Autopsy Round 17, 2025: Positives and Negatives vs GWS

Why are you comparing Hutch to Petch ?

Hello Royal Eagle,

Please see quote below for your reference. This was also included in my earlier post, the one that you quoted.

Kind regards,

Hutch is Petch from Wish.

At least Petch ALWAYS plays well when we get smashed. Old mate Hutch has pulled a single Tunbridge Tackle out of his arse.

It really is a horrific matchup for us and I feel for mcqualter. The answer to all the accountability post game is that we just don’t have the cattle yet.

GWS have big strong players that are fast, run hard, make second efforts and tackle. There might be one, maybe two players that tick all those boxes, then the players on gws that don’t tick all those boxes are close to elite at one or two of those - Darcy jones not big but can kill you with pace. Again, very few players in our list with an elite weapon like that.

Last years most improved player was snake, this years is Ginbey. Funnily enough these two probably had the biggest offseason and came back in the best shape in the respective years. This offseason now become - you can have a blast in Europe for 10 weeks or you can put your head down and flog yourself together getting afl fit and strong work on your disposal and become a long term afl player.

For this reason I hope we use the rest of the season to give as much of a look as possible to guys like gross, grego, archer etc instead of Kelly Cripps duggan etc so these younger kids know where they need to be fitness wise.

Off-season - Ginbey takes the weights sessions Hamish Davis does the running, get around them as a core group and let’s start building something.

I don’t want to se Jobe play wafl again.

The club has really painted itself into a corner with our co-captains. One is exploring bailing and one is hard at it but can’t kick. Hard to drop your captain.
I agree with most that TK,Cripps,Owies and yes, Duggan should not play much more footy this year.

Ok fair, but it's not men vs boys. That was last week and we looked 1000x better.

We only really had 2.5 first year players out there. Shanahan and Champion + McCarthy (who is 24, not a kid).
It's not just the number of first year players either. The numbers you posted earlier showed how heavily skewered towards players under 50 games that we had compared to GWS.

Once players hit 50 games, that's a decent amount of experience that they've gathered and they start to come into their own.

Ginbey is an example of that for us. Look how he's come on this year, and it's thanks to the continuity that he's enjoyed.

This is a circular debate, I know what your point is and once again it's not a fact, it's your opinion. Did Kelly tell you he doesn't want to be out on the field, that he doesn't want to play any more? Or is that something you've conjured up and conflated with his poor efforts? I'm not supporting Kelly's poor efforts or even his 2 year contract, just separating fact from fiction.

"Did Kelly tell you he did not want to be out on the field?"

He in fact alluded to it earlier in the year indicating he had fallen out of love for the game.

I would suggest the state of our team and continued struggles contributed to that and nothing has changed to have any affect on his love for the game.

This is very clear to all and sundry by his own field performances.

The worst thing that I saw all game was Bo Allan in the D50 stepping aside to allow an uncontested GWS mark and goal. Wasn't even covering for anyone, just had the perfect spot in the leading lane, would have had first hands at it...then he just steps aside. It was so weak.

That was the moment I got up and left the stadium, couldn’t believe it.

Yes. Also trying to touch the ball crossing the goal line, instead of diving Bo hesitated waiting for it to bounce by which time it was through. Not sure he would have got it anyway but it was poor technique.

I saw a few tentative efforts from Bo and Hall, and Brock can be that way. But collectively they’ve got less than 20 games so I’ll give them a pass … for now.

I posted the numbers earlier that refute this. GWS were on average 6months older than us.
Pretty much the same amount of players under 100 games (16 v 17).

Difference is development of these young guys. GWS have a very strong reserves structure in the VFL and a massive regional zone to pull from, resulting in a competitive team which breeds development.

Where as we have whatever the **** our Beagles arrangement is that has our guys playing along side basically ammos. Resulting in the inability for us to develop any sort of AFL level standards.

Serious question. Who was the last guy that you would say we actually developed in to a solid B grader, let alone and A grader?
How many were 51-100 and how many were 1-50?

Also depressing, oh at least we are playing the youf, young side etc etc....

Hmm
View attachment 2359643

I think there is a few misleading stats there.

6 of the 13 less than 50 game players for the Eagles have played less then 10 games. The Giants had 2 players less than 10 games.

The 3 players for the eagles with 150+ games were Duggan, Cripps, and Kelly. Every 2nd post on this thread is calling for them to be dropped. Compare that with the output on Friday night of the 4 GWS players with 150+ games (T Green, Kelly, Himmelberg, & Stringer)

I don’t think it was weak, I think he tried to be the crumber from what he thought was a pack….was a poor decision though. He had the best intro to the game and that’s not all his fault. There is certainly a lot of learning in front of him though as he is just too rushed at times. There were a couple of passages he initiated that looked like good play by the Eagles but they were outdone by poor handballs by players like Duggan and Hutchison.

It really is a horrific matchup for us and I feel for mcqualter. The answer to all the accountability post game is that we just don’t have the cattle yet.

GWS have big strong players that are fast, run hard, make second efforts and tackle. There might be one, maybe two players that tick all those boxes, then the players on gws that don’t tick all those boxes are close to elite at one or two of those - Darcy jones not big but can kill you with pace. Again, very few players in our list with an elite weapon like that.

Last years most improved player was snake, this years is Ginbey. Funnily enough these two probably had the biggest offseason and came back in the best shape in the respective years. This offseason now become - you can have a blast in Europe for 10 weeks or you can put your head down and flog yourself together getting afl fit and strong work on your disposal and become a long term afl player.

For this reason I hope we use the rest of the season to give as much of a look as possible to guys like gross, grego, archer etc instead of Kelly Cripps duggan etc so these younger kids know where they need to be fitness wise.

Off-season - Ginbey takes the weights sessions Hamish Davis does the running, get around them as a core group and let’s start building something.

I don’t want to se Jobe play wafl again.
This is on the money. Not only does GWS have more skilled players but they are more skilled AND have a far more advanced team structure and system. The result of that is Eagles players had to chase pretty well non stop. If GWS made a mistake it was easily covered by their team mates whereas our guys were not only put under pressure and outnumbered but also caught out of position by poor decision making and disposal skills.

Not really a positive or a negative but thinking back to Friday night there is one thing that I reckon epitomises the game day experience at Optus during this horror stretch post covid.

It is the number of collective groans from the crowd when our players inevitably stuff up a possession chain with either a turnover by foot or a handball at a teammate’s feet that results in the opposition getting possession and more often than not torching us the other way.

Understand that we’re a young team learning a new game plan but the frustration amongst the fan base is palpable at those moments when you hear the resounding collective groan from the crowd.

Not really a positive or a negative but thinking back to Friday night there is one thing that I reckon epitomises the game day experience at Optus during this horror stretch post covid.

It is the number of collective groans from the crowd when our players inevitably stuff up a possession chain with either a turnover by foot or a handball at a teammate’s feet that results in the opposition getting possession and more often than not torching us the other way.

Understand that we’re a young team learning a new game plan but the frustration amongst the fan base is palpable at those moments when you hear the resounding collective groan from the crowd.

Can't imagine that this would be good for player morale or retention either.

How could we go from how we played away from home against the ladder leaders to the near on tripe we dished up on Friday??
That was what made that game so hard to watch.
We look like we turn a corner only to do a U-turn and go back again.

surprised you can't hear mu wife in front of the TV - she yells 'you idiot' at many of our players players. Hard to defend - all I can offer is he is only 18 etc.

Fold
The
Club
No just recognize we lack the talent, watching players like Callaghan and Green powering GWS's engine room show's you were its at with our list. We have Kelly and Hough, granted a young and fit Yeo would make a difference but his days are long gone now.

I think we've got 80% of the talent but we need to give them more time to hit peak strength/endurance and enough experience to perform consistently.

Some of the wiser heads on here talked about 3 pre-seasons for smalls/mids and 5 for talls to get strong enough to win 1 on 1s. I think that's a great filter which says that come next season, the 2021,2022 and 2023 drafts have hit that for smalls/mids but we still have a couple of seasons before the talls start filtering through.

The other filter is 50 games for enough experience.

I think we've turned a corner tactically with the new coach as well. He has shown his gameplan works, he now needs the cattle to make it work consistently. A couple more list culls, a final run at young talent through this draft, then trade for needs next draft.

We'll be back up in a season or two. I still think Adelaide is the Blueprint - they got robbed for finals in 2023 (5 seasons since their last finals) but should now be top four 7 seasons from last finals. We should aspire for the same.

Autopsy Round 17, 2025: Positives and Negatives vs GWS