Preview R18: Changes vs. Western Bulldogs

Who comes into the 23 for Rachele?

If we win this game will the lid be open? Or will there still be doubts? Massive game in the context of the season. If we lose by a small margin not panic stations yet if you look at the drawer, lots of teams around us playing each other off before seasons end.

I don’t know if winning proves a whole lot, as I think we would all say that our best footy is good enough to beat the Dogs. The only exception is if we manage to get it done in a close finish, and show that we have made steps to correcting that issue.

From a ladder and finals fixture perspective though it would be huge for getting us to top 2, which is where I might start to get bullish on our chances.

Assuming 16 wins is enough to finish 2nd, which I think it probably will be, that means we need to go 5-2 at minimum. We should beat Port, West Coast and North, meaning we need to win 2 of Dogs, Suns, Hawks and Pies. Winning tomorrow will mean we’ll have two cracks at home of getting the second of those and the odds start to be in our favour.

Did you have to bring that b@stards name up? I'll never forgive him for how he forced us to part with Rendell and then without blinking happily allowed said Rendell join Collingwood. His reign as CEO was a stain on our game

He didn't force us to do anything, the most useless CEO to grace this earth folded like a pack of cards because he wasn't a fan of Rendell. Rendell spoke too much sense and didn't kiss Stevens bunghole.

How could we be forced to sack Rendell when he was working for Collingwood 6 months later?? "This man cannot work in the AFL industry" Six months later "Yep, all good mate".

C'mon, we could've and would've kept him with a competent CEO, it's very weak trying to blame the big bad AFL when we make our own bad decisions.

If we win this, it gives us “away win against good opponent” clout and wide acceptance as a flag threat.

If we lose, even by a point, nobody will take us seriously, which will prove we are a 5-8th side filled with pretenders.

Even if we win every game for the remainder of the season, we will finish in the top 4 but the doubts will still be there….

I don’t know if winning proves a whole lot, as I think we would all say that our best footy is good enough to beat the Dogs. The only exception is if we manage to get it done in a close finish, and show that we have made steps to correcting that issue.

From a ladder and finals fixture perspective though it would be huge for getting us to top 2, which is where I might start to get bullish on our chances.

Assuming 16 wins is enough to finish 2nd, which I think it probably will be, that means we need to go 5-2 at minimum. We should beat Port, West Coast and North, meaning we need to win 2 of Dogs, Suns, Hawks and Pies. Winning tomorrow will mean we’ll have two cracks at home of getting the second of those and the odds start to be in our favour.
16 wins with our percentage should be enough for top 4, It wouldn't be enough for top 2.

Lose this week against another contender top 2 would in all probability be gone and we'd be under pressure having to win 5 of our last 6 to make top 4.

This week's game is huge.

Blighty, as in Malcolm Blight? :oops: and Kelly dismissed the idea???
Do you have a link to that interview please? Why was Blighty interviewing Kelly?

If I was Head Coach and Malcolm Blight said that to me, I'd have Nankervis on a HFF in a heartbeat, at least in the SANFL to see what he could do there.
To be fair hasn’t Nankervis been playing more as a HF since he gone back to the SANFL?

16 wins with our percentage should be enough for top 4, It wouldn't be enough for top 2.

Lose this week against another contender top 2 would in all probability be gone and we'd be under pressure having to win 5 of our last 6 to make top 4.

This week's game is huge.

I had only had a brief look, checked again and didn’t realise how easy the Cats runs home is, they should comfortably get to 17 wins. I reckon 16 will be enough to jump the Lions and stay ahead of others.

I reckon Geelong will be Premiers.

Ticks off the last item on Danger's list

Premiership Captain

Sometimes players do get their bodies right, and if they’re a potential match winner it’s worth persisting.

Jamie Elliot is a great example of that at the moment.
Agree with concept but Pedlar hasn't shown nearly enough yet to be in the match winner category.

He might be slower maturing into a professional athlete like Worrell was, and from that perspective, he's worth waiting for.

Needs a great lift in his defensive running and effort too. I'm sure the coaches have noticed. His style of small forward craft is very unsustainable in a 3 tall forward line.

ANB, Benny and Izak style should be his target.

I reckon Geelong will be Premiers.

Ticks off the last item on Danger's list

Premiership Captain
That sounds like a fairytale ending. No doubt the AFL will be watching and should we make it to a GF against them, expect certain umpires to be selected (think Stevic etc) and then the GF being umpired like our GF v Richmond so the AFL can make 100% sure that fairytale come true for Danger.

Yep a win tomorrow would be massive.

That sounds like a fairytale ending. No doubt the AFL will be watching and should we make it to a GF against them, expect certain umpires to be selected (think Stevic etc) and then the GF being umpired like our GF v Richmond so the AFL can make 100% sure that fairytale come true for Danger.
Then straight onto the AFL Commission

Agree with concept but Pedlar hasn't shown nearly enough yet to be in the match winner category.

He might be slower maturing into a professional athlete like Worrell was, and from that perspective, he's worth waiting for.

Needs a great lift in his defensive running and effort too. I'm sure the coaches have noticed. His style of small forward craft is very unsustainable in a 3 tall forward line.

ANB, Benny and Izak style should be his target.

He’s a very different player to those guys.

ANB is a good runner, clean and composed and has good skills. Keays is sheer work rate and intensity, plus some really good smarts. Izak is super fast and agile, has that great core strength, and incredible skills.

Pedlar’s strength is his speed, explosiveness and powerful kicking. If he makes it either as a forward or mid, his progression will be about being able to repeat short explosive bursts, rather then repeated gut running like you’d see from ANB or Keays.

I think he’s worth sticking with, because if we let him go we’d probably be replacing him with probably someone near a third rounder. If you’re betting on who is more likely to develop in to a best 23 player between Pedlar and a third rounder, I reckon we’ve seen enough to suggest Luke is worth sticking with.

The last 3 Geelong captains have all finished on a flag
So beating them in the gf this year would taste all the sweeter.

That said, if Geelong don't win the flag this year, I'm totally convinced that Patrick Dangerfield would be somewhat happy for the Crows to to win.

Can see them getting knocked over in another Prelim

So beating them in the gf this year would taste all the sweeter.

That said, if Geelong don't win the flag this year, I'm totally convinced that Patrick Dangerfield would be somewhat happy for the Crows to to win.

And on the flip side, if it’s not us, I’d love to see Danger go out on top.

Never understood why there’s so much hate for him amongst some Crows fans.

He’s a very different player to those guys.

ANB is a good runner, clean and composed and has good skills. Keays is sheer work rate and intensity, plus some really good smarts. Izak is super fast and agile, has that great core strength, and incredible skills.

Pedlar’s strength is his speed, explosiveness and powerful kicking. If he makes it either as a forward or mid, his progression will be about being able to repeat short explosive bursts, rather then repeated gut running like you’d see from ANB or Keays.

I think he’s worth sticking with, because if we let him go we’d probably be replacing him with probably someone near a third rounder. If you’re betting on who is more likely to develop in to a best 23 player between Pedlar and a third rounder, I reckon we’ve seen enough to suggest Luke is worth sticking with.
Agree he's worth persevering with.

My comparison to our other small forwards was meant to emphasise their desperation with both attacking and defending. I see him as a bit of a down hill skier at this stage of his career which is a label you couldn't give to the other three.

I agree he's a bit different to each of them with his weapons.

Preview R18: Changes vs. Western Bulldogs