Opinion Is this rock bottom?

LOL. I've made my point about that repeatedly. You know what I meant and if you don't there's no real point saying it again.

Geelong have had two coaches across this entire century and the same people behind the scenes doing the same thing they've done for decades. That is stability.

So even if those in charge are shite you would keep them for the sake of stability. Funny thing ol mate who's good friends with some players, tells me bits and pieces.

One player was shaking his head at a couple of guys that get selected each week. I do ponder what that means, is this player resigned to having a football career that on a personal level will be pretty solid when it all ends, but on any other measure a total failure.

A total failure. 19.5 wins in nearly six completed seasons, I'd shove stability where the sun don't shine, for having a side competitive on the field. Not even asking for a win, just be competitive for the duration of the game.

So even if those in charge are shite you would keep them for the sake of stability. Funny thing ol mate who's good friends with some players, tells me bits and pieces.

One player was shaking his head at a couple of guys that get selected each week. I do ponder what that means, is this player resigned to having a football career that on a personal level will be pretty solid when it all ends, but on any other measure a total failure.

A total failure. 19.5 wins in nearly six completed seasons, I'd shove stability where the sun don't shine, for having a side competitive on the field. Not even asking for a win, just be competitive for the duration of the game.
Shaking his head because they are too young and no good or too old and no good 😉

LOL. I've made my point about that repeatedly. You know what I meant and if you don't there's no real point saying it again.

Geelong have had two coaches across this entire century and the same people behind the scenes doing the same thing they've done for decades. That is stability.
Being sarcastic. I completely agree with you.

How are we stable?

Someone was posting in the coaching thread that the four different coaches we had in the past four seasons all had the same problems with players.

Four different coaches!

We're extremely stable. We suck every week and finish every year last or second last. Couldn't be stabler!

Stability can be a strength — but in weak organisations like ours, it often becomes a justification for inertia. It's used to protect positions rather than performance. We have many weak links. The responsible choice is to either strengthen them or remove them. Preserving them in the name of 'stability' is not strategic — it’s the definition of stupidity.

Xavier Clark as forwards coach🤮
Patch Adams as midfield coach 🤮
Rawlings as list manager 🤮
Jen Watt as CEO 🤮
Sonja Hood as Pres 🤮

Clarko seems defeated/lost/disinterested. Is he hoping for a tap on the shoulder?
He and Viney have been totally underwhelming.

So yeah, the club is on its knees with absolute knuckle-heads steering the ship.

But winning the women’s flag last year was such a positive endorsement of those in charge.

I suspect Sonja and Co. are busting for the women’s season to start so that the men’s shlt-show can be swept under the carpet.

I think.... the seasons almost over. We've shown spurts. But we did that last year. The only way this season is a success now is if we win 2 more games. Simple. Richmond and St kilda will do. And is doable. I doubt it happens, and I fear richmond beat us.

Otherwise.... it's a shambles. And no reason why next season will be any better except natural development which has given us nothing for a decade

I think.... the seasons almost over. We've shown spurts. But we did that last year. The only way this season is a success now is if we win 2 more games. Simple. Richmond and St kilda will do. And is doable. I doubt it happens, and I fear richmond beat us.

Otherwise.... it's a shambles. And no reason why next season will be any better except natural development which has given us nothing for a decade
Exactly. Some people on this board like to think that the improvement has been substantial from last year to this year but the reality is that the improvement has been minimal, because like you said we showed spurts last year as well. The spurts we've shown this year have been for slightly longer.

I think the difference from this time last year vs this year is we have won 2 more games and have a 12% better %, but yet we remain 17th.

With a little pondering rock bottom will be when the 20th franchise enters the comp. No way anyone would think that's a great idea.

So I see a world where.

2x QLD
2x NSW
2xWA
1x Tassie
3x Sth Aus
8x Vic

total of 18 clubs.

With a little pondering rock bottom will be when the 20th franchise enters the comp. No way anyone would think that's a great idea.

So I see a world where.

2x QLD
2x NSW
2xWA
1x Tassie
3x Sth Aus
8x Vic

total of 18 clubs.
There would be 3 WA clubs before 3SA

We're extremely stable. We suck every week and finish every year last or second last. Couldn't be stabler!

Stability can be a strength — but in weak organisations like ours, it often becomes a justification for inertia. It's used to protect positions rather than performance. We have many weak links. The responsible choice is to either strengthen them or remove them. Preserving them in the name of 'stability' is not strategic — it’s the definition of stupidity.

All we've done is change things. At no point since bard have we actually had the stability everyone thinks we have right now.

Its a myth.

I don't think we should keep everyone for the sake of keeping them either. I think we have two line coaches who need to justify their performance over the last six months and we need to focus on skills and composure. Whoever is doing our stuff with being in the moment/composure and whatnot needs to explain themselves as well.

Xavier Clark as forwards coach🤮
Patch Adams as midfield coach 🤮
Rawlings as list manager 🤮
Jen Watt as CEO 🤮
Sonja Hood as Pres 🤮

Clarko seems defeated/lost/disinterested. Is he hoping for a tap on the shoulder?
He and Viney have been totally underwhelming.
Serious question Devil Fish, I’m not saying the above shouldn’t be held accountable they most certainly should and if that means they’re replaced then fine. But who is going to replace them? Who in their right mind is going to see having North Melbourne on their resume as a good thing for their career aspirations? Off field is no different to on field we’re scraping the bottom of the barrel.

We got this much improvement by adding Darling, Daniel’s and Parker?
Great to see the recent recruits got better in McKercher and FOS.
Saw good stuff by Hardeman.
Saw regression from George and Sheezel.
Saw some classic coasters - Powell, Larkey, Zuurhar.
Saw absolutely **** all from Jy, Logue, Comben, Fisher, Corr.

This club is a disaster at the moment as it has been for 5 years as far as the footy world is concerned. Richmond 4 months into a rebuild is ahead of our 5 year rebuild which has been a shambles. Add to the fact they probably will have our pick 2 and their pick 3 in the draft should they finish above us which is looking more likely than not. We dont even have a first round pick cos we gave it to them didnt we. You couldnt make this stuff up. Problem is the players believe their own bath water that they will be a good side. I really doubt they will be. Our first round picks besides Sheezel and FOS I doubt are all that good and we carry too many average footballers. At least 9 every week would struggle to get games at most other clubs. Our skills are deplorable and show no signs of getting any better. From the coaches to the players this club needs to get its act together or close up shop seriously.

It just feels like we are stuck in a doom loop. Our midfield gets hyped as being an up and coming formidable force yet we get beaten there most weeks. We lack a genuine power forward to take the heat off Larkey. We have very few elite ball users off half back and no big bodied and/or pacey ( as in elite speed) mids.

We are ruining young men's careers IMO and if they decide they've had enough, the situation just keeps on repeating itself where we are a young side with "potential". The last 5-6 years has been really deflating as a supporter and has me questioning my decision to make my son barrack for this once proud club. It's really sad

We got this much improvement by adding Darling, Daniel’s and Parker?
Great to see the recent recruits got better in McKercher and FOS.
Saw good stuff by Hardeman.
Saw regression from George and Sheezel.
Saw some classic coasters - Powell, Larkey, Zuurhar.
Saw absolutely **** all from Jy, Logue, Comben, Fisher, Corr.
We got this much improvement from darling and parker, daniel has made us worse.

this is fos first year? how can he get better?

don’t know if you can call zuurhaar a coaster after having his best year

and you saw absolutely **** all from our best defender?

We got this much improvement from darling and parker, daniel has made us worse.

this is fos first year? how can he get better?

don’t know if you can call zuurhaar a coaster after having his best year

and you saw absolutely **** all from our best defender?
And the penny dropped with larkey the last couple of weeks before getting injured but he will never be a clunking beast more one who patrols the pheroipials. However the first half of the year was bog average. We also need a defensive beast . really hope Dawson can grow into that roll.

We literally have zero depth and the only position with coverage is the half forward flank.

We’re basically back to being competitive like we were under that Ratten period a couple of years ago.

We’ve got to that partly because of some senior recruits and also some of the youngsters getting a bit better which is natural.

Skills from some of our senior players/leaders aren’t getting any better; forward entry hasn’t improved at all.

It is what it is.

If the players are at each other that doesn't bode well.

I assume said player would not be the only with a level of discontent. Are we looking at trade requests?

Not sure we can go further down. I'm like a few and have lost a lot of interest. Wasn't until Friday I realised we play Saturday.

I enjoy the chat on here for the most part. I don't read the paper. I have a mate with some wonderful stories from days gone by.

Our lack of competitiveness is on us, all on us . I cannot see how those in charge have the ability to turn this around.

I feel for some of our better players and would completely understand if they want out .
Cam Zurhaar has played in over 100 losses.
No decent players want to go to North. We have become just like Fitzroy in those last few years, well similar but without their ticker.

The game has moved past being a battler from the suburbs.

Serious question, one which old mate could answer.....why the **** do any of them sign on when they could easily move elsewhere?

Zurhaaar, Larkey, LDU could have taken free agency. Xerri just extended until 2099. Makes no sense. You'd think they'd be on the first train out.

Opinion Is this rock bottom?