Review R20: The Good, the Bad and the Ugly vs. Port: Like taking candy from a baby

Was at the game, avoided getting rained on by about a row or two. Could not believe how well we played in the rain. I swear someone gave our players a reverse lobotomy over summer. We were playing smart wet weather footy. Kicking off the ground, kicking chest high and taking chest marks. We were just so impressive. If we didn't spray the first quarter kicks at goal a 100+ margin would've been child's play.

How did people TT winning the Showdown Medal look on TV? Everyone around me at the game thought Soligo was absolutely stiff to miss out.

Also I know we have so much bigger fish to fry, but **** me, being ahead in the ledger never gets old. We've spent so much of our lives behind in the ledger (a quick look at the wiki suggests we went 17 years without going ahead). So to be 2 ahead is just such a good feeling, meaning that even if we implode next year and lose both we still can't go behind unless they also somehow beat us in a final. And judging on current form, that seems... unlikely.

No it isn't. No it won't.

If you had the opportunity (and I get you live somewhere else...you've never said) but I watched the game today and he had no hurt factor, jogged about and the opposition (at that level) played through him when they were rebounding.

I get he is coming back from injury but he is NOT Afl quality.

I love how everyones so quick to write him off. The dude has been off for half a season with an injury. Needs to find his legs. 36 disposals while probably protecting his work rate is a solid effort. He is AFL quality and its amazing to me how people want him gone... for no other reason than to suit their narrative.

He will be selected. Get used it!

Be honest now, has the major complaint of me and others been when we’ve gone too slow and defensive rather than keep attacking to our lethal forward line?

When you admit the answer is yet, maybe you understand what I’ve been on about
We were risking a western bulldogs like season if we didn’t improve defence

Now we have different modes to win games in different conditions and good defensive teams go far in finals , we have the class on top of that to score well

Re ‘slow ball movement’ - Brisbane has that and good forward potency and won a flag last year, Davis has helped bring that and enable us to play different styles when it suits

Our game is much more trustworthy since the coaches worked on defensive things post the Geelong shoot out in early April

To be where we are now 3 months later is a huge effort by all

All credit to Nicks and coaches and the players buy in

I love how everyones so quick to write him off. The dude has been off for half a season with an injury. Needs to find his legs. 36 disposals while probably protecting his work rate is a solid effort. He is AFL quality and its amazing to me how people want him gone... for no other reason than to suit their narrative.

I think it would be a very dumb selection so it will probably happen.

If Lukosius was playing for us he'd genuinely be behind Butts trying to break into our defensive line-up. No chance of getting a game up forward.
Yeah there was no way we had genuine interest in Luko.

Just helping Ben Williams, his manager, out to get a deal done.

Actually, he won't get selected unless we have massive injuries.

He isn't AFL quality and his 36 touches were just puss today. I am one of the few who are saying that he has come back from a long layoff so you need to temper it but he is a long, long way off going anywhere near an AFL midfield...and that is the only spot he can play.

From 2000 to 2017 there was a 34 game stretch where the Power led (or were level) in the Showdown head to head. Do we sometimes forget that? A 34 game stretch where they led the head to head.

We now have won the last 5 and lead by 2 games, 30-28.

On 39 occasions they have led the head to head and we have only led 9 times.
Bit like serving first in tennis though.

I reckon the last three weeks would be the best free kick differential we've ever received in the history of our club

25-18 Bulldogs
28-22 Suns
33-21 Power

+25 in 3 weeks

I love this.

When we were shit and getting smashed by the umps, how often would we hear that the better teams earn it. That the poorer teams give frees away because they are scraggling, feeling the pressure, 2nd to the ball etc.

We're the good team now.

ZomboMeme 31032025122931.jpg

Did you watch the SANFL game.

Crouch did nothing with most of those disposals.

He’s not suddenly going to change the type of player his is though?
What makes you think he will or can?
Peatling is much more important and gives us a better mix in the midfield.

It's not every day that you win the biggest-ever Showdown victory. Enjoy it.
Took my 8yo for his first Showdown. He decided too late last year that he wanted to do a Showdown (our home one had already been) so had to wait until now. Not a bad start for him.

He kept looking at the scores and saying stuff like "We have 50 [at half time], we'll score 100!"
Every time I was like "Dunno mate, it's pretty wet and hard work out there."

Then it was "We have 100! Maybe we'll get 120!"
"Dunno mate, not sure we'll get that much now. Often teams slow down a bit."

Then it was "We might beat them by 100!"
By then he had me convinced, though we just fell short 😂

Did you watch the SANFL game.

Crouch did nothing with most of those disposals.

never said he did much. Just said 36 disposals while finding his legs is not a bad start regardless of the outcome. Im not saying he will be back next week, may not even be the week after but the final round i wouldnt be surprised. Depends on his form though clearly. If he is struggling, well I would be surprised if he got selected.

He’s not suddenly going to change the type of player his is though?
What makes you think he will or can?
Peatling is much more important and gives us a better mix in the midfield.

Never said he will take peatlings spot. I said he is likely to fill one of the spots that Cook, Jones have...if he finds form (I will add that because it clearly is a factor, well he selected Murphy) but anyways, all I am saying is dont be surprised.

Review R20: The Good, the Bad and the Ugly vs. Port: Like taking candy from a baby