Autopsy AFL 2025 Round 15 - Cats v Lions Fri June 20th 7:40pm AEST (GMHBA)

Who will win and by how much?

• Cats by a goal or less

Votes: 1 1.3%
  • Cats by 7 - 20

Votes: 19 24.7%
  • Cats by a lot

Votes: 17 22.1%
  • Lions by a goal or less

Votes: 7 9.1%
  • Lions by 7 - 20

Votes: 8 10.4%
  • Lions by a lot

Votes: 24 31.2%
  • Draw

Votes: 1 1.3%

Hope the boys enjoyed the week of drinking their own bathwater and getting (expletive deleted) by the media. Absolutely destroyed by the Lions on the ground, we barely got a decent clean chain of possessions going from defence to attack all night, while Brisbane were doing them at will.

Start of the fourth quarter was a good encapsulation of the game: Geelong won the centre clearance, moved it forward with solid defensive pressure from the Lions, a hopeful high shallow entry to a contest, where the Geelong target falls over and Brisbane smashes the ball back out of the zone. Brisbane win it on the ground and with three quick handballs and kicks get it to a forward (Rayner) with a seconds break on his man. The Brisbane forward has a challenging shot, which he converts.

Geelong had some bad misses, but I'd say the respective accuracy from both teams was a by-product of Geelong's being half chances under pressure, while the Lions practically walked most of theirs in. Apart from a couple of Rayner's long goals, I thought most of Brisbane's were pretty regulation.

Well done Brisbane. I guess the only thing for me to be happy about was I was half expecting Bailey Smith to get reported in the last quarter with the frustration that was creeping in across the team. But that's a huge reality check.

We’re are these Geelong blokes who like to tell us how superior there club is in every way? Kinda wish we got to play them every week.

Aren’t you the guy who goes into Geelong threads saying they cheat the salary cap?
Which side looks more stacked?
That’s an easy answer.

Lions played fantastic, Cats poorly.
Some of the comments in here are dreadful.

Have some humility FFS

Brizzy looked fully tuned in and went for it. Morris is a rippa. Medium sized stars all over the ground with excellent skills and speed. Just need to wind them up fully, and let em play.

Umpiring had zero impact on the result. Probably focus on conversion (6.15) and only 3 tackles inside 50. They were completely off last night and didn’t honour one of their all time greats.
Regardless of the honouring factor - you’re spot on with the other numbers.
Mind you the expected scores had us winning which was laughable. We were clearly chasing tail all evening. I suspect the scoreboard pressure impacted our conversion.

Anyway, we need to reset now for post-bye.

it was sort of nice to see Bailey Smith getting frustrated because he wasn't getting the cheap 1-2 handballs. He had to sprint his butt off to get his uncontested marks deep in the back pocket to get his numbers up.

Aren’t you the guy who goes into Geelong threads saying they cheat the salary cap?
That’s an easy answer.

Have some humility FFS
Geelong were with them for effort, it was really the execution. It's cheap to say "one if those days/nights", I wouldn't say that about when you beat us, but the Giants loss we had in brain fart round was literally "one of those days".

This was one of those: both sides brought effort, the Lions brought their skill as well.

Long season with twists to come. Hawks and Blues will get a chance to build up steam, Pies and Lions will have opportunities to stumble. Crows and Giants might learn to defend. Dogs might get steady. I'm hoping for Ken to rise like Cthulhu from the deeps to set the finals trembling.

It's wide wide open.

Really good performance by the Lions, they were very sharp and seemed to bring a 110% effort style of game. What you don't see as easily on TV is what a team does when they don't have the ball, and Brisbane were excellent in this regard.

Been to a few KP games this year and it is not the cats' favourite any more. I guess it is good to have a game plan that suits the MCG but seem a bit vulnerable at home these days. Maybe need to play another tall for home games.

Umpiring had zero impact on the result. Probably focus on conversion (6.15) and only 3 tackles inside 50. They were completely off last night and didn’t honour one of their all time greats.

Spot on, umpiring wasn’t great all round but umpiring has no effect on the result, I’ve always been a big believer in that.
Bad kicking is bad footy. Cats had an all time bad night.
Supposed to be best tackling side in it. Pride themselves on it.

Lowered their colours, Lions raised theirs.
Lions absolutely deserve all the credit, Cats have a lot to work on but it’s a long season.
I reckon you learn more from the losses than the wins.

Ahhh yes the greatest team of all time, Geelong … especially at home … well that is of course till any semi decent team is actually fixtured to play down at their 💩 🕳️

Then they get shown up .
Will he thereabouts again, as usual
but not a genuine threat again, as usual

Cats have been much better at MCG these days since they changed the game plan.
Numbers back that up, beaten plenty of great sides at the MCG including Pies multiple times when it matters.
They like to run and spread and MCG is perfect for that.

Kardinia is not conducive to that, Kardinia wants you to go up and down the guts, that suits tall sides.
Not a carry and spread side like Geelong.

Cats could be as low as 6th before they take to the park again on expected results.
Looked flat from 1st bounce, is at an outlier or do you start to wonder how much of a toll the off field distractions are taking.

I agree with your first part, second part is nonsense.
Every team has their up’s and downs throughout the year.
Has nothing to do with off field stuff when they smacked Essendon, made Gold Coast look second rate, cruised along to beat the Eagles, beat the Doggies in a fantastic matchup…these comments only come up when teams lose. If they won everyone would be talking about how well they are clicking. They are 5-1 in recent form.
Exactly around this point last year where they got smacked by Carlton and everyone wrote them off and started pumping up Carlton. Another example is that the Lions weren’t even in the 8 at all at this point last year and people had already written them off.

They both ended up flying Home and Cats were 10 points off a Grand Final, Lions went on to win it.
Carlton never fired a shot.

The overreactions are insane, Cats kick straight it’s a close battle.
They didn’t and rightfully Brisbane won.

it was sort of nice to see Bailey Smith getting frustrated because he wasn't getting the cheap 1-2 handballs. He had to sprint his butt off to get his uncontested marks deep in the back pocket to get his numbers up.

You’ve been quiet the last month, only popping up now to bag him.

That’s an easy answer.

Have some humility FFS
Yeah I’m the only one who ever brings up Smiths Cotton On deal.🙄 oh right so you and those other geese carry on all the time about Scott being the master and how your club is the most successful and how brilliant you are are ‘Rorts’ and because you lose now everyone else has to show humility. Ha ha most Geelong thing ever- so cry into your shit t-shirt.

You are one of the more prominent ones yes? Scott is a great coach, he gets the most out of the least.
Anyone with two eyes and a brain can see that. They aren’t rife with top pick players, they have to make do with what they can get.
They don’t get years of suckage and compensation picks and academy players to help prop them up.
And no they aren’t the most successful or brilliant club, they are a great club but that doesn’t make them better than everyone else. What people marvel at is their consistency to be competitive every year, if you can’t comprehend that then it’s on you.
You cherry picking what one person says and tarring everyone with the same brush is just dumb, like extremely dumb.

The “rort” jokes are mocking people who say dumb shit in the first place, you say dumb shit you’re rightfully going to be called on it as would anyone who does so.
How could you or anyone who could figure basic numbers honestly look at the Cats team and look at the Lions side and think Geelong is the one “rorting the salary cap”
Lions have lost one player in a 5 year period worth anything of value and Geelong is the one cheating after nearly completely flipping their side since 2022?
Make it make sense!

Your attitude is trash, been pretty quiet for the last month and you Bob up when the Lions play well.
Embarrassing, zero humility.

He hasn't been getting frustrated in the last month because he's been allowed to roam free and do what he likes and other teams haven't been on to the 1-2 stuff.

That’s normal for any superstar player.
Daicos, Smith, Dawson, Neale.
They have to work through it. Sometimes it works and sometimes it doesn’t.

Way to spoil the party Lions.

I only saw a few snippets and each time I saw Gryan Miers turning it over coming out of defence going for a risky-ish kick through the middle. Lions were all over them.

Hopefully Lions can keep on that performance because otherwise its going to be Pies by how much.

You are one of the more prominent ones yes? Scott is a great coach, he gets the most out of the least.
Anyone with two eyes and a brain can see that. They aren’t rife with top pick players, they have to make do with what they can get.
They don’t get years of suckage and compensation picks and academy players to help prop them up.
And no they aren’t the most successful or brilliant club, they are a great club but that doesn’t make them better than everyone else. What people marvel at is their consistency to be competitive every year, if you can’t comprehend that then it’s on you.
You cherry picking what one person says and tarring everyone with the same brush is just dumb, like extremely dumb.

The “rort” jokes are mocking people who say dumb shit in the first place, you say dumb shit you’re rightfully going to be called on it as would anyone who does so.
How could you or anyone who could figure basic numbers honestly look at the Cats team and look at the Lions side and think Geelong is the one “rorting the salary cap”
Lions have lost one player in a 5 year period worth anything of value and Geelong is the one cheating after nearly completely flipping their side since 2022?
Make it make sense!

Your attitude is trash, been pretty quiet for the last month and you Bob up when the Lions play well.
Embarrassing, zero humility.
You post like everyone should bow down to the mighty Geelong and NOW you lose you say we are not the most brilliant or successful club 😂 oh one person says it do they- go and have a look there is about 5 of you that post utter crap and now you get called out you don’t like it. You carry on about our list now- we were shit for 20 years and built it up over time. Yes our 2 academy picks that played last night - how do other clubs cope, what an advantage. 🙄 pick 60 something and pick 14 over 20 years. Your posting is arrogant and I have no doubt you believe you are always the smartest person in the room. You are the kind of person that makes people love beating Geelong. But here you are telling others when to show humility, typical.

Autopsy AFL 2025 Round 15 - Cats v Lions Fri June 20th 7:40pm AEST (GMHBA)