List Mgmt. 2025 List Management discussion

Correct.
When he and the family sooked it up after being invited to a billionaire’s house for dinner they reduced the offer to $500k p/y and said stay poor Cochise
Can we unpack this story for abit because it’s hilarious.

Superstar player was invited to billionaire presidents house with billionaire contributors on the table.

All offering him the world to sign.

But apparently Nas and his family weren’t impressed as being offered the world.

They want the galaxy.

Does that make ****ing sense as a story to anyone?

Those saying send him to the draft have no idea. If we do that, I can almost bet my life on it he ends up at his choice of destination. No list manager will touch him and rightfully so.

Luke Ball case in point. He stays or he WILL get to his destination of choice whether we like it or not.

Is there a local boy in the top 4 projections?

If so us getting pick 2 opposed to 1 really makes no difference.

Probably Duursma is the closest to local and top 4. Cooper Duff-t***ies is also Melbourne based but looks like a Dodson type. Duursma does look the best of the family but not really a need. South Australia has a lot of good kids this year. Grilj is still probably my pick and he's pretty local.

Just pondering. Could the wait be because nas and Williams are trying to figure out if butters would be open to a St Kilda trade? Maybe they're getting a vibe on that and if not will re-sign
Astute observation, until the Tom Morris story leaked about the dinner at Bassat’s place. The story mentioned that NWM’s wasn’t swayed by the opulence of it all.

People need to keep thinking about why was the story leaked? And who leaked it?

By process of elimination, it was leaked by Ben Williams to put more pressure on St Kilda for more money. Which, IMO, is an indication that NWM is staying.

Pretty ordinary stuff by Williams. It wouldn’t impress anybody in the football industry. And I don’t think NWM’s parents would enjoy the publicity either.

If NWM had made the decision to go home to SA this story would not have been leaked. It has raised the temperature, and presumably made St Kilda more agitated and frustrated.

As has been mentioned numerous times, if NWM wants to go home to SA he needs to be traded. Why unnecessarily anger the club that facilitates that trade? What would it achieve?

It is a highly risky move if a trade is required. Counterproductive. Reckless.

However, if NWM is staying at St Kilda, the strategy has logic. Squeeze the lemon for as much juice as you can extract. Still not nice. Bog average. But it has logic behind it.

Remember, this story was strategically leaked. The dinner was earlier this year, not recently. There is a strategy and reason for why it has been leaked.

Just my option for what it is worth.

Probably Duursma is the closest to local and top 4. Cooper Duff-t***ies is also Melbourne based but looks like a Dodson type. Duursma does look the best of the family but not really a need. South Australia has a lot of good kids this year. Grilj is still probably my pick and he's pretty local.
Apologies i meant local to WA, someone theyd obviously pick

Not really.

The highest rated non-academies are a ruckman and a Duursma. We dont need another developing ruck and some people are weary of pending big on Duursma after his also highly rated brothers have been very underwhelming once they've reach AFL level.

Willem Duursma looks the best of them but he's one of those third tall sized types that might play some midfield. Brendan Goddard is probably the comparison. His family puts me off but Joel was a gun while the other Selwoods were GOPs.

No gameday thread so I am posting it here
Mods feel free to move when the North thread is up
---------------------------------

Big crowd, some sort of function.
Garcia hand still heavily taped.Doubt he gets a gig v North. Pou, no taping in full gear.
Collard must be cleared, in training with no limp, may be restricted.
Windy in red top. Henry, Jones and Steele running laps not in full training. Would guess management. Carroll and Dow in full training.
Garcia in flouro hat.
Warm up kick to kick sloppy af. Misdirected and short kicks, fumbles.
Positive, lots of upbeat talk.
In close contested possession drills then to a leading forward. Sharp.
Miraculous recovery by Lanceboy. Must have been a deep cramp or corkie as there is not strapped and turning well so no ankle problem.
Doogs running laps.
Tauru just glides across the turf. A beautiful cadence and running gait.
Henry doesn't have the base fitness, lags well behind Steele and Jones. Injuries have cruelled his season. Cotton wool and go again in 26
Brad Hill is fantastic at training, infectious enthusiasm, lots of laughter, lots of OTT celebrations when a goal is kicked. Encouraging, high fiving. An absolute asset to team confidence and morale.
Stoppage contest Pou v Naz, even contests. Naz keeps touching his groin, either a niggle or he thinks he is Michael Jackson.
Naz relives the after the siren goal and splits the middle.
Reckon if Dow and Carroll can have a full preseason, they are much more than depth.
A bit of kick to kick them the players are up to the function.
All she wrote
Adios Amigos

Apologies if someone has already posted this but my mate is at the 40 year + members function and he said that Missen said that we should hear on NAS over the next week. That’s it.
Misson attended a Western Saints function a year ago in Perth when saying that the club is quite confident Battle will resign. Make of it what you will, but I’m not entirely confident in Misson.

The only solace I take right now is I can’t see BW leaking info if he’s reliant on us getting an SA deal done knowing SOS and Ross are hard campaigners, and I don’t think it’s within the integrity and principles of Nas to drag the club through mud only to leave.

Still a bit to play out.

I guess I have no choice but to call or email Ben Williams and get him on the channel to put us all out of our misery

He’ll probably want a $2 million appearance fee 🥴

Misson attended a Western Saints function a year ago in Perth when saying that the club is quite confident Battle will resign. Make of it what you will, but I’m not entirely confident in Misson.

The only solace I take right now is I can’t see BW leaking info if he’s reliant on us getting an SA deal done knowing SOS and Ross are hard campaigners, and I don’t think it’s within the integrity and principles of Nas to drag the club through mud only to leave.

Still a bit to play out.

I think you forget, though, that Battle took everyone by surprise at the last minute with his decision--including the players and coach. I'm not saying he wouldn't go, but all indicators must be at the moment that he will stay.

Correct.
When he and the family sooked it up after being invited to a billionaire’s house for dinner they reduced the offer to $500k p/y and said stay poor Cochise
View attachment 2380951

Going to a stuffy house full of old white corporate guys is how to make someone leave not stay. Should have gone to a strip club and got on the powders to attract an athlete. Time and place.

GETTABLE

Belief of several clubs that NWM is now worth $2m per season. Prevailing view is that STK need to match that valuation in order to keep him. Widespread belief that Port is ahead of Adelaide & have gone ALL IN
My bullshit metre is going off with this one, screams of a manager trying to squeeze all of the blood out of the stone.

How big is Ports salary cap?

Rozee, JHF, Butters and now Bergman are all on big coin

Luko came across on a fat contract from the Suns

Georgiades is going to get a huge deal

Aliir, Wines, Farrell Burgoyne, Marshall and Finlayson are all either on good cash from their last contracts or will demand more coming into their next contract.

Same deal with the crom.

This just sounds like more games from the manager to get maximum value

Those saying send him to the draft have no idea. If we do that, I can almost bet my life on it he ends up at his choice of destination. No list manager will touch him and rightfully so.

Luke Ball case in point. He stays or he WILL get to his destination of choice whether we like it or not.
I think if worst comes to worst take whatever we can get. I just think there is value is choosing a quick death to prove a point that needs proving.

All this would be solved if teams didn't need permission to trade players. The next CBA negotiation should put that on the table and see how much financial compensation going the other way it would require.

Riley Beveridge saying JSOS's potential move to Magpies has their out of contract stars "frustrated" given how much the Pies are apparently offering him

I would much prefer to go hard at Jamie Elliott than Liam Ryan

He's 32 and he won't leave to go to a bottom club while they are in the hunt no matter what we offer him.

Can we unpack this story for abit because it’s hilarious.

Superstar player was invited to billionaire presidents house with billionaire contributors on the table.

All offering him the world to sign.

But apparently Nas and his family weren’t impressed as being offered the world.

They want the galaxy.

Does that make ****ing sense as a story to anyone?
The next day... Nas is worth $2m and St.Kilda need to pony up to keep him.

Make it make sense

2 mill now? Really seems like the media is genuinely guessing. I’m just reassuring myself that the wait is actually logical, Nas has been adding $$ every week so Benny Williams is doing what any manager would do and wait to get the best possible deal, using the SA clubs as leverage.

If Nas does want to return home then I just don’t see how a deal gets done. In that case, would Williams really want to run the risk of Nas going through the PSD? Not to mention the circus that will follow a shy kid.

Unless Nas is desperately homesick, which doesn’t seem the case (if anything, he seems more settled in Melbourne now) then I feel Williams would advise taking 2 years and revisiting when the SA clubs actually have capital to facilitate a trade. It just makes sense, in line with Ross’ extension and just in time for Tassie to come in and raise the value of every uncontracted player in the comp. Let’s just pray the pull home isn’t too strong now.

Not mine-all the same stuff was said about plugger and 2 years later we played off -i am actually sick of the whole saga -his inaction is hurting the club already -just make a decision Nas -talking about going home -we are not talking about outer mongolia its a 1 hour plane flight for a very wealthy young man-if he has not signed this week after that win and the comradrie shown by the group-i reckon he is gone - so over it
I’ve been over it for weeks.

He may not know it yet but his agent has put a target on his back. He’ll also find out that even if he stays now not all his team mates will be feeling the love. Especially when they realise Nas is eating his lunch and taking a bite out of theirs by squeezing every penny he can out of the club.

Maybe I’m old school but we’ll see, same thing applies to give me $20 million Harley Reid. Team sports are funny sometimes, you’ll always have stars and battlers but there’s still the need to maintain team culture and the facade of we’re all equals.

Melbourne are a team where clearly that’s gone out the door and how are they tracking.