Autopsy AFL 2025 Rd 17 - North v Dogs - Thurs July 3rd 7:30pm AEST (Marvel)

• Thread starter Thread starter _Mike_

NORTH MELBOURNE vs WESTERN BULLDOGS - Who will win?

• Kangaroos by a goal or less

Votes: 1 1.7%
  • Kangaroos by 7-20

Votes: 3 5.0%
  • Kangaroos by a lot

Votes: 2 3.3%
  • Dogs by a goal or less

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Dogs by 7-20

Votes: 7 11.7%
  • Dogs by a lot

Votes: 46 76.7%
  • Draw

Votes: 1 1.7%

To be fair, north don’t get the privilege of good players just walking to them in free agency by virtue of being a big club. They’re stuck having to draft their own, which they’ve been doing the last couple years
Their targeting of recruits in the backline has been terrible, why waste the time and energy going after a guy like Maynard who would never walk?

They have overdrafted in the midfield and missed out big names in the back and forward line that take longer to develop. It's a problem.

Their targeting of recruits in the backline has been terrible, why waste the time and energy going after a guy like Maynard who would never walk?

They have overdrafted in the midfield and missed out big names in the back and forward line that take longer to develop. It's a problem.
They've targeted a number of defenders. Logue was a top ten draft pick, Daniel a former AA, and picked up Pink as a mature body.
Comben had played good footy there too until injured.
Archer looks like a long term player as well, love his attack on the contest.

Laying the boots into north for their list management in the past two years is just lazy.

They've targeted a number of defenders. Logue was a top ten draft pick, Daniel a former AA, and picked up Pink as a mature body.
Comben had played good footy there too until injured.
Archer looks like a long term player as well, love his attack on the contest.

Laying the boots into north for their list management in the past two years is just lazy.
"Logue was a top ten draft pick and the other guy got an AA for his kicking which is now totally dogshit"

Like cmon... Jack Watts was a top 10 draft pick too, that doesn't mean he can play in 2025

"Logue was a top ten draft pick and the other guy got an AA for his kicking which is now totally dogshit"

Like cmon... Jack Watts was a top 10 draft pick too, that doesn't mean he can play in 2025
Jack Watts was drafted in 2008. Weird reference.

Logue has played decent football and was worth picking up.

North have plenty of cap space, good on them for chasing players. The 95% cap floor means clubs simply have to spend it

If they did nothing they would be criticized for not trying to improve their list.

10 games of experience is hardly a ringing endorsement for your backline lol.

The players recruited and paid big money by north to bolster their backline are terrible and clearly don't care about winning.

"we have young untested players who have only ever experienced being in a club that accepts losing as acceptable, what do you mean our backline is bad?"
I was replying to your incorrect assessment of not drafting for our future backline.

Who gives a **** what 'Claiming 5' and 'Phone it in Augustus' are doing now?

Just win the flag this year... you'll then move to double our flags in the big league otherwise we're every chance of matching you at 3:3 by 2030 which, given your resources, #of fans and lack of travel compared to your competitors, is actually an indictment on your organisation.

We found two more players last night, that is the take away... nothing else really matters!

Jack Watts was drafted in 2008. Weird reference.

Logue has played decent football and was worth picking up.

North have plenty of cap space, good on them for chasing players. The 95% cap floor means clubs simply have to spend it

If they did nothing they would be criticized for not trying to improve their list.
Logue was drafted in 2016, its pretty clear that just because someone was drafted high does not mean they are a good recruit.

I was replying to your incorrect assessment of not drafting for our future backline.

Who gives a **** what 'Claiming 5' and 'Phone it in Augustus' are doing now?

Just win the flag this year... you'll then move to double our flags in the big league otherwise we're every chance of matching you at 3:3 by 2030 which, given your resources, #of fans and lack of travel compared to your competitors, is actually an indictment on your organisation.

We found two more players last night, that is the take away... nothing else really matters!
Classic Norf fans accepting mediocracy "we lost by 50 points in our 100-year anniversary but that doesn't matter"

Logue was drafted in 2016, its pretty clear that just because someone was drafted high does not mean they are a good recruit.
Logue has played good football in recent times and shown a bit. Weird to criticise North for trying to improve their list.

Logue is a deadset SPUD taking North's pity money and giving nothing back for it, he'd be one of the worst and most overpaid defenders in the AFL.

If the alternative was paying Ben Mckay then maybe it doesn't look so bad in context...

Agree with the recruiting of defensive players being poor, however we just played the best offensive team in the comp and in my view the 2025 premiers, so i think we need to open up the perspective a little on where Norths defense is at. Its been much improved on last season.

With respect, you conceded more points and lost by more than the last time you played them this year and got shamefully destroyed by Hawks the week before, you beat a soulless Carlton team the week before that one and clearly the players got caught up in it.

Bro in round 1 they literally had half a team. Including the best player in the comp not playing.

Hawthorn are also a much better team at the moment than North.

hawthorn and the Dogs historically have beaten up on North in this rebuild. More so than any other team.

Bro in round 1 they literally had half a team. Including the best player in the comp not playing.

Hawthorn are also a much better team at the moment than North.

hawthorn and the Dogs historically have beaten up on North in this rebuild. More so than any other team.
I am seeing basically no serious signs of progress from this North rebuild. That loss against Hawthorn was beyond pathetic and the way fans/club/media talk about a 50-point loss as if its honourable is an indictment on the status of the club.

Classic Norf fans accepting mediocracy "we lost by 50 points in our 100-year anniversary but that doesn't matter"
Are you 15?

I still remember going to Vic Park and you getting steam rolled by us by 83 points.

As I said, swings and roundabouts - this game of ours.

Enjoy being good, it won't last.

As for your comment about accepting mediocrity. I wish. We are pond scum currently, mediocrity is next year - we had to make a choice of continuing mediocrity like we were under Bradley OR change tact, aim for more. We chose the latter, I buy multiple memberships and hope we can match it with the best in the not too distant future.

What other choice did we have?

Why go after a good player? They'd be criticised if they didn't attempt these kinds of moves. It's not like they haven't made moves to try improve their list - they picked up Daniel, Parker and Darling as experienced players, all great moves (even if none are going to feature high in their B&F, it's still an improvement). They grabbed Pink as a DFA who has well exceeded expectations this year. Stephens has been solid on the wing, and they grabbed Logue from Freo a few years ago who was great for them (no idea what happened to him since...)

Yes, their drafting of small midfielders has been an issue in the past. But the last couple drafts they've done a great job of addressing areas of need. In the last two years, they've taken Duursma (flanker), Whitlock (KPF) and Stevens (small forward) to address the forward group, and Dawson and Hardeman to address defence.

They were stupid to take Phillips when McDonald was on the board, but that was 2020. Has there really been any outright dumb picks since? In 2021, JHF was best available, with Callaghan being the only other option not already tied to a club (and JHF clearly better). In 2022, maybe they could have kept the first pick and taken Cadman? But he was far from the clear number 1 pick - Ashcroft was the best player in the draft, with Sheezel arguably next best. In 2023, they bid on Walter but he was tied to the Suns. McKercher was clear best available, and after that they basically had to pick out of Duursma, Watson and Sanders (the latter of which was more of what they already had).

I don't really know why you feel the need to kick down on North

Why go after a good player? They'd be criticised if they didn't attempt these kinds of moves. It's not like they haven't made moves to try improve their list - they picked up Daniel, Parker and Darling as experienced players, all great moves (even if none are going to feature high in their B&F, it's still an improvement). They grabbed Pink as a DFA who has well exceeded expectations this year. Stephens has been solid on the wing, and they grabbed Logue from Freo a few years ago who was great for them (no idea what happened to him since...)

Yes, their drafting of small midfielders has been an issue in the past. But the last couple drafts they've done a great job of addressing areas of need. In the last two years, they've taken Duursma (flanker), Whitlock (KPF) and Stevens (small forward) to address the forward group, and Dawson and Hardeman to address defence.

They were stupid to take Phillips when McDonald was on the board, but that was 2020. Has there really been any outright dumb picks since? In 2021, JHF was best available, with Callaghan being the only other option not already tied to a club (and JHF clearly better). In 2022, maybe they could have kept the first pick and taken Cadman? But he was far from the clear number 1 pick - Ashcroft was the best player in the draft, with Sheezel arguably next best. In 2023, they bid on Walter but he was tied to the Suns. McKercher was clear best available, and after that they basically had to pick out of Duursma, Watson and Sanders (the latter of which was more of what they already had).

I don't really know why you feel the need to kick down on North
Parker is the only decent recruit there, other two are washed, Darling at least can do 10 minutes in the ruck thats about it.

I have character questions around Pink, his off-field antics concern me.

Their drafting isn't my biggest concern, the failure to land any big recruits is what they fail at.

You can't think of ANY reason why a small Victorian club might struggle to land big recruits?

Even if you're trolling, it's disrespectful towards North honestly. In comedy, always punch up, not down

Genuine question.. Is there something umpires like about Bulldogs ?

Bonts never getting HTB even when he was tackled by 4 players.
Top it off, Naughton getting the most softest forward free kicks that just makes me jealous as a Fremantle fan since Amiss gets **** all for worse.

Surely it can’t be this lopsided
This is the most bigfooty retelling of events since every Swans supporter bleating about the umpiring of the 2016 grand final. It just cherry picks instances that supports an argument and disregards all of the others that dont.

The umpiring was atrocious across the board last night. The Zurharr non mark was the the worst of the rotten bunch. But to suggest that you're as delusional as the average Swans supporter views on 2016. If you think that a 19-20 free kick could was in anyway lopsided.

Parker is the only decent recruit there, other two are washed, Darling at least can do 10 minutes in the ruck thats about it.

LOL... picture yourself making that call, let's decide between Norf and Collingwood (for example). Not only do you play in front of bigger crowds and travel much less, but you also are guaranteed (pretty much) 150+ more free kicks per year.

Good luck to you, I have heaps of mates who are Pies fans, they are older than me and been through heaps, I don't begrudge them their recent success.

We are pond scum currently, but growing quickly enough, when we are next actually good, I think we'll be safe from being constantly condemned, it's actually amazing we're growing as quickly as we are given the absurd legs ups our opposition receive regularly. I look forward to the day Carey's 2 lads are draft-age wise, that's all we can hope for! That's our lot in life. It's ok, I'm a supporter of other clubs in other sports who make your boys look like minnows. We have 8m Insta followers, you have ~460k.

Some perspective on what constitutes big is always required. No we're not in Europe or Estados Unidos either.

Please enlighten us all

Re: Richards and LDU.

A free kick. But not a reportable offence IMO.
Incidental contact from a football act.

Unfortunate for NM and the player but we can't be suspending players for misplaced fend-offs.

10 games of experience is hardly a ringing endorsement for your backline lol.

The players recruited and paid big money by north to bolster their backline are terrible and clearly don't care about winning.

"we have young untested players who have only ever experienced being in a club that accepts losing as acceptable, what do you mean our backline is bad?"
Your club didn't win a premiership for 32 years from 1958-1990... was it a loser mentality or just choking? I mean, you were 27 points up on us in 1977 (at 3/4 time).. I'd say you just choked. We were only missing a dual Brownlow medalist... all I hear from that day is you lot whining about Phil Carmen.

Still, we are developing our team, we're gonna be shit for probably another 12-36 footy weeks then who knows from 2027 onwards.

I don't think it's such an issue to draft young players when we can't attract any players via free agency. That sort of top up mentality is for you, as AFL executive bonuses are linked to total attendance. It would impact them significantly if Corringwood were unsuccessful.

Big money? What are you on about mate? Who's on big money apart from the bloke who was knocked out after 17 mins when he got in the way of Lou Richards' grandsons elbow?

$700k for Logue is not big money, it's just above average these days. He was ok before doing his Achilles - nobody rated or wanted 'Claiming 5', nobody. He'll be depth when we come good.

I listed the young defenders as that's who we're relying on for better or worse! 10 games experience is where most of them are at. Success isn't linear... as a Pies fan you of all people should know that.

Your club didn't win a premiership for 32 years from 1958-1990... was it a loser mentality or just choking? I mean, you were 27 points up on us in 1977 (at 3/4 time).. I'd say you just choked. We were only missing a dual Brownlow medalist... all I hear from that day is you lot whining about Phil Carmen.

Still, we are developing our team, we're gonna be shit for probably another 12-36 footy weeks then who knows from 2027 onwards.

I don't think it's such an issue to draft young players when we can't attract any players via free agency. That sort of top up mentality is for you, as AFL executive bonuses are linked to total attendance. It would impact them significantly if Corringwood were unsuccessful.

Big money? What are you on about mate? Who's on big money apart from the bloke who was knocked out after 17 mins when he got in the way of Lou Richards' grandsons elbow?

$700k for Logue is not big money, it's just above average these days. He was ok before doing his Achilles - nobody rated or wanted 'Claiming 5', nobody. He'll be depth when we come good.

I listed the young defenders as that's who we're relying on for better or worse! 10 games experience is where most of them are at. Success isn't linear... as a Pies fan you of all people should know that.
Hahahahahaha ****ing he’ll trying to bring up the 1977 GF in 2025 to rub salt is peak nuffy.

Can’t wait for pendles to break boomers record.