List Mgmt. 2025 List Management discussion

Are we winning the flag in your honest opinion by the end of 2027 Joffa?
A lot has to go right, but I wouldn’t say it can’t happen.

i would say we can’t win it next year, but if we jumped, we’d suddenly be a very very attractive destination to play and who knows at that point? Do we turn Butters head? Does Ben King over look the pies?

Who else becomes available..

Long shot yes, but I’ve watched too much footy to say it can’t happen given some of the talent already on our list

What’s this have to do with anything?

If we lose NAS in 2027 - we aren’t winning anything.
No.
But 2 more years give him 2 more years to become even more a part of the club, if possible, and harder for him to leave it.
Especially if we are showing something.

Are we winning the flag in your honest opinion by the end of 2027 Joffa?

All along you've been saying it's about getting Nas to sign even for 2 years and then us improving as a club so he wants to stay. Multiple posts from you saying that. Now you've done complete turnaround because it might take more money to get that done. It doesn't make any sense. Either it's about him getting signed up and then hopefully getting him to stay or it isn't.

Its never been about the money

I'd be as heart broken as anyone and i appreciate things are hugely different, but it's just worth some reflection that we lost Lockett in 96 and near won it in 97.
Yep, obviously want him to stay.

But we are building a team, and I’m not bullish on our growth because of nasiah alone, but because of the other young players coming through as well.

As RTB said in the presser, it took the rising tide of players playing well in the 4th qtr to give nas the opportunity to ice the game.

Nas leaving would put a dent in our current build, but it’s not a mortal wound like people would make out, and I don’t get the sentiment of people saying they’d give up the club if it happened. If it were to happen it’s not an indictment on the club, the man’s homesick get over it, a mass exodus is an indictment on a club.

Whilst I’m here, I might as well add, there really is no reason to believe he’s leaving, all signs point to him re-signing, everyone who’s still worrying is either not paying attention to the lay of the land, or is choosing to lean into that worry for whatever reason. Just don’t think it’s worth it, we’ll be fine either way.

A lot has to go right, but I wouldn’t say it can’t happen.

i would say we can’t win it next year, but if we jumped, we’d suddenly be a very very attractive destination to play and who knows at that point? Do we turn Butters head? Does Ben King over look the pies?

Who else becomes available..

Long shot yes, but I’ve watched too much footy to say it can’t happen given some of the talent already on our list
Miracles happen mate. I’m purely talking what is the general opinion of the fan base.
I haven’t changed my opinion once.

I’ve said we are clearly talking about a hypothetical $2m a year (based off the front loaded crap).

I’ve made clear, I care about the length of the deal. People are desperate for 2 more years of Nas. I want 10 years of Nas. I want triggers built into this deal to retain him - some are club triggered and some can be nas triggered.

Can’t have been any clearer on that.

If the only way to retain him is paying him a $2m that’s fine, sign a long term commitment to us in exchange.

Its never been about the money
“but it’s the pull of home and family across the border, rather than more fat stacks, that is tempting the jet playmaker back to South Australia anyway.”

- Jay Clark

But you do you Mowwy.

I want Marshall to stay but this sweeping statement completely disregards the fact he was absolutely battered by Gawn for most of the match. Which is no shame, mind you, as Gawn is a star.

If I knew Marshall was struggling with an injury (I don't know this for a fact, I assume he is) then I would excuse most of his poor performances this season.

But let's say he is not injured and he is struggling, then a first round pick for him would be ideal.

Only the club will know the answer to this.

This 'heart and soul' stuff is bullsh*t from nuff supporters who become attached to players.

Again, I do want Marshall to stay. Would like to see at least one season of him and TDK but some of the rhetoric around Marshall leaving is laughable.

Gawn is one of the top ruckman in the competition.... Fact

Marshall has never matched up well against Gawn.... Fact

We won the game ... Fact

As I said, if TDK comes then I want Marshall to stay and have a role in the club.

We have a litany of players which we have offloaded because we thought the grass was greener on the other side. I see Stanley is still playing a role with a strong Geelong, how are those picks we got for a so called non ruckman by many posters on here. He is 34.... I would put money on Marshall still playing AFL at 34.

The idea to offload good players for draft picks is laughable and rarely comes to fruition for us.

Miracles happen mate. I’m purely talking what is the general opinion of the fan base.

I’ve said we are clearly talking about a hypothetical $2m a year (based off the front loaded crap).

I’ve made clear, I care about the length of the deal. People are desperate for 2 more years of Nas. I want 10 years of Nas. I want triggers built into this deal to retain him - some are club triggered and some can be nas triggered.

If the only way to retain him is paying him a $2m that’s fine, sign a long term commitment to us in exchange.

We all want Nas to sign for as long as possible. That's a given.

Again, you have said multiple times he may well just sign for 2 years and then it's up to us as a club to improve. Multiple times.

Now you seem to be saying if it's just 2 years, what's the point.... we won't win a flag in that time... he'll definitely leave after that time etc. You've contradicted yourself and it doesn't make any sense.

Again, you have said multiple times if may well just sign for 2 years and then it's up to us as a club to improve. Multiple times.

Now you seem to be saying if it's just 2 years, what's the point.... we won't win a flag in that time... he'll definitely leave after that time etc. You've contradicted yourself and it doesn't make any sense.
His point is that 2 years at $1.4 million is fine, but if the expectation is for $2mil per year, it needs to come with a longer term agreement.

There's no reason in the world for him to sign more than a 2 year deal.

The club has shown him a good short term future, locking players down for 8 years is just plain stupid as we showed with King.

Show him the money, get him to sign a two year deal on huge coin.

His point is that 2 years at $1.4 million is fine, but if the expectation is for $2mil per year, it needs to come with a longer term agreement.

I understand that point. But to make the point by saying he won't stay after 2 years or we won't win a flag in 2 years is irrelevant. The amount of money we have to spend on his 2 year contract is seperate to those things.

If we pay him 1.4 pa for 2 years that's ok because we might be able to get him to stay after that. There's no point in paying him 2 mil pa for 2 years because he'll just leave and we won't win a flag in that time.

It makes no sense

I get wanting him to sign on for longer if he wants more money but let's be real here... The AFL world has lost their mind over him. Right now Nas holds the chips. We have to do everything we can to keep him.

I want Marshall to stay but this sweeping statement completely disregards the fact he was absolutely battered by Gawn for most of the match. Which is no shame, mind you, as Gawn is a star.

If I knew Marshall was struggling with an injury (I don't know this for a fact, I assume he is) then I would excuse most of his poor performances this season.

But let's say he is not injured and he is struggling, then a first round pick for him would be ideal.

Only the club will know the answer to this.

This 'heart and soul' stuff is bullsh*t from nuff supporters who become attached to players.

Again, I do want Marshall to stay. Would like to see at least one season of him and TDK but some of the rhetoric around Marshall leaving is laughable.
If King is as cooked as it seems he is then Marshall is a must keep. Getting TDK could free him up to play around the ground more, which has always been his strength.

Again, you have said multiple times he may well just sign for 2 years and then it's up to us as a club to improve. Multiple times.

I’m talking about this hypothetical Offer scenario sully.

So I’ll explain - even though I’m sure you were involved.

This hypothetical has come off the back of this front loaded offer from SA last week. No matter that the money we are supposedly offering (1.4m) is equivalent to the actual deal, it’s all about that $2m.

If nas will sign for 5 or 10 years and he wants $2m. Go for it.

But I don’t see the value in saying, here is $2m and thank you for only considering 2 more years at the stkilda fc.

You are getting paid $1.4m over the life of that deal you can get that for your 2 years here or COMMIT TO US,build something here and he can get paid whatever the hell he wants.

If hypothetically he only signed for 2 years and left. We are not any closer to a flag than we are today. Infact we have lost 2 years of time in whatever we get back in return.

My issue isn’t this TDK level money. It’s that he is making a commitment for the long term to us for that money.

That should be our expectations yet people say - PAY HIM MORE.

If hypothetically he only signed for 2 years and left. We are not any closer to a flag than we are today. Infact we have lost 2 years of time in whatever we get back in return.
Even if this statement is true, who flipping cares? We get 2 more years watching the Messiah play in our colours. What's the alternative? letting him walk for a few late first rounders and whitlock? You're just pulling at straws

of course the pull of home is 95% of it, but if the money is 5% then it could be the difference. Every bit counts
And the club knows it can't compete with the Family stuff so it needs to make it only about money
Blow the rest away

We could afford TDK with LDU or rowell so we can afford TDK with Nas

Even if this statement is true, who flipping cares? We get 2 more years watching the Messiah play in our colours. What's the alternative? letting him walk for a few late first rounders and whitlock? You're just pulling at straws
I thought it was supporting a football club?

And it’s likely the same shit sandwich in 2 years time. Right smack back in the Tassie draft.