List Mgmt. 2025 List Management discussion

I’d be disinterested in playing for Carlton too right now.
Probably needs a new lease on life and a new challenges. A lot of players thrive after a change.

If you can't fire up when you club is on its knees you are a bit of a soft $&^%. If I was playing for any club I'd want to be able to respect myself and teammates by performing at my absolute best.

I'd rather pay something for good players rather than pick up some garbage for free. Gardiner is like finding a 20 year old plasma TV in hard rubbish.
Good players want to play senior football week in week out. Gardiner would be a Cordy type - happy to play in the 2s and develop the youngsters and can do a role at AFL level if required. I wouldn't call him 'rubbish' - GF player from 2023

Message for NAS:

I’m done.

Man up, and make a decision.
A career is short, you can move home afterwards.
It’s an hour’s flight ffs.
American sportsmen and Premier league soccer players are expected to move across the country at the drop of a hat.
Some of us packed up leaving family and friends and history behind and moved thousands of kilometres away from home.

I’m aware that a lot of this is probably driven by his manager to try and squeeze everything they can put of us - but don’t hold the club and it’s supporters to ransom.
Send it via the MCG anti-social hotline, mate.

Nas ain't going to see it here.

You're an absolute savage :tearsofjoy:

Put Cordy on the LTI against his wishes...and the rules.

Send Nas back to Sandy if he is leaving.

Look I get where you are coming from with supporter blinkers on, but if we did either of the above, no one would want to join a club that treats their players like sh*t.

There is a bigger picture that trumps nearly all of your recent opinion.
We’ve being saying you can’t do that, goodwill blah blah for how long. I’m waiting for won’t someone think of the children, how’s that worked out for us.

I see we’re inundated with players and their managers kicking the door down to join us. Botts was going on about how loosing Nas would be a lousy look for our indigenous players, posters are making up new reasons for us to shut up and leave quietly.

If Nas tells us he’s off then I’m all for farewelling him at Sandy, screw him we have guys who want to play for us who need game time.

It's having a bet each way as player managers want a fluid movement. It's still not something the fan bases like. We still expect loyalty and passion like we had in the olden days where you'd represent your local suburb and the guys two street over an arbitrary boundary are mortal enemies.

People have an absolute melt when players smile and hug Josh Battle after a game.
The player managers would still get that, in fact theyd get more with more time to create bidding wars. The only potential issue i could see if player x announces theyre off to wherever and then a trade doesnt get done, but really, that can happen now during the trade week so again, more time just gives more time to make sure a trade can get done.

Aside from appeasing the boomers who think players give a shit about the club cause they were born there or whatever, there is zero benefit to the current system aside from the clickbait "hearing whispers of X player on the market".

It was actually quite funny listening to BT press Mitch Cleary on TDK last night and getting politician style "im led to believe" responses.

If you can't fire up when you club is on its knees you are a bit of a soft $&^%. If I was playing for any club I'd want to be able to respect myself and teammates by performing at my absolute best.
If youre already leaving for $500k more a year somewhere else i reckon you might feel differently.

Ive half assed my notice period at every single job ive ever had and im barely even using half my ass to begin with.

It's Carlton though tbh.

Really like the look of Hastie. It's going to take awhile, but the kids in the 18-20 range look good.

They always do but probably well under 20% of kids make it to 100 games let alone star. I think about 50% of first round picks make it to 100 games. Those that actually end up stars would be under 2%. Nas is the only top end star talent we've drafted since Rooey 25 year ago. The arrogance that we can just shift one out and replace him with someone already at the club is insane.

Garcia, Phillipou, Darcy, Travaglia and Tauru all look high end potential. Keeler, Ari, Caminiti, Collard, Boxshall, Dodson, Hastie, Collard and Barratt might make it to good ordinary player level or above but plenty won't. A couple might even be stars but you probably expect around 3 to make it judging by statistical data. Caminiti and Keeler looking most likely based on games played.

If youre already leaving for $500k more a year somewhere else i reckon you might feel differently.

Ive half assed my notice period at every single job ive ever had and im barely even using half my ass to begin with.

Bit different when it's scrutinised though. AFL is so far outside a normal job.

I’m not as end of the world if Nas goes. We would need serious compo and 1 first rounder wouldnt come anywhere near what we need. Having that said I think he stays for the 2.
I still think our stocks are strong if you give the kids time to develop. Pou, Windy, Mitch, Darcy, Trav, Gus Hastie, Viking, Hall, Max K, Dodson. Don’t think there is any need for panic just some calculated list decisions. Out Marshall in TDK, Aleer and a couple of 1st rounders.
Port will not be anywhere near contention over the next 2 years so Nas would need to resign himself to being in the same position or possibly worse. He won’t elevate them into contention but good luck if he does go that way and hope his mates get around him when he finds himself in a list changing and with less development.

Port have been a top 4 side for years and are stacked with good young talent. I think externally people would look at them with more hope than us in the short term.

We’ve being saying you can’t do that, goodwill blah blah for how long. I’m waiting for won’t someone think of the children, how’s that worked out for us.

I see we’re inundated with players and their managers kicking the door down to join us. Botts was going on about how loosing Nas would be a lousy look for our indigenous players, posters are making up new reasons for us to shut up and leave quietly.

If Nas tells us he’s off then I’m all for farewelling him at Sandy, screw him we have guys who want to play for us who need game time.
I get the supporter frustration and anger but the answer is not treating players like sh*t.

It's as simple as that.

The answer is trying to make ourselves an attractive destination. That and that alone.

Only if he feels that.

Carlton is such a shit show right now that the scrutiny is barely even rating for him, its all on Voss and the board.

Not for me. That's 100% on the players. They are getting paid to play for their club and put up a minimum standard of performance. Essendon have barely got 22 fit players but they are out there putting in 100%. That's player leaders and individual effort. I'd want to tear up my membership if I was a Blues fan.

Trading out Marshall, Steele and a Wilkie and we can get access to first round picks now. Tassie doesn't impact that.

For the NAS trade we may simply have no choice but to accept future first rounders from Port. They can't make Bergman or Butters go against their will.

Ultimately, the accepting the rebuild part (Steele, Marshall, Wilkie gone), would generate picks right now.

This is our last chance to put our hand up and admit we need to go full rebuild and get maximum trade value before its too late.

If NAS goes finals are absolutely off the table the next 2-3 years anyway until some of our younger blokes get to 100 games.

Personally, I think people are being far too spooked by Tassie coming into the comp. It is not like they are getting guaranteed access to the 10 best young kids every year into the foreseeable future.

The draft is already compromised. We just have to make lemonade from lemons. The worst thing we should be doing is attempting to let Lyon off the hook by bringing in existing B grade talent instead of picks.
Steady on, we’ve seen what happens when you have a bunch of kids with a few journeyman and it isn’t pretty.

Imo we can’t carry a lot more youth remembering that we’ll say goodby to several more older players over the next 2 years. I would keep Marshall but he probably leaves and that makes some sense as he has potentially 1st round value and we are replacing him with TDK. Steele has little value and as such is more valuable staying, Wilkie is a gun and we don’t have a replacement on the list. Sinclair is untouchable for a variety of reasons including falling value due to age.

Take your Nas trade if it happens, this years 1st and next years 1st. Imo that’s all you need, just can’t carry anymore and stay competitive. You’d also need to move Ross the boss aside, director of coaching ?. Anyway we can’t saddle him with a full rebuild after a quite attempt to rebuild and would we even want him at the helm.

If you work through the blow up the place scenario it’s likely to be a long, long time before the sun comes out again. GWS, GC, North have been at it how long ?. Take a look at LDU he’s about 120 + games in and has what 20 odd wins.

I really think if we did that then it could be the end of us. You have to remember that the music stops with Tassie joining, relocation is dead. So it’s a merger from here on in and you need a partner for that.

Not for me. That's 100% on the players. They are getting paid to play for their club and put up a minimum standard of performance. Essendon have barely got 22 fit players but they are out there putting in 100%. That's player leaders and individual effort. I'd want to tear up my membership if I was a Blues fan.
Yeh, i mean i get supporter frustration, my point was more about TDK. Hes gone at the end of the year and theyre not playing finals... I dont really see the point. Hes not enhancing his contract at Carlton, he already has a contract with us. Its not like hes refusing to play, he just looks like he doesnt care but what does he have to care about?

That club only has pride to play for and he doesnt give a shit about Carlton pride when hes not gonna be there in 10 weeks.

And which of his other teammates are performing at their best?
When the seasons over, everyone knows it. Or maybe they just don’t want to play for their coach.

Send it via the MCG anti-social hotline, mate.

Nas ain't going to see it here.
Well obviously.
Just getting my frustrations out amongst friends. 😝

I get the supporter frustration and anger but the answer is not treating players like sh*t.

It's as simple as that.

The answer is trying to make ourselves an attractive destination. That and that alone.
It’s not treating anyone in any way other than what they deserve, if you’re not here next year then you don’t belong at afl level at a club out of finals contentions.

All this good guy pearl clutching nonsense hasn’t done us one bit of good. When players choose to leave the club all their owed is a handshake and best wishes at best.

Maybe we should drive him around marvel in an open top so we can all throw roses and cheer, I bet that would impress potential recruits. Maybe it’s just me but hard and fair seems a lot more attractive to me in a football club than weak and fawning.

Excellence requires a lot of things including being ruthless when and we’re it’s needed.

Shits me no end , they get Smith for essentially pick 17. A few years back they trade out Tim Kelly and west coast just throw early first rounders at them. Then there is the WTF Jack Bowes, situation. Was no other club seriously going to look at him for less than Pick 7. (.And Bowes is probably no worst than our group of second hand Carlton players ). Its like rebuilds just fall in their lap.
This

They always do but probably well under 20% of kids make it to 100 games let alone star. I think about 50% of first round picks make it to 100 games. Those that actually end up stars would be under 2%. Nas is the only top end star talent we've drafted since Rooey 25 year ago. The arrogance that we can just shift one out and replace him with someone already at the club is insane.

Garcia, Phillipou, Darcy, Travaglia and Tauru all look high end potential. Keeler, Ari, Caminiti, Collard, Boxshall, Dodson, Hastie, Collard and Barratt might make it to good ordinary player level or above but plenty won't. A couple might even be stars but you probably expect around 3 to make it judging by statistical data. Caminiti and Keeler looking most likely based on games played.
Uh, who is saying that?
Not 99% of this board, I’ll warrant.