stuck tackles and were finally manic in the contest.

We recorded 29 I50 tackles! Brisbane recorded 28 for the entire team, we recorded 29 in just our forward 50!

This has to be the standard, cos when we win the ball we’re dangerous. For far too long we’ve not worked hard enough without the ball, and I’m hoping last night was that turning point.

The hard element of assessing this is Fremantle are such an up-and-down team. There best is excellent. They shit the bed often.

So did we match their best? Or were they on one of their down days?

Anyway, reasonably happy.
You can practically say that about any team coming up against anyone on any given day. I would say though it’s probably somewhere in the middle.

The hard element of assessing this is Fremantle are such an up-and-down team. There best is excellent. They shit the bed often.

So did we match their best? Or were they on one of their down days?

Anyway, reasonably happy.
The patch in the rain involved some very impressive football. And they still had some good moments of ball movement which we managed to curtail, often on the last few lines.

The main let-off was the poor goalkicking. Treacy, Amiss and someone else missed gimmes.

I think they're a bit fickle, anyway. Longmuir strikes me as a relatively weak link. Not the type to be able to either rally troops when they most need it or enact a Collingwood/Hawthorn style of play. For list quality and balance combined, they're probably top three in the league, but they don't show it on a regular basis

I think we are now longer a “bad” team. We are now in “mediocre” territory. Hopefully by year end we are considered “exciting”

The team and season I look at and hope we could replicate were the Brisbane Lions of 2018. The were 1-12 and 17th but with a relatively OK percentage of 78. They had a few bad losses (including one to us), but were mostly losing by under 20pts and were unlucky in a few. But in the back end of the year they added a few good wins, beat the teams around them and ended with 5-17, 15th at 89%. They were still not much chop,

That team had recycled players like Beams, Martin, Christensen, Robinson and Hodge play most the season but have no part in their ultimate success. But they also had McCluggage, Berry, Rayner, Hipwood, Andrews, McInerney, Bailey, Starcevich with all under 60 games. Their top 10 in their B&F that year included Beams, Martin, Gardiner, Hodge, Robertson and Witherden - none were in the GF team last year. 11 of that team were on the list, but only 4 were significant that year.

The difference is that they traded away their early pick that year for Lachie Neale, hit the F/S jackpot with Ashcroft & Fletcher, attracted a quality FA in Joe Daniher, and nailed targets from other clubs like Dunkley and Ah Chee. I doubt North currently have that sort of luck and nouse to pull off those moves.

It's a fairly simple game to see where we lost it: efficiency going inside 50m.
We have two problems;

1) Mid forward connection
2) mental belief that we can win games.

The second is slowly ever so slowly turning.

The first is pus.

In the review they should highlight to Larkey and the entire team when Parker motioned for him to lead at the ball carrier and he didn't.

This play is absolutely emblematic of the biggest problem we have. The midfield wanting one thing and the forwards doing the exact opposite.

There is another play where I think it was Wardlaw that kicked it to Larkey who was leading back to goal. We hit the kick and it was weighted fantastically well, however the margin for error in that play was so low, it need to be absolutely exact. You simply cannot run a forward line and require such precision when opposition play pressure games.

I think we’re at the stage now where we’re back in the game. The team know they can match it with anyone right now. We just need to improve our consistency. As regards us BF minions, for our own mental health, if nothing else, we should bury the axe for the moment. Let’s get behind the team again and ease off on the constant frustrated potshots at the club, players, ourselves, everything really. The team is worth backing in again. 👍

1749954764810.png

We still lost, and have a tough 6 weeks ahead. Geelong, Hawthorn and the Bulldogs jump all over teams when they get hold of them. If we can compete with them, and beat a couple of Melbourne, Sydney or Carlton, I would agree with you.

****, indeed.

If we hadn’t trotted out our trademark 5-minute bed-shitting display, we might’ve pinched it. Freo being crap and missing sitters really flattered us.

Larkey gave us an exciting five-minute burst but was woeful for most of the game. Petulant culture killer.

Simpkin sucks. Really wish the club had the minerals to make Parker captain from the outset.

Riley, Sheezel, Bobby, Parker, and Darling were rock solid — Bobby in particular, massive impact as the sub.

Xerri was great in his 1 on 6 match up. Two rucks and 4 whistle blowers is a hard hill to climb.

Lmac was largely decent, but as always, you can set your watch to his three guaranteed brain fades.

LDU had a brilliant first quarter before seemingly getting abducted by Corey Wagner, of all people, who then absolutely pantsed him. That bounce… Jaysus wept.

George similar, manic 1st quarter, then his Datsun 200B engine can't keep up. So much is tied to his fitness improving.

Caleb Daniel — stay in Perth. You can live under Kal Dawson’s bottom lip once he’s delisted.

Powell — when does the growing up start?

Pink was good for seven minutes, then it was like he dipped his hands in Vaseline and his brain in maple syrup.

Stephens has had a good season, but that was a shocker.

Yes, the comeback was exciting — but when is this team going to put in a proper four-quarter effort and invest in some goddamn skills sessions?
Quality

View attachment 2342999

We still lost, and have a tough 6 weeks ahead. Geelong, Hawthorn and the Bulldogs jump all over teams when they get hold of them. If we can compete with them, and beat a couple of Melbourne, Sydney or Carlton, I would agree with you.
Ew, I was just suggesting we support our team, not fellate them

I think we are now longer a “bad” team. We are now in “mediocre” territory. Hopefully by year end we are considered “exciting”
Mediocre? We have won 3 games. Mediocre is St Kilda, Port, * …. We are not mediocre, we arent fit to tie mediocrity boot laces

So two of their mids, BOG and second BOG were better than our whole midfield unit, yet we had it over them?

Give it a wash mate

Was Xerri Casper the friendly ghost in this “midfield unit”?

And LDU and Parker were both ranked higher than Serong and Bradshaw fwiw.

So, 3 vs 0

Or 5 vs 2 if you want to expand to Powell and Wardlaw.

You’ve had a shocker here

View attachment 2342999

Back in six losses, with three of them being in the category of ‘we would’ve won if x, y and z happened’.

X, y and z being the things that fail week on week.

Back in six losses, with three of them being in the category of ‘we would’ve won if x, y and z happened’.

X, y and z being the things that fail week on week.
Ohhhh can you feel the improvement though? Look at our %, it shows we are improving. Dont worry about how we play, or that we are losing or even how shit we are moving the ball with poor skill… we are going places 👎🏻

Mediocre? We have won 2 games. Mediocre is St Kilda, Port, * …. We are not mediocre, we arent fit to tie mediocrity boot laces
Yeah maybe I over shot. But those teams you mentioned I reckon we are in that realm. You are being too harsh. The majority of the competition (about 14 teams) is mediocre in my book

Mate there’s no way we are winning 3.5 games this season. We are a different team. Idk, what’s better, dominate early then fall behind only to come back from 5 goals down and be a live chance with 3 seconds to go or throw in the towel?

All through the years of horrible beltings we all just wanted them to fight it out. Now we lose by less than a goal due to some dumb decisions and some bad luck and it may as well have been 20 goals?

This is what a rebuilding team that is starting to cohere looks like. The 3.5 win years are over.
3.5. That's where we are right now.

A year ago we were falling short on the rare occasions we took it up to quality sides and things remain the same.

Excepting our Melbourne win (who were in a complete funk), rebuilding sides going places usually score an upset or 2 along the path.

The only teams we've taken it up to during the rebuild are faltering fellow cellar dwellers and even then we've barely overcome them each time.

So what am I asking for as feedback of real improvement?

A win (a draw is not a win) against a team(s) near the window and fighting for position. Freo, Carlton, Dogs, Dees etc. Show the ability to hold a compelling lead and bear the stress of a desperate opponent trying to fight it out.

Melbourne 2nd time around will be a very interesting watch. On current results game 1 was an anomaly. Do it again and it means something. Lose by a kick - we did that last year.

I can see the same statistical arguments spruiking our 2025 improvements as everyone else but there's still very little meat on the bone in terms of tangible evidence. We had tight competitive losses against mid table in 2023-24 too, it's not new territory for 2025.

Here's hoping for a 6-7 win season. That would mean something.

Another loss we are meant to be happy with. We are the kings of honourable losses.
And it’s great now that we are a lot of people’s “2nd team”. That’s when u know you are seriously shite.
I would have thought finishing bottom couple for five years straight confirmed that status, without having to search for other reasons.

A year ago we were falling short on the rare occasions we took it up to quality sides and things remain the same.

Excepting our Melbourne win (who were in a complete funk), rebuilding sides going places usually score an upset or 2 along the path.

The only teams we've taken it up to during the rebuild are faltering fellow cellar dwellers and even then we've barely overcome them each time.

A win (a draw is not a win) against a team(s) near the window and fighting for position. Freo, Carlton, Dogs, Dees etc. Show the ability to hold a compelling lead and bear the stress of a desperate opponent trying to fight it out.

Melbourne 2nd time around will be a very interesting watch. On current results game 1 was an anomaly. Do it again and it means something. Lose by a kick - we did that last year.

I can see the same statistical arguments spruiking our 2025 improvements as everyone else but there's still very little meat on the bone in terms of tangible evidence. We had tight competitive losses against mid table in 2023-24 too, it's not new territory for 2025.

Finally - There are a few of us here who get it.

A perfect encapsulation of the situation we find ourselves in.

We beat Freo two years ago at home at the start of rebuild.

We’re now celebrating improvement after a loss.

Good times.

A perfect encapsulation of the situation we find ourselves in.

We beat Freo two years ago at home at the start of rebuild.

We’re now celebrating improvement after a loss.

Good times.
We are on the right path! It will turn. This is what rebuilds look like. Just need to pump another 50 games into the kids. Patience! 😵‍💫

Actually woke up pretty filthy about this game. I posted after the Blues game or maybe the Port game, all I wanted to see is effort, which when we bring, like last night, we are in the game against decent teams. I ‘still’ think we have a 6th to 10th list, and if we brought pressure and effort every week, we should be at that mark on the ladder.

Last night and the game against Brissy, ppl can w**k about them ‘playing in 2nd gear, duuuuur’, but it was actually our intensity and effort that put us in position to beat both teams. Should have won against Brisbane, and should have won last night.

What s**ts me up the wall is the reason we are second last is because we pick and choose when to bring that intensity. So I’m actually frustrated with this year, because we should be in a much better position.

We need to add a good key defender and another good key forward before we can contend, but to me it’s all above the shoulders at the moment.

Actually woke up pretty filthy about this game. I posted after the Blues game or maybe the Port game, all I wanted to see is effort, which when we bring, like last night, we are in the game against decent teams. I ‘still’ think we have a 6th to 10th list, and if we brought pressure and effort every week, we should be at that mark on the ladder.

Last night and the game against Brissy, ppl can w**k about them ‘playing in 2nd gear, duuuuur’, but it was actually our intensity and effort that put us in position to beat both teams. Should have won against Brisbane, and should have won last night.

What s**ts me up the wall is the reason we are second last is because we pick and choose when to bring that intensity. So I’m actually frustrated with this year, because we should be in a much better position.

We need to add a good key defender and another good key forward before we can contend, but to me it’s all above the shoulders at the moment.
A good key defender? Since Rawling has been at the club we have seen Corr, Logue, K Dawson, Pink, Biggie, Shotgun and Whitlock brought onto the list. In addition Comben has been swung down back. What does this say about Rawling? :stern look

We are on the right path! It will turn. This is what rebuilds look like. Just need to pump another 50 games into the kids. Patience! 😵‍💫
This is word for word what’s written on the wall of the change rooms at Arden Street.

Autopsy Autopsy vs Freo - ****