List Mgmt. 2025 List Management discussion

The Simpsons Depression GIF

I don’t think I’ll feel normal until this NAS thing is over with…

Even my wife who gives zero shits about footy comes out every morning this week and asks if he's signed yet. Also watched the full last quarter of last week on replay. She's invested in the one that's probably gone.

A prominent industry figure close to the club. Idk if even I believe it but its just what they've told me

They also said NWM has all the info in front of him, just needs to sign the dotted lines. Was adamant that he has not signed yet so all the ITKs saying he had done so were allegedly incorrect

Still confident he is staying though

FFS if they lose him because of dollars I'll personally carry SOS out and put him in the hard rubbish.

A prominent industry figure close to the club. Idk if even I believe it but its just what they've told me

They also said NWM has all the info in front of him, just needs to sign the dotted lines. Was adamant that he has not signed yet so all the ITKs saying he had done so were allegedly incorrect

Still confident he is staying though

This could explain Ben Williams leaking that story to Tom Morris in attempts to make us budge on more money. The old Mexican stand off.

Except that there's no case in living memory where a player nominated a club, got pushed into the draft, and was taken by a different club. Nick Stevens in about 1918 was the last one. It just doesn't happen.
Doesn't mean that it can't though.

All the reports say that Nas loves the club... I doubt he wants to leave the club and his mates up shi*tcreek with some trash as picks.

So if push comes to shove and neither SA club steps up to the plate, surely he just comes back and plays with us - in the scenario of him asking for a trade

My thing with Whitlock is where would he play for us?

We'd be losing the thing we need the most (A+ dynamic mid) and replacing him with a tall.

Let's assume we gain TDK & Aleer and have a healthy list for round 1 next year.

King
Mitchito
Marshall
TDK
Sharman
Tauru
Caminiti
Howard
Wilkie
Keeler
Dodson
Moose

Whitlock might be better than some of these guys eventually but he's 100% unproven & just not something we desperately need compared to what Nas provides.
I agree FWIW, just noting guys Port has thrown up.

Ive actually argued the exact point your making about Whitlock a few times.

All the reports say that Nas loves the club... I doubt he wants to leave the club and his mates up shi*tcreek with some trash as picks.

So if push comes to shove and neither SA club steps up to the plate, surely he just comes back and plays with us - in the scenario of him asking for a trade
There is also no instance where a player with Nas currency has entered the PSD.

Worst case is a team is buying two or three first round picks. All the teams at the bottom of the ladder have the cap space and would gladly do it.

Hell half of them would probably tell him to just sit on his ass in SA and not even come over.

This could explain Ben Williams leaking that story to Tom Morris in attempts to make us budge on more money. The old Mexican stand off.
It's been the case ever since Williams went on Gettable

He went from saying "If I was a betting man, he'd probably be staying" to Caro reporting that Williams told St Kilda that no indication had been made by NWM

Since then, weekly stories that contradict the media consensus of him staying have been released, coinciding with NWM taking his form to new heights

He is staying. It's not a matter of if, only a matter of when imo

Collingwood didn't really have the draft capital for Houston but they made it happen.
They had the benefit of Gold Coast being interested in one of their players. Picks mean nothing to the Suns because of all the academy picks they have coming through. They can throw away first rounders for players and just use mid picks later on for the points

He went from saying "If I was a betting man, he'd probably be staying" to Caro reporting that Williams told St Kilda that no indication had been made by NWM

Since then, weekly stories that contradict the media consensus of him staying have been released, coinciding with NWM taking his form to new heights

This has been my thoughts as well. Every indicator is he stays with the only thing keeping it open is he hasn't signed yet.

Geez Al your confidence makes me very nervous.

Excuse the intrusion but there's a lot of people saying Butters is a real chance to end up at the Dogs at the end of this season.

We don't really have the draft capital for him, outside of our current pick 10 (which blows out due to compromises) and our 26 and 27 first round picks. But if Butters was involved in a trade for Nas I'd imagine it's more likely he is traded somewhere else for the picks used to acquire Nasiah.
Butters is probably in the top 5 best pure midfielders in the comp but you guys are pretty stacked in there still with Bont, Richards, Libba, Trealor and Sanders, how does he fit? Is the expectation Libba or Trealor finishes up soon?

This is probably what has actually happened. Nas has told RTB and the Club that he is going to stay but the details have to be worked out. It likely happened when Tony first dropped that Nas and Ro were staying. Then Ben Williams has told Nas to hold off signing anything as he is sure more money can be squeezed out of St Kilda. In the end, Nas faces no risk as dragging this out will only benefit Nas as the Saints' aren't going to fire Nas etc--it could potentially lead to more money. And then you have his ever increasing form which has added petrol to the fire. He has the double motivation of playing his best footy: 1) he loves the club and wants to play his best for it; and 2) his form could lead to a bigger pay day.

You know that’s crap as well as I do. It’s just talk, these guys do media training in cliches.

Thoughts on Jordan Ridley? Guy has awful hamstrings, but I’m not sure Essendon’s fitness team are up to scratch.

Wonder what he would cost in a trade… I know he has a long contract, not sure what $ he would be on.

If he didn’t cost too much in a trade… think he’s a very solid AFL player / defender.

I'll preface this with: I think Nas is staying, at least for the 2 years.

BUT IF HE DOESNT

When they write the book "How the St Kilda Football Club Died", Nas leaving will be it's own chapter.

The AFL has never been more about dollars and public perception. We don't have much leverage in either. We're the whipping boys in the media which hurts our public perception. And they are gonna have a field day with "Saints are dumb, they overpaid TDK and lost Nas" because they are idiots. And our crowds are awful, so dollars are going to be down too. We just saw probably our greatest home and away moment in 50 years and half the top level was closed, and you could read the Marvel letters on the bottom level seats because it was half empty.

Our supporter base is on the brink after another 15-year rebuild. Nas is our best player, universally liked, and someone who delivers on everything we've been missing for that 15 years. 15 years of mids who butcher the footy. 15 years of youngsters sitting in the stands injured. 15 years of blokes going missing when the heat is on. If he walks out the door at 22, it may just be the straw that finally breaks our collective spirit.
Not mine-all the same stuff was said about plugger and 2 years later we played off -i am actually sick of the whole saga -his inaction is hurting the club already -just make a decision Nas -talking about going home -we are not talking about outer mongolia its a 1 hour plane flight for a very wealthy young man-if he has not signed this week after that win and the comradrie shown by the group-i reckon he is gone - so over it

Thoughts on Jordan Ridley? Guy has awful hamstrings, but I’m not sure Essendon’s fitness team are up to scratch.

Wonder what he would cost in a trade… I know he has a long contract, not sure what $ he would be on.

If he didn’t cost too much in a trade… think he’s a very solid AFL player / defender.
At his best he's elite

He'd probably cost a mid to late first rounder

Probably too expensive

If it's true that we want Ryan, want to keep Marshall, and probably won't trade Steele because we want to challenge by end of 2027, then I think it's worth a thought if we believe in our medical team (which I don't at all)

Worst case scenario and nas leaves, who says no to this? We obvs would still be losing out, but a 4 club trade might work.

Saints
Lose: nas
Gain: pick 2(wc), Berry, 25 1st (dogs), 26 1st (port)

Port
Lose: 26 1st, georgiadies, berry
Gain: nas,

Dogs
Lose: 25 1st, 26 1st, busslinger
Gain: butters,

Eagles
Lose: Allen compo (pick 2)
Gain: Georgiades, 26 1st, dogs, busslinger

We lose a star but our future depth does significantly improve

Butters is probably in the top 5 best pure midfielders in the comp but you guys are pretty stacked in there still with Bont, Richards, Libba, Trealor and Sanders, how does he fit? Is the expectation Libba or Trealor finishes up soon?
Butters is second only to Bont in that group and even then Bont can play Half Forward anyway.

Treloar has missed heaps of footy and Libba has one more year at most.

If he wants to go there theyll do it, having too many a grade mids is a problem everyone would want.

Not sure our medical team is any better.

His best is absolutely top shelf but he's just too injury prone and he's an inbetweener. Not really a KPD. Ari, LOC, Tauru and Armstrong all in that third tall defender size range and we are chasing Aleer who isn't massively taller same as Barrat.

Pretty much. I don't think Adam Treloar will be a massive consideration in 2026 and onwards, I can see him going on again but more in the Nat Fyfe type role where if he plays he's probably subbed on or off, and playing fairly infrequently.

Libba is an interesting one, I'll put my hand up and say I thought he was probably done at the end of last year after the pair of concerning concussion/collapsing issues he had, I didn't see him putting together another season like he has but the wheels have to come off soon there (we've already started flirting with position changes for him - which is what we did with Macrae before deciding he was no longer best 22). He will play in 2026 but he's pretty much ruled out chasing his father's games record which would require him playing in 2027.

Sanders has the links to Tasmania so I don't think we can necessarily bank on him being a long term option. Freijah is one, Matt Kennedy is still only 28 as well so hopefully he's playing for another 4+ years yet. Our midfield is stacked right now but it falls away pretty quickly in the next few years. It's probably why we moved on Macrae so the cliff wasn't even more dramatic than it may be.