Waking up in '95

Video stores boy do I miss them just browsing looking for something obscure every week, hanging out at Time Zone and playing arcade games. Kick to kick on the streets with mates while listening to the footy on radio or cricket in the streets with mates while listening to the cricket on the radio (someone would always bring along a transistor radio). TV was actually good in 1995 some great shows you could watch it and not pay for anything either! Less news and no reality shows for the braindead. You could pop a game into your Super Nintendo or Mega Drive and the game will play straight away no bullshit updates and downloads to wait for before playing and no online crap just you and your mates in the some room having a great old time. Waiting all week to listen to 'Shadow Stevens' and the top 40 countdown every Sunday night on FoxFM to record your favorite songs to make a mixed tape. Yeah it was simple but it was fun take me back...

i agree with all that you said.

1995 was the best of times it was the blurst of times.

year 12. stress
1995 was also the last year before the internet went mainstream in Australia I mean we had heard of this thing called the internet but none of us had actually used it or knew what exactly it was or could do with it as a 15/16 years old. But I remember by the beginning of 1996 most computers at my school had upgraded to Windows 95 and been hooked up to the internet most of us at the time were still trying to work out how to use it with the rare time we had to actually be on it at school. 1996 was also the first time my family brought a PC an IBM Aptiva with 8MB of Ram and a 680MB hard drive! cost of $2500 but not hooked up to the internet had to rely on Microsoft Encarta which come with the PC to do research but it at least saved me trips to the local library. It was a curious and wanderers transitional time. Of course you still had them nerds who already had it at home and able to download games and office applications etc for us to copy and share on floppies. I remember a friend of my brothers downloaded MS office for us and it was like 20 floppy disks we had to hand over to him to copy for us not cheap to buy a pack of 20 floppy's back in 1996.

1995 was also the last year before the internet went mainstream in Australia I mean we had heard of this thing called the internet but none of us had actually used it or knew what exactly it was or could do with it as a 15/16 years old. But I remember by the beginning of 1996 most computers at my school had upgraded to Windows 95 and been hooked up to the internet most of us at the time were still trying to work out how to use it with the rare time we had to actually be on it at school. by 1996 was also the first time my family brought a PC an IBM Aptiva with 8MB of Ram and a 680MB hard drive! cost of $2500 but not hooked up to the internet. It was a curious and wanderers transitional time. Of course you still had them nerds who already had it at home and able to download games and office applications etc for us to copy and share on floppies. I remember a friend of my brothers downloaded MS office for us and it was like 20 floppy disks I had to hand over to him to copy for me not cheap to buy a pack of 20 floppy's back in 1996.
First practical use I can remember was my mate using it to buy pirated games from Hong Kong for pennies for his original PlayStation.

1995? I was still five years away from retiring as a teacher and moving back to the US. It was the last year I taught mostly Junior School. It was the first year I didn't go to the Grand Final since 1976. The next was 2016, flying 10000 miles to get to it, rather than just taking a train from Box Hill.

We were at prospect oval yesterday and its condition imo was a disgrace. Centre square was mud and the oval was extremely patchy. Might have to increase council rates out that way and pay the greens keeper a bit more.

Adelaide Oval actually look after that ground. Many have told me the ovals that they have tried to look after around the city are in really poor condition.

Unley definitely doesn’t look as bad as prospect, Norwood looked really nice last month haven’t been to any others lately

1995? I was still five years away from retiring as a teacher and moving back to the US. It was the last year I taught mostly Junior School. It was the first year I didn't go to the Grand Final since 1976. The next was 2016, flying 10000 miles to get to it, rather than just taking a train from Box Hill.
How did you get tix to every GF?

There were ways back then. The first was a newspaper ballot. I got standing room. A student's mother worked at the MCG in 77 so I got a ticket for the replay. I had standing room for the draw. A fellow teacher's father was a bigwig at Fitzroy, so got a seat through him one year. I joined Footscray's Social Club and got some through that.

In 1989 I lived in Perth and was a West Coast member( I barracked for all the Victorian clubs at the games!) I got a GF ticket through them and booked my flights. Unfortunately there was an airline strike so got a lift with two colleagues and a Year 12 student and drove to Melbourne. We arrived at about 2am GF morning. I was at the game in time to watch part of the Reserves GF. I took a bus back to Perth.

Best was in 1994 - I knew someone at the ticket agency at Myer in Doncaster Shoppingtown. She had gotten me a standing room ticket in 1993 and after it I bought some flowers to thank her. The next year in 1994, when I saw her there to get some NBL tickets, she asked me where I wanted to sit for the GF. She said to come back when team supporter tickets went on sale and ask her for my "ballet tickets". ;) She entered me as a West Coast member. Top deck Olympic stand where I wanted. Couldn't do that nowadays. Unfortunately she retired at the end of 1994.

There were ways back then. The first was a newspaper ballot. I got standing room. A student's mother worked at the MCG in 77 so I got a ticket for the replay. I had standing room for the draw. A fellow teacher's father was a bigwig at Fitzroy, so got a seat through him one year. I joined Footscray's Social Club and got some through that.

In 1989 I lived in Perth and was a West Coast member( I barracked for all the Victorian clubs at the games!) I got a GF ticket through them and booked my flights. Unfortunately there was an airline strike so got a lift with two colleagues and a Year 12 student and drove to Melbourne. We arrived at about 2am GF morning. I was at the game in time to watch part of the Reserves GF. I took a bus back to Perth.

Best was in 1994 - I knew someone at the ticket agency at Myer in Doncaster Shoppingtown. She had gotten me a standing room ticket in 1993 and after it I bought some flowers to thank her. The next year in 1994, when I saw her there to get some NBL tickets, she asked me where I wanted to sit for the GF. She said to come back when team supporter tickets went on sale and ask her for my "ballet tickets". ;) She entered me as a West Coast member. Top deck Olympic stand where I wanted. Couldn't do that nowadays. Unfortunately she retired at the end of 1994.
Yeah I got a ticket to the GF 95 no problems at all. At Bass, hours after they had all "Sold out", they had something like five extra tickets to sell and I got one of them.

Mum couldn't because she wasn't a member then. But got a phone call 9pm GF eve, next door neighbour won a ticket in the raffle at the pub it was hers.

Thank god we both got to go :rolleyesv1:

Year 12 was my most fun year, stressful yes but all the 18th etc were a lot of fun.

I was in year 9 in 95, was a good year for me, a good age for stubbies in the reserve next to my mates ha ha
I didn't find VCE stressful at all tbh. I enjoyed all my subjects and it's not like I was studying to be a doctor or anything. I had a good year in 97

waking up in ‘95...

Easter Sunday I was in the Merimbula area when that tornado hit overnight

Well since I did two year 12 subjects in year 11 I only did 4 in year 12 so got a lot of study hall, really helped I reckon.
I had 8am classes Monday, Tuesday, Thursday and Friday in Year 12. That was the only bullshit part of the year.

Had a 10.30 start Wednesdays tho.

Yeah spares were great. We'd go up the shops for fish and chips. Teachers didn't care

I had 8am classes Monday, Tuesday, Thursday and Friday in Year 12. That was the only bullshit part of the year.

Had a 10.30 start Wednesdays tho.

Yeah spares were great. We'd go up the shops for fish and chips. Teachers didn't care

That was the best bit about year 12, it was so focused on the assessments and all that that nothing else really mattered.

I'm so glad we got to do CATs. My next door neighbours office was my home away from home getting them done and had a milk bar open late next door to it.

Continuous assessment was a pain in the arse. I was a great fan of the take it easy then ace the exam style of education.
I hated exams as I would crack under the pressure and was a shit at studying.

Waking up in '95