Preview R16: Changes vs. Richmond Tigers (after the bye)

Which of these players will be out of the 23 vs Richmond?

Under 50 games Crows v Richmond

Richmond; Alger 1, Blight 8, Lefau 10, Faull 10, Trainor 14, Green 20, Campbell 35, Brown 34, Banks 33

Adelaide; Curtin 21, Worrell 44 (24 years old), Keane 45 (25)

2025 rising star TOG% Richmond & Adelaide

#8 Green, 14 games, ave TOG 80.93
#9 Faull, 10 games, 80.90
#11 Lalor, 10 games, 80.10
#24 Curtin, 14 games, 73.21
#26 Trainor, 14 games, 73.07
#32 Fawcett, 1 game, 70.00
#33 MacAuliffe, 5 games, 69.40
#36 Sims, 6 games, 68.00
#37 Armstrong, 4 games, 67.00
#50 Smith, 8 games, 61.12
#81 Draper, 9 games, 40.11
#83 Alger, 1 game, 37.00

Murphy survives.

Nicks is so stubborn. It was so obvious bringing him in against the Hawks was the wrong choice, and it likely cost us the game. Nicks being so stubborn he can’t admit he got it wrong so Murphy lines up again.

Nicks rather lose games or get players experience than admit he’s wrong. Really worrying.
If i was edwards, i'd be saying what do i have to do as my season has been quite promising. He is a 1st round pick playing good footy and cant get a gig over a guy that has been a very good player for us over years but should have retired and a 10 possession no goal forward thats had over 100 games of roughly that output each game.

What is the justificaton?

The thing I don't get is you'd think Nicks is planning to be a long term coach right? Where the hell is his forward thinking? It was an absolute no brainer to play Draper and Edwards this weekend.
Seems always too hard to think ahead to the future for this coaching group led by Nicks.

If someone had told me at the start of the year that we would announce a side with Smith, Jones, Murphy and Burgess in it I would have thrown up.
Despite sitting in the top 4 I am still feeling nauseous
It's harsh on these players but most of that cohort have contributed much of the past 5 years at the bottom of the ladder. Our maturing youth is the future. It's time to tear the band aid off and pass the batton.

If i was edwards, i'd be saying what do i have to do as my season has been quite promising. He is a 1st round pick playing good footy and cant get a gig over a guy that has been a very good player for us over years but should have retired and a 10 possession no goal forward thats had over 100 games of roughly that output each game.

What is the justificaton?
As I have stated numerous times;

1) I would play Taylor, Pedlar or Dowling instead of Murphy.

What has changed in our team structure?
Earlier in the season we were only playing three small / medium forwards namely ANB, Rachele and Keays. We usually had three tall/marking forwards (Tex, Fog, TT) with Curtin replacing one of them when they were on the interchange bench or TT was rucking. Moving Curtin to the wing allowed us to play a 4th medium/small forward. We have tried three players in this role.
Taylor; 7 games, 61% ToG, 4.1 kicks, 5.6 handballs, 2.7 marks, 2.4 tackles, 0.1 goals, 0.1 goal assists
Murphy; 4 games, 72% ToG, 6.0 kicks, 6.0 handballs, 2.0 marks, 4.5 tackles, 0.0 goals, 0.5 goal assists
Pedlar; 4 games, 61% ToG, 4.8 kicks, 2.5 handballs, 2.0 marks, 4.5 tackles, 1.0 goals, 0.goal assists
This shows that none of the three are screaming play me. Overall Murphy’s numbers are a bit better.

Who are the other candidates?
Cook played 15 invisible games last year, mostly as a forward but sometimes on the wing. He averaged 9.3 disposals and 71% ToG. Gallagher isn’t ready.
The final possibility is Dowling (my preferred option). He is more of a midfielder but at least he can find the ball and kick a goal.

Short story long, there is no obvious option unless we decide to turn Draper into a forward for the rest of the season. I would be happy with this but just imagine to outcry from supporters if we played him out of position.

2) Why isn’t Edwards playing?
We have four medium/small defenders in our back six/seven. Michaelanney, Laird, Milera and Hinge. I can’t see any of these being dropped to the Twos any time soon. Next in line was Nankervis but he has struggled in the AFL this year and now Smith has jumped in front of him.I would prefer to see Edwards given a shot but Smith has played better than most of us expected when he was given a game (as a sub). Bond seems to be in the mix but unfortunately Ryan has dropped back a bit this year.

At this stage the only player in the SANFL (apart from Murray) who might make a significant difference to our finals chances is Draper and possibly Dowling.

I just don’t understand how we’ve ended up with Laird, Smith and Murphy all in the same team when we are close to being fully fit. I’d also throw in Cummings as he should be taking that HB role.

I remember when people were saying ANB meant Murphy would never play. But now Nicks has got the old crew back together that is the reason we haven’t played finals in 6 years.

Play the ****ing kids who are the future and might offer something instead of players we know won’t take us to the next level.

The fact I was calling for Chayce Jones to come back in should tell you where we are at with Nicks.

Get Draper and Edwards in FFS and give them a chance to grow. Edwards tearing it up in SANFL and can’t get a look in, Draper gets a block of being sub and when not dominating in the quarter he gets is sent back… seriously.

With Pedlars injury, when did it happen? It did not appear that he was injured when subbed. Also , with a corked thigh, don’t players usually still play the next week? Is it weird to effectively be out for 2 weeks with a corky ?

Somewhere it said he picked it up during the game.

Lol. He didn't deserve to come in, played stink average and gets to stay in the side when you have players like Draper who are the future not getting a game.
Nicks has stuck fat with him for many years.
Is that right? He’s played 6 SANFL games, averaging 24 possessions, averaging 5.5 tackles, kicked 5 goals. Now we all know SANFL form doesn’t necessarily translate to AFL but you cannot say he was playing stink average when he clearly wasn’t. I’m no Murphy fan but what you’ve said is wrong.

Taylor; 7 games, 61% ToG, 4.1 kicks, 5.6 handballs, 2.7 marks, 2.4 tackles, 0.1 goals, 0.1 goal assists
Murphy; 4 games, 72% ToG, 6.0 kicks, 6.0 handballs, 2.0 marks, 4.5 tackles, 0.0 goals, 0.5 goal assists
Pedlar; 4 games, 61% ToG, 4.8 kicks, 2.5 handballs, 2.0 marks, 4.5 tackles, 1.0 goals, 0.goal assists
This shows that none of the three are screaming play me. Overall Murphy’s numbers are a bit better.
Murphy's numbers are better via disposal count but is that actually a positive when Murphy averages 3 clangers, 2 turnovers per game?

Pedlar 1 clanger, 0.8 turnovers
Taylor 0.4 clangers, 1.3 turnovers

Pedlar's the best for goal & tackles, while Taylor is the best ball user of the 3

The audacity of that flog Nix to claim Edwards needs to wait for an opportunity.... We had an opportunity two months ago when Hinge and Laird missed games.

We went with the 32 year old with a couple of months left in his career instead....
BTW, has Smithers reached his trigger yet??
Edwards will likely "earn his spot" after that.

Lap dog Murphy is in because ANB needs help with forward half pressure.
Tex does nothing to pressure and needs his little buddy to do all the team things he can no longer contribute to the team.
Tex kicks 2 gls yay! But at what cost to the rest of the list.

Ciao Giacomo can tell you

He knew exactly when it happened while the rest of us rubes just complained he wasnt contributing

All hail DrWhoCiao

Murphy survives.

Nicks is so stubborn. It was so obvious bringing him in against the Hawks was the wrong choice, and it likely cost us the game. Nicks being so stubborn he can’t admit he got it wrong so Murphy lines up again.

Nicks rather lose games or get players experience than admit he’s wrong. Really worrying.
He was never going out after the backlash to his inclusion either, for the same reason. They wouldn't want to be seen as bowing to that pressure so screw you he stays for another week.

Murphy is typically worse away from home (if that is possible).

But if we win comfortably, it won’t matter. Nicks will keep him in for continuity.
Absolutely. This selection policy goes back years. Why risk playing a young player in a likely blowout victory who would get a ton of confidence and enthusiasm from having a free hit at AFL, when you can select one of your favourite plodders knowing that a big win gives you the #Continuity excuse to keep them in for another week.

The audacity of that flog Nix to claim Edwards needs to wait for an opportunity.... We had an opportunity two months ago when Hinge and Laird missed games.

We went with the 32 year old with a couple of months left in his career instead....
Just more mixed messages from the bozo.

"Charlie, just keep playing SANFL and dominating and you'll get your chance. Right now we just need you to perform in the SANFL so you're ready for your chance."
"Matty, a player literally just got injured in a spot I can play and play well?"
"Yeah I know. Smith's in, lol."
"But... I did exactly what you asked?"
"Mate it's not as simple as SANFL form gets you selected, ok?"

Is that right? He’s played 6 SANFL games, averaging 24 possessions, averaging 5.5 tackles, kicked 5 goals. Now we all know SANFL form doesn’t necessarily translate to AFL but you cannot say he was playing stink average when he clearly wasn’t. I’m no Murphy fan but what you’ve said is wrong.
I read it that he meant "stink average" at AFL level not SANFL. Sure Murphy does well at SANFL which is where he should be playing. His AFL performance though has not got any better and the fact Nicks sticks with him, and an aged Smith when we could be exposing guys like Edwards is really just true to form for Nicks and why I find it hard to take to him as a coach. That and his crappy post game interviews.

Preview R16: Changes vs. Richmond Tigers (after the bye)