List Mgmt. 2025 List Management discussion

Adam Simpson basically laughed at Tom Morris insisting the media were being fed accurate numbers from player managers.

Used Tim Kelly's contract as an example - which he actually read firsthand - saying the media were so far off the actual number despite what they claimed.
Yep, and yet the wider footy public swallow it every. single. time.

I agree.

I’m wondering why other clubs aren’t having a crack.
Seems like we got work into him early and built that relationship.

It was also reported months ago that he shares a manager with Tauru (the agency only has a few clients) and Tauru's glowing endorsement of the club sold them on it for their other clients.

It certainly means GWS can’t be asking for too much in a trade. Their offer is less than the average player wage.
They’ll start at a future 1 and it will be dialled back to a future 2nd and maybe some later pick back to us.

Gubby does all the dealings with the giants. It will be fine

Losing after leading all day isn't good. Just another depressing result in the worst season we've had since Richo.
Mate we weren’t going into that game expecting to win
Should we have won?
Probably
But I walked out happy that the direction is sound - we played all over them (top 4 side in current form who won their last 3)
We can’t do it for long enough yet - Lyon said it but I’m more confident that our best with our full side will be very competitive against top teams …just need to do it for longer and build out kids
Pep up! It ain’t all doom and gloom

I don't understand why Nas would care. If he wants to go home, it's exceedingly rare that it doesn't get done, with one club generally being on the receiving end
Nas probably won’t but it’s a unique situation. Nas isn’t disgruntled, he doesn’t hate the club and we don’t want to lose him. The out of contract status almost becomes irrelevant too, he’s not getting to the psd and if he did he wouldn’t get to port (worst case a team is using him to buy draft picks).

Ports gonna have to do something cause their two future firsts aren’t sufficient. Get creative with the picks or use a player.

Mate we weren’t going into that game expecting to win
Should we have won?
Probably
But I walked out happy that the direction is sound - we played all over them (top 4 side in current form who won their last 3)
We can’t do it for long enough yet - Lyon said it but I’m more confident that our best with our full side will be very competitive against top teams …just need to do it for longer and build out kids
Pep up! It ain’t all doom and gloom
I’m in the rather lose for the pick camp but I reckon it’s fair to be pretty disappointed with the year.

It’s also fair to see green shoots and have hope spring eternal but we ARE 15th, in a year we were supposed to be building and starting that push.

People who wanna give Ross and co a mulligan on this year have every right to do so but I think you gotta admit you have to make a lot of caveats on the performance to do that.

I’m in the rather lose for the pick camp but I reckon it’s fair to be pretty disappointed with the year.

It’s also fair to see green shoots and have hope spring eternal but we ARE 15th, in a year we were supposed to be building and starting that push.

People who wanna give Ross and co a mulligan on this year have every right to do so but I think you gotta admit you have to make a lot of caveats on the performance to do that.
I’m thinking that having 9 debutants for the year and getting games into the kids is building, albeit on the lower rungs of the ladder.
Need the foundations first.

Should probably also be noted that whilst no one is really obligated to give the response to “what would you have done differently” (none of us is a coach getting a million a year to run the club) gringo2011 has done chapter and verse about how he thinks things should have been done.

You can disagree with what he’s said but don’t claim he hasn’t offered alternatives.

I’m thinking that having 9 debutants for the year and getting games into the kids is building, albeit on the lower rungs of the ladder.
Need the foundations first.
Sure, I can see that.

I can also see people noting that we had foundations last year, we’ve argurably improved the list overall and yet we’ve gone backwards on the ladder.

Again, you can give reasons for that and others can counter them.

Ultimately we’re 15th, nobody is happy about that and it’s fair to not see blue skies ahead.

FMD you are dramatic. We had a great performance on the weekend, and at this stage the players that have been rumoured to leave (beyond Nas) are expendable. Carry on like a sad campaigner when your fears eventuate.
We lost a home game to a mid table team after being up by 3 goals early in the 4th.

Once again failed to run out the game. I just don't see how that was a "great" performance.

This is an even comp. Wins should not be this difficult. Unless you think we are genuinely North/Richmond levels we absolutely should not be happy with losing to the Swans at home.

There is more than enough talent on the list to be consistently winning games at Marvel.

Yes, doing whatever they want. It didn’t resemble a plan whatsoever does it.

And they have no way of getting him if we say no deal.

It looked like a plan and now they are doing weird St Kilda shit again. It's like our attention span has a limit before going off of a tangent.

We lost a home game to a mid table team after being up by 3 goals early in the 4th.

Once again failed to run out the game. I just don't see how that was a "great" performance.

This is an even comp. Wins should not be this difficult. Unless you think we are genuinely North/Richmond levels we absolutely should not be happy with losing to the Swans at home.

There is more than enough talent on the list to be consistently winning games at Marvel.
Sure, I can see that.

I can also see people noting that we had foundations last year, we’ve argurably improved the list overall and yet we’ve gone backwards on the ladder.

Ultimately we’re 15th, nobody is happy about that and it’s fair to not see blue skies ahead.
We have had 0 games out of king
3 from Dougal
And 4 with 2 early subs from Pou.

We have also lost 4 games by <20 points.

You flip the script on those 4 and you are a game out of the 8 with Melbourne North Richmond & Essendon to come with Geelong and the Giants either side.

That’s not me defending the year. I had high expectations pre round 1. But you would be pretty biased to say that there wouldn’t be a fair old swing had those 3 played this year.

It looked like a plan and now they are doing weird St Kilda shit again. It's like our attention span has a limit before going off of a tangent.
Why because Battle went and you don’t like how much it costs to land TDK?

Except our last few weeks against a potential GF’list, a top 8 side in Freo and last years GF’list who have won their last 5 games were not shit performances.
Which players do you know are wanting out?
We don’t even know for sure yet that NAS does .
Freo not good at all. Pies in a flat spot, still won by 6 goals in the end. Swans have absolutely not won 5 games in a row.

They lost to Doggies a couple of weeks ago, and are 3-4 the last 7 weeks. Have quite literally only beaten Freo, Port (crap side) and Tigers. Played okay against the Hawks I guess, still lost comfortably in the end.

Have to say though, a lot of people seem pretty comfortable losing 5 in a row and going 2-11 the last 13 weeks.

In an even comp, where u really should be a chance almost all weeks, I would say this is a bad as 3 month stretch relative to the talent on the list in the last 15 years.

We have been super disappointing this year.

3 from Dougal

You flip the script on those 4 and you are a game out of the 8 with Melbourne North Richmond & Essendon to come with Geelong and the Giants either side.

That’s not me defending the year. I had high expectations pre round 1. But you would be pretty biased to say that there wouldn’t be a fair old swing had those 3 played this year.
Camma has been equal to the Dougal we’ve had and Kings missed a shitload of footy. Pou is still a child.

Again, IM not saying the years been a ****ing bust and Ross should be sacked but to my point for every “oh but x” there’s a “yeh but y”.

If you’re a glass half full guy sure but by your own admission here you shifted the goalposts mid year. As some point we can’t keep doing that.

Stavro said he'd be gone if Bergman and a FRDP was available didn't he?
I just can’t get that excited by a guy who plays hbf and looks like an uber driver.

Players come and go but the club survives. If Sydney had stuck with the hard tag he’d have had under 20 including kick outs. Talk of $2 million a year is crazy, ask the Adelaide clubs for the world and send Nas home.

If they don’t come to the party then say he’s going to the draft and watch the afl find a way to salvage the situation.

Absolutely nothing wrong with this deal.

Looks better than $900k at least. Not sure he's the missing piece but at least we aren't paying too much. Hopefully we don't have to pay too much draft capital now.

There’s clearly two different camp of supporters…

Those who are worried about the process. These supporters are overall pleased (insert richo meme here) with what we’ve done to rebuild our list with some genuine talent and have seen plenty of positives over the last month.

Those who are worried about outcomes. These guys are mega pissed we’re not winning games with the list we have despite acknowledging we’re rebuilding.

3 from Dougal

Could just as easily say Port, Cats and Dees should have beaten us. All 3 games they missed a ridiculous amount of easy shots.

Of the ones we lost, only the Swans game were we really a chance.

So we are paying Aleer the same money that Perryman got at Collingwood.

Which automatically proves your point wrong. Perryman isn’t a star

Perryman was at least an established best 22 player. Anyway at least his wage isn't as ridiculous as put out in the media.

Sure, I can see that.

So how did we improve the list overall?
We got rid of list cloggers - Battle excepted - and brought in kids.
Of course we’d go backwards.

Assuming more experienced players in TDK, Aleer ( not quite as experienced but still been in the system) come in, and of course assuming we keep NAS, for me, 2026 is the year we must improve.

Doubt there’ll be as much list gutting end of this year because we haven’t got as many to cull as previous years.

Looks better than $900k at least. Not sure he's the missing piece but at least we aren't paying too much. Hopefully we don't have to pay too much draft capital now.
You know which other deal will end up having a similar theme Gringo?